Books read in April

April has come and gone. Thank God. It was just a stressful month. My neck is still sprained and I’m starting to understand – really understand that I’m getting older and it’s time for me to start taking better care of this body.

Now on to books.

I read an amazing 20 books last month. The books were in a variety of genres and for the most part, it was a good reading.

PicMonkey Collage2

  • Cress by Marissa Meyer
  • The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter (reread)
  • Why Don’t Students Like School? by Daniel T. Willingham
  • Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee

PicMonkey Collage3

  • Duffy and the Devil by Harve Zemach
  • Brimsby’s Hats by Andrew Prahin
  • Thomas Jefferson: Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Everything by Maira Kalman
  • Here I Am by Patti Kim

PicMonkey Collage4

  • Guardians of the Galaxy: Cosmic Avengers by Michael Brian Bendis
  • An Untamed State by Roxane Gay
  • Saga Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • Delancey : A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage by Molly Wizenberg

PicMonkey Collage5

  • Dog Loves Counting by Louise Yates
  • Ol’ Mama Squirrel by David Ezra Stein
  • Thomas Jefferson Builds a Library by Barb Rosenstock
  • The  Fantastic Art of Jacek Yerka

I decided to include the children’s books for those of you who read and enjoy the genre.

An Untamed State was the best book I read last month with the third volume of Saga a close second.

How was your reading in April?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in fiction, nonfiction, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Books read in April

  1. Jupiter says:

    I can’t wait to read An Untamed State.
    My boys loved Ol’ Mama Squirrel.🙂

  2. 20! That’s fabulous. I’m with you on An Untamed State and I’m dying for my library to get a copy of Vol 3 of Saga in so my husband and I can gobble it up.

  3. kay says:

    Looks like you had a great reading month! I really need to catch up and read Marissa Meyer’s series…

  4. wow, amazing! I didn’t read as many books as usual this past month, but all good stuff. here is my wrap-up: http://wordsandpeace.com/2014/05/01/2014-april-wrap-up/

  5. Nice month!! My reading has been turtle slow, lol. I have to check out the Thomas Jefferson book. I have a thing for him.

  6. Thanks so much for including the children’s books! I want to look into the Thomas Jefferson title.

  7. Lu says:

    Ugh April! It always feels like the worst month. It should be such a happy month! Spring is on the way! Winter is over! But instead it just always seems to be stressful and awful and I’m always glad to see it go.

    It looks like you had an awesome reading month despite all that though! Cress is so good. I love the Lunar Chronicles. Here’s to a much MUCH better May.

  8. dastevensish says:

    I’m so sorry that your neck is still giving you problems.😦 I so hope it heals very, very soon!
    I couldn’t really point to any particular reason why, but April was not my best month thus far this year either. I’ve got high hopes for May though! May it be awesome for all of us!🙂
    I cannot wait to get my hands on An Untamed State!

  9. iliana says:

    Sorry to hear you are still dealing with the sprained neck. I hope you feel better soon! And, here’s to hoping May is more stress-free too! You read an incredible amount of books – yay! April was not too bad for my reading and I’m hoping May will be just as good.

  10. Jenny says:

    Twenty! Damn, woman! You are a fiend. I read far fewer than that in April, and I’m still sort of playing catch-up. I need to get some reviews written and scheduled soon.

  11. Megan says:

    Twenty! You put me to shame, but then you’d only have to read half that to put *me* to shame. 😉. Hope your neck feels better soon, and here’s hoping May is a similarly great reading month.

  12. Stefanie says:

    Wow, that was a good April! Hope May is good too!

  13. I should really keep an eye out. I had no idea what Delancey was about, but it sounds AWESOME!

  14. trish422 says:

    That is quite the month!

  15. Kailana says:

    Sorry you didn’t like April very much, but looks like you made progress on your reading!

  16. readerbuzz says:

    That’s a lot of books. Good job!

  17. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Congrats on the number of books! I like that you included the children’s books. For some reason I forget about looking in that section for books but some of the nonfiction books are really good and informative, especially if you want a little dose of history without all the hoopla they put in adult books. Maybe more people would be interesting in nonfiction if they started with children’s books.

Comments are closed.