Short short reviews: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy and Cress

13206828Cress

Marissa Meyer

550 pages

Published in February 2014 by Feiwel & Friends

Source: Personal Library

Genre: YA, fantasy and science fiction

I picked up Cress after enjoying the first two books in Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series. Also in an effort to get Piper reading more chapter books (she prefers manga and graphic novels), we agreed on reading Cress together.

Instead of giving you a plot summary of the book, I rather just tell you what I thought of it. Cress is probably my favorite of the three books. The books in this series are fast paced and use elements of various fairy tales without relying on them. I found the female characters like Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder believable. This book also gives Piper and me a lot to discuss as we wait for book four to be published.

I told you this was going to be a short review. My rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

 

17910570Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

Karen Foxlee

240 pages

Published in 2014 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Source: Public Library

Genre: Middle grade, fantasy, fairy tale retellings

A few weeks ago, I was going through a reading rut. I picked Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy up because it was on my tbr list for months.

Ophelia is a girl who doesn’t believe in magic; she believes in science. After the death of her mother, her father throws himself into his work while Ophelia’s older sister becomes selfish and mean. When an offer comes for a new job curating a museum’s collection, Ophelia’s father takes it, moving the girls to a city that never stops snowing. It’s at the museum that Ophelia finds a strange boy locked up in a room, a prisoner of the Snow Queen. His captivity sends Ophelia on adventures through the museum in search of a key that will free him. What happens next is more than the young girl thought was possible.

I found Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy to be the perfect read to get me out of my rut. The book wasn’t perfect as I often found myself preferring the story of the boy and how he became the queen’s prisoner to Ophelia’s story. I think young readers will enjoy this fairy tale retelling. My rating:  3 out of 5 stars.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in fiction, Middle Grade, reviews, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Short short reviews: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy and Cress

  1. boardinginmyforties says:

    That’s awesome that you are having a bit of a book club with one of your children. I used to do that with my son and it was really fun AND got him reading something!

  2. naida says:

    Cress sounds good and so does Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy. And nice that you read along with the kids🙂

  3. Hahahaha, yours is like the fourth review of Cress I’ve seen in the last few days. I am pretty sure the universe wants me to be reading this series.

  4. joyweesemoll says:

    This is the second time today I’ve heard about Ophelia (The Steadfast Reader has it on her Top 10 Tuesday list). Putting it on my TBR list!

  5. aartichapati says:

    I am in a bit of a reading rut myself. Nothing seems to appeal to me! I think I need to just pick up something fun and light. Maybe I am still recovering from A Fine balance😉

  6. olduvai says:

    How awesome that you get to read with your daughter! I’ll have to try to get hold of Marissa Meyer’s books sometime

  7. dastevensish says:

    I have yet to read any of Meyer’s books. Not sure why, as I do think I’d enjoy this Lunar Chronicle series. But I must admit I might be even more drawn to Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy. I just really have a thing for middle grade books. They really are just perfect when you feel yourself in a reading rut, aren’t they?

  8. I’m glad to know you’ve liked The Lunar Chronicles and Cress in particular. I read a little ways into Cinder and wasn’t quite sure. I haven’t come back to it, but with your endorsement I’m MUCH more likely to give it a go.

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    Thanks for reminding me that I need to get my hands on Cress.

Comments are closed.