Sunday Salon

sunday salonAnother read-a-thon has come and gone. I didn’t try to read for the full 24 hours, so I don’t have a reading hangover. I did pretty well, as I read and finished Cress by Marissa Meyer, a chunkster, yesterday. My daughter finished two books and my son finished a comic. We ate, relaxed, and really enjoyed ourselves yesterday. I’m thankful to Ana for reminding me what the read-a-thon is all about with her post about Dewey. Thanks also go to Heather and Andi for pulling off another fantastic event.

Now that the read-a-thon is over, it’s time for me to start writing reviews. I have about five books to review including a few DNFs. I plan on spending the next few hours writing reviews, reading, and nursing my migraine.

What are you up to this Sunday?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. That’s a nice relaxed way to join a readathon! I tend not to sign up if I don’t think I have the time and energy to get through multiple books but perhaps that’s the wrong attitude. An excuse to curl up with a book is never a bad thing🙂

  2. Yes, I really enjoyed Ana’s post too. I still remember Dewey. Today: Decompressing from a busy day yesterday before off to work tomorrow.

  3. Candiss says:

    It’s wonderful that your kids got involved with you!

    Today I’m catching up on some reviews and a few chores and trying to visit the blogs of some read-a-thoners, as I was trying to avoid too much blog/internet distraction during the event yesterday.

  4. readerbuzz says:

    Interesting. I’ve never written a review of a DNF. I should, I think.

    And now I must be off to check out Ana’s thoughts on the readathon….

  5. You’re most welcome❤

    And yeah, I was just thinking that now I need some time to blog about my readathon reads!

  6. Sounds like you had an excellent readathon experience! Sure hope I can participate in October. Good luck writing those reviews😉

  7. Reno says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely day! I will be doing much something similar – catching up on end of Read-a-thon blog posts, drafting some new reviews, and of course some more reading. Too bad about the migraine, feel better soon😦

  8. joyweesemoll says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. I’m glad Cress worked as a read-a-thon pick and that the kids got involved, too.

  9. naida says:

    That’s nice that you enjoyed the readathon with the kiddies. I hope your migraine goes away.

  10. Suko says:

    Feel better soon, Vasilly! (I was a bit under the weather this weekend, too, and had to spend some time just resting.) I’m glad your enjoyed the read-a-thon (I have yet to participate in one as a book blogger). This coming week, I will be busy working on some reviews as well.

  11. trish422 says:

    You’ve reminded me that I really need to read Meyers. For some reason I keep putting it off despite the positive reviews I’ve read of the series.

  12. Sounds like it was a wonderful event all around! I spent my Sunday trying a new recipe for granola bars, which happily for my peace of mind came out AWESOME. Completely successful experiment (and now I am very full, having munched on bits of granola bar all afternoon).

  13. This sounds like a great read-a-thon! I’ll have to add it to my list next time around. Can’t wait to read your review for Cress as that’s on my Whislist/TBR pile!

  14. Chris says:

    I have way too many books to review too :p The more I let them pile up the more I avoid writing them. I REALLY need to get on them! Hope you had a good Sunday!

  15. Kristen M. says:

    I spent today with a headache too. I think I need to find a comfier reading spot when I’m going to do it for hours on end! But the readathon is sure worth it. I love feeling the friendship and camaraderie of the day. I can’t wait for October!

  16. whatsheread says:

    Way to go! Although nursing a migraine isn’t how you should end the readathon. I love that you were able to involve your children. To me, that is the best outcome of the event. I’m really hoping that I can participate in October, and that our schedule will allow my kids to participate as well.

    Good luck with those reviews. I didn’t participate and still have three reviews to write!

    Have a good week!

  17. dastevensish says:

    Sorry about the migraine, and so hope you’re feeling better today!
    I thought this read-a-thon was absolutely lovely too; I’m so glad you all enjoyed it! I bet you’re like me and have lost count of how many read-a-thons you’ve participated in now, huh?

  18. I didn’t have time to read Sunday Salon posts until today. I sure hope your migraine is gone by now!

  19. boardinginmyforties says:

    Congratulations on participating again this year. Dewey passed away around the time I started blogging so I didn’t really know her (unfortunately). I’d like to think she would feel pretty honored that the readathon goes on in her memory every year. What reader wouldn’t want to leave a legacy like that?

  20. That’s so lovely that your kids take part too!

  21. I am so behind on reviews right now, it’s ridiculous! I need to make myself just sit down and write this weekend… but by the time Saturday rolls around all I want to do is read🙂

  22. stacybuckeye says:

    I didn’t get around to vist this read-a-thon. Cool that you were able to share it with your family🙂

  23. BookerTalk says:

    i’ve never done a read a thin – I’m honestly not sure I could manage it unless I locked myself in a room all day and refused to do any housework, cooking, shopping etc

  24. BookerTalk says:

    oops that should be read a thon of course – the keyboard is automatically trying to adjust as I type

Comments are closed.