Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

As I type this, it’s Saturday night, hours before the readathon’s 5 am start date in Southern California. I’m not getting up that early to start reading but I still wanted to make sure my post was up.

The start of the readathon is always exciting. The house is quiet at 5 am and the only sounds to be heard are the ones coming from the coffee pot. I always tell my family that the readathon is my Christmas; it’s the day that I get to sit back, ignore most of the errands and chores that need to be done, and do something I really enjoy: reading.

IMG_2382

My reading stack includes:

Anansi Boys – Neil Gaiman

Midwinter Blood – Marcus Sedgwick

Running Like a Girl – Alexandra Heninsley

Noggin – Corey Haley

A Snicker of Magic – Natalie Lloyd

When the Emperor was Divine – Julie Otsuka

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

Ella Enchanted – Gail Levine

Today I Am a Boy – Kim Fu

Cress – Marissa Meyer (already started)

The Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons – Sam Kean (already started)

Usually, I have graphic novels, children’s books, and a bit of poetry in my stack but I was unable to get to the library in time. What I have should keep me busy as the books are in a variety of genres from fantasy to dystopian, nonfiction to young adult.

Readathoning along with me is my twelve year-old daughter, Piper. Her stack includes a ton of manga and hopefully Cress for school. The boys may join but I’m not holding my breath.

What books are in your stack?

First Update

I’m up! I’m up! It’s hour one of the readathon and I finally woke up. Piper, on the other hand, has been up for hours reading. Now she’s asleep. Hee hee! I should take a picture of her with her beauty mask on, but I want to live.

Intro Meme

1. We’re reading from Southern California.

2. I love my stack of books so I’m excited about everything I end up reading. I think Piper feels the same way.

3.  The snack I’m looking forward to reading is actually a meal. I’m making red beans and rice for dinner early this morning.  I can’t wait.

4. Telling you something about myself is always hard. I never know what to say. I’m a mother of three lovely kids, my favorite thing to do besides reading is to ride my men’s beach cruiser named Dorothy. She’s red.😉 Piper is a 12 year-old girl who loves anime, baking, and riding on her roller skates. Her dream is to go to school in Paris to become a pastry chef.

 5.  I  participated in the last readathon. I know to just have fun and keep the pressure low.

Hour 8 Update

Since my last update, I have:

  • read more pages in Cress
  • started making dinner (red beans and rice)
  • took a break to do some cheerleading

Piper has finally woken up and she’s eating lunch.

Oliver (my 10 year-old) has joined the readathon and is currently reading a Lego comic.

Food consumed: Special K, coffee, and some water.

Back to reading.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, Readathon update, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

  1. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Omg I always hear about this event after it happens and I usually am working. Being an unemployed person with a free weekend, I can totally join. Woohoo!

  2. Lisa says:

    Looks like a great stack! happy reading!

  3. Kristen M. says:

    There’s no way I’m going to get up at 5am, well, ever.😉 I’m reading a lot of light fare and I’m trying a couple of audiobooks for the first time this year. It should be a fun day! I hope you have a great one too!

  4. Meghan says:

    Looks like a great stack! I don’t think I’d get up at 5 am either. I’d just go right back to sleep as soon as I started reading. I hope you enjoy the day!

  5. I’ve heard such good things about the Snicker of Magic book. I tried it, but it was a little too MG for me. But everyone loves it! Have fun today!!!

  6. I love that your kids are becoming involved too. You have an ambitious list of books, but A+ for variety!

  7. What an excellent stack! Have fun😀

  8. Chris says:

    Aw it’s like my Christmas too! I LOVE your stack! Is this your first time reading Anansi Boys? It’s fantastic! Enjoy your day!

  9. How fun that Piper’s joining you! Will we get to see pictures of her pile also?

    I’m grinning like an idiot just thinking about Anansi Boys — enjoy that one!

  10. Athira says:

    How wonderful that your daughter is joining you too! I hope the boys also join in – that would make it a lot of fun!

  11. Good luck on your reading today! You’ve got a lot of good books to choose from in that stack!!

  12. olduvai says:

    Great stack! How wonderful that your daughter is readathoning too! Too bad mine are too young haha!

  13. dastevensish says:

    I am so glad you’re read-a-thon-ing again!!!😀 And I love that Piper is joining you! Makes me miss having my reading buddy, Annie, here with me today though. I just read When the Emperor Was Divine a few months ago–so good! And you were right–I did cry (okay, I out and out bawled) reading Pictures of Hollis Woods.🙂

  14. Gnoe says:

    Woah, started in the earrrrrly hours! Start time here in NL is midday – not a great moment as there’s plenty to get side-tracked before that😦 Like by going to our very first King’s Day (bringing more books in da house😉 Have fun!

  15. Candiss says:

    What a great stack of books! I found The Handmaid’s Tale to be stunning, heavy and gorgeously-written. I have When the Emperor Was Divine and Anansi Boys on my own TBR.

    I’m excited for the Read-a-thon, too. Happy reading!

  16. Melissa says:

    I love Anansi Boys! You noticed I have Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy in my stack. It’s my only re-read in the stack, but I just needed some Douglas Adams in my life today! Great job so far!

  17. chrisbookarama says:

    Thanks for the visit! Have a good Readathon!

  18. Megan says:

    Your pile of books look excellent, and how awesome that your kids are reading along with you! Hope you, Piper, and Oliver have a fantastic Readathon!

  19. dastevensish says:

    Yay Oliver!!! Really wish I could come over for supper!🙂 Happy happy happy reading to you all!!!

  20. Great choices! I have Cinder on my ereader for later tonight.

  21. readerbuzz says:

    Love your comparison of the Readathon to Christmas!🙂

Comments are closed.