Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 5:11 am

The scene: // my bed listening to my 13 year-old sister talk about an actor she’s obsessed with. It’s too early but she has insomnia so what can I do?

Eating: // nothing yet.

Drinking: // coffee.

Listening to: // Nikka Costa’s Every Got Their Something album. I love her voice.

Currently reading: // Project-based Homeschooling by Lori McWilliam and Yellowcake by Margo Lanagan. After this, I plan on either reading Paris: A Love Story or The Shining Girls.

Blogging about: //my review of Cinnamon and Gunpowder, a fun pirate story by Eli Brown.

Participating in: // the last day of the High Summer Readathon. This is my first week-long readathon and I think I need to do this more often. It’s been fun.

dog days of summer readathon

Reminding you all about: // Estella Society’s Owen Meany Read-along. I need to get my butt in gear and start reading. The read-along is over August 13th, so you still have plenty of time.  Also, Estella Society is hosting The Dog Days of Summer Readathon.

Now I’m off to: // read and get a cup of coffee.

What are you up to today?


About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Bryan G. says:

    Well, besides reading and napping🙂, not a lot else. Wife is helping out with a chicken barbecue, benefit for a young firefighter who had a stroke, but is doing well. So will be having chicken later. Can’t wait.

  2. Heather says:

    I just got out of bed 20 minutes ago, so I’m not up to much yet. Haha!

  3. Laurie C says:

    I would never be able to write a blog post before the first cup of coffee, so I’m impressed by your multitasking so early in the morning!

  4. iliana says:

    I got a bit of a late start to my day but I’m hoping I can find some time to read later today. First run a bunch of errands though.

  5. Enjoy your books and coffee… what a great morning!

  6. Sounds like a nice day! I want to read Owen Meany, but I have so many other books I want to be reading I don’t think I’ll get to it during this readalong.

  7. Megan says:

    The Dog Days of Summer Readathon sounds like fun. I might just have to sign up for that!

  8. heidenkind says:

    What actor is your daughter obsessed with? You’re awake really early!

    • Vasilly says:

      My sister’s obsessed with James Franco. Do you have any idea how often he’s talked about in our house?😉 Lord, if I have to watch Spiderman 1-3 ever again. . . My insomnia is in hyper-drive so I get about 5 hours a sleep a day and wake up around 4:41 in the morning, every morning.

  9. readerbuzz says:

    I just got back from a writing retreat held out in West Texas. I’m reading lots of books about writing now and all I want to do is sit at my kitchen table and write in my notebook or type on my computer.

    A week-long readathon? Wow.

    And I must reread Owen Meany. I read it many, many years ago, on the recommendation of a friend, and it was so unexpected, so shocking, that I felt like the author had intentionally tried to hurt me. I’ve always told people that it is the book I most hate, but maybe that’s not fair.

  10. Beth F says:

    Hope the rest of the day was relaxing!

  11. I’m glad you’re getting in on the second half of the #meanyRAL, and yay for the Dog Days of Summer Readathon! I hope your sister eventually got some sleepy — and maybe you snuck in a nap??? lol

  12. joyweesemoll says:

    The Dog Days of Summer Readathon sounds fun — and the logo is so pretty!

  13. kay says:

    I noticed you were reading The Shining Girls, and I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it! It’s really high on my wishlist, it sounds quite different. I hope your weekend ended on a relaxing note!

Comments are closed.