Library Loot: March 13-20

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly meme hosted by Marg (The Intrepid Reader) and Claire (The Captive Reader) that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

Since the start of the TBR Double Dare, I’ve been limiting the number of books I check out from the library. Then I found a new library in a different library system. Paradise! Now I have a new library card and a new limit. I was able to check out books from my tbr list that I couldn’t find at my other library. My loot:

chew.jpg

Chew: The Omnivore Edition by John Layman and Rob Guillory. It’s been ages since I’ve read this. I wanted to reread it before I start on the rest of the crazy yet fantastic series.

Chew Vol. 3: Just Desserts by John Layman and Rob Guillory.

Chew Vol. 4: Flambé by John Layman and Rob Guillory.

09.jpg

Watership Down by Richard Downs. I can’t believe that I’ve never read this before. My kids and I are going to read the book and listen to the audio version for bedtime reading.

Midwinter Blood by Marcus Sedgwick. It was Darren (Bart’s Bookshelf) who put Segwick on my radar years ago. After reading a previous book by the author, every book of his is now on my tbr list.

Wave by Sonali Deraniyagala. Random House put this on my tbr list after I read a summary about the book. During the 2004 tsunami, the author lost her sons, husband, and parents to the event. She was the only survivor. Wave is about what happens after.

10.jpg

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner. I’ve been reading positive reviews about this book months before its publication date. It was an interview with the author that made me want to read this.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

Soundings: The Story of the Remarkable Woman Who Mapped the Ocean Floor by Hali Felt.

11.jpg

Sketchbook Challenge: Techniques, Prompts, and Inspiration for Achieving Your Creative Goals by Sue Bleiweiss.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman. Can you believe that I’ve never read this before? Should I start with the movie first?

What did you check out from the library this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Library Loot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Library Loot: March 13-20

  1. Jennifer says:

    I haven’t read Watership Down or The Princess Bride either! (!!!) WD is on my Classics Club List…I think? Oh my word, my memory, lol.

    It’s been ages and ages since I did a Library Loot post, I might have to start up again. Happy reading, enjoy your finds!

  2. Which new library is this? I would love to add a new one to my overdrive. Thanks and great titles.

    • Vasilly says:

      It’s County of Los Angeles. There’s a library in almost every city in LA County. It’s awesome! You have to get a card plus the limit is 50 items!

  3. Debi says:

    So much awesomeness here! I’ve never read The Princess Bride or Watership Down either…though they’ve both been sitting on my shelves long enough. But I’d never thought of reading Watership Down with my son, and now I’m ridiculously excited to! I’m really eager to hear what you think of Sketchbook Challenge. And Wave–straight to my wish list!

  4. Cat says:

    Nothing like a new library to explore. Interesting variety of loot and I’ve added Wave to my TBR. Happy reading!

  5. bookworm says:

    Those all look good. The Chew books look like fun. Enjoy Watership Down with the kiddies. Maggot Moon has caught my interest. The film The Princess Bride is one of my all time favorites, I recommend seeing it first because the casting was perfect. I read the book, and it was pretty great, but I prefer the film.

    • Vasilly says:

      Naida, thanks for letting me know. I’ve heard so many good things about the movie. I’m going to check a copy out this week.

  6. I’m listening to Eleanor and Park right now and enjoying it. I hope you do too.

  7. Laurie C says:

    I want to read Eleanor & Park too!

  8. heidenkind says:

    You’ve never read the Princess Bride?! I love it! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.🙂

  9. Heather says:

    I came home from the library with a huge stack today!

  10. Beth F says:

    Great stack!! I haven’t read Princess Bride either (I’ve seen the movie a hundred times!). I need to read the Chew books.

  11. zibilee says:

    I so want to read Chew! Aarti told me how wonderful those books were, and I never got around to ordering them. I need to do that very soon!

  12. The sketchbook challenge looks interesting, I’m curious about your thoughts on it. I need to start going to the library again!

  13. swright9 says:

    Watership Down. Oh yeah, quite a book! I remember liking it a lot in the summer of 1977 …. yikes!

  14. How old are your kids? Just a warning (and I hope not a spoiler): a lot of the rabbits die.

  15. The Princess Bride is wonderful and shockingly similar to the film (how rare is that?). I adore them both. Enjoy your loot!

Comments are closed.