The Classics Spin

classicsThe Classics Challenge is hosting a mini-challenge called the Classics Spin. Readers list twenty classics that they want to read by today. Tomorrow on February 18th,  the challenge hosts will randomly pick a number from 1-20. Whatever number they pick, readers read the book that corresponds to that number.

I have a ton of classics on my shelves that I haven’t read yet and this mini-challenge sounds like a great way to get through my unread stack.  The books I’ve chosen for my list are mostly recent classics and most are on my shelves as a way to conquer my tbr stack.

My list:

1. Grimm’s Fairy Tales

2. Mythology by Edith Hamilton

3. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

4. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

5. The Autobiography of Malcolm X – Malcolm X

6. Passing by Nella Larson

7. House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday

8. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien

9. Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson

10. Love Medicine by Louise Erdrich

11. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

12. The View from Saturday by  E.L. Konigsburg (a children’s classic)

13. Winnesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson

14. Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson 

15. Selected Poems by Langston Hughes

16. Maus by Art Spiegelman

17. Poems – Sappho

18. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

19. Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv (a parenting classic)

20. The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper (a children’s classic)

Have you signed up for this mini-challenge?

#14 was the lucky number picked for the spin. At first I was surprised but now I can’t wait to start reading Shirley Jackson’s Life Among the Savages. Yes, this is the same Shirley Jackson that wrote the short story, “The Lottery”.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in classics, mini-challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Classics Spin

  1. Megan says:

    That’s a clever mini-challenge. I’m nuts about the random picking of books to read, owing to my complete inability to make decisions and stick to them. Looks like you’ve got lots of great choices – hope they pick a good one for you!🙂

  2. readerbuzz says:

    Whatever you spin, you will like! Fun.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I have signed up and I’m looking forward to seeing what number we get tomorrow🙂 Good luck!

  4. I haven’t signed up and won’t, but it looks good and your choices look really good. Here’s hoping for A Prayer for Owen Meany, one of my favorites.🙂

  5. Chris says:

    Y’all are tempting me so much to do this but classics and me just REALLY don’t get along😦

  6. Christina says:

    I’m so tempted to do this. But I, uh, haven’t read a book since January so I know I’d fail miserably at this. Based on your list, I hope number 16 or 18 wins.

    • Vasilly says:

      Ugh, Christina, it’s been that long since you’ve read a book?! Wow. I hope you’re able to find some time to relax then. I wouldn’t mind if Maus or The Handmaid’s Tale were picked. I’ve been meaning to listen to THT since Claire Danes is the narrator.

      • Christina says:

        Posting this helped to break a bit of my slump. I finished a book two days later and then another one last night. I guess I just need to say it out loud to get myself into gear. Thankfully, I have a week long break from school starting tomorrow so I’m hoping to relax and read some books then.

  7. Heather says:

    I didn’t join the game because I already had my classic for March picked out–I’ll be reading Bleak House.

    You’ll be reading Life Among the Savages! *\o/*

  8. Bellezza says:

    I love Langson Hughes’ poetry, but I’ve only read a few of his. It’s great, and inspiring, that you have two works of poetry in your list. I definitely need (and want) to read more of that genre.

  9. I wish I’d signed up! I may do something like this independently with Random.org to give me some motivation to read some additional classics!

  10. Chinoiseries says:

    Oh, I haven’t heard of that book by Shirley Jackson. Can’t wait to see what you think of it🙂

  11. What a great idea for a challenge. That is an amazing list of books on your shelf. I need to get into the classics. *sigh* So many books!!!

  12. Oooh! You have to read The Color Purple. It is WONDERFUL.

    I am hoping to dive into some of Grimm’s Fairy Tales this year, too!

  13. What fun! I went through a phase where I read everything by Shirley Jackson that i could find, and now I can never remember which ones I have actually read, and where there are gaps in my reading. Perhaps it’s time to re-read!

  14. Michelle says:

    You have some great books on your list. Shirley Jackson writes some absolutely wonderful books. Enjoy!

  15. stacybuckeye says:

    I want to join the Classics Club but it’s too much pressure for me right now! Good luck🙂

  16. Ooo, Shirley Jackson. I can’t wait to hear what you think!

  17. Pingback: Thoughts: Life Among the Savages by Shirley Jackson | 1330v

Comments are closed.