Untitled

Poem to Be Read at 3 A.M.

by Donald Justice

 

Excepting the diner

On the outskirts

The town of Ladora

At 3 A.M.

Was dark but

For my headlights

And up in

One second-story room

A single light

Where someone

Was sick or

Perhaps reading

As I drove past

At seventy

Not thinking

This poem

Is for whoever

Had the light on

 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Untitled

  1. Gavin says:

    Love it. Thanks.

  2. bookworm says:

    I like it Vasilly. I like the idea of that person not knowing they inspired this poem.
    Great minds think alike, I posted a poem on my blog as well :) Enjoy your weekend!

Comments are closed.