Sunday Salon: What I’m Grateful For

I have a crapload of homework to do this weekend, so this post is short but sweet.

What I’m Least Grateful For:

  • The fact that I haven’t finished one book in the past two weeks. It’s not a record but it feels like one. I keep starting books and putting them back down.
  • The weather. WTF, SoCal?! I live near the coast so I’m really not use to weather above 100 degrees. Yesterday’s temperature hit 104 degrees. Did I mention that I don’t have air conditioning? I can’t wait until it actually feels like fall. I just hope that’s soon.

Most grateful for:

  • Bryan’s excellent taste in music. A few weeks ago on his microblog, Bryan mentioned a band that he was listening to, Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. Now I’m hooked on them.
  • All of my blogging buddies. I didn’t have the energy to participate in BBAW last week but it was so great to see a few bloggers mention me and tell me that they appreciated me. I appreciate you guys too. You challenge my reading tastes, add books to my reading lists, make me laugh, push me to blog more, and inspire me with all the events you come up with. Thanks.

What are you grateful for this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Sunday Salon: What I’m Grateful For

  1. Lu says:

    Happy BBAW – we’re so very grateful for you too. Have an amazing week, Natasha! I hope you get to finish a book this week.🙂

  2. Reading slumps = Yuck. I hope you find your reading groove again soon. That hot weather is another yuck. I’m in Wisconsin and I’m loving the fall weather we’ve been having. I’m actually looking forward to winter temps after the long, hot summer we had.

    I’ll have to check out that band, I don’t think I’ve heard of them before.

    Today I’m thankful for the above mentioned lovely weather, for the wonderful stack of books I picked up from the library this week and for meeting so many great bloggers during BBAW.

    Happy Reading!

    • Vasilly says:

      Awww. It sounds like you’ve had a wonderful week!🙂 I hope winter lasts twice as long as summer. Fingers crossed.😉

      ________________________________

  3. Kailana says:

    We are having one of our first fall days today. Otherwise it has been hot and humid for this time of the year.

  4. aartichapati says:

    I am so grateful for you, Natasha! I too wish I could have participated MoreI’m BBAW, but the timing was tough for me. Still appreciate Amy’s efforts, though!

  5. It sounds like school is keeping your super busy. I hope you get a lot done today.

  6. Ugh…100-plus degrees? Without a/c? Double ugh.😦

    Thanks for the shout-out. I actually have to listen to her more…after that, I haven’t.

    As for reading, I’m sort of stuck right now. I’m reading a good book, but don’t know where I’m going after this.

  7. The weather has been crazy for SoCal, has it not? Up in Santa Barbara we at least don’t hit the 100s, but still! Ugh

  8. Edi says:

    Good morning!
    I too am not reading nearly as much as I want. For me, it’s a matter of time. I’m not sure where it all goes. I’m also not reading my blog feeds and have missed a couple of blogger activities.

    • Vasilly says:

      Good morning, Edi! Yes, I’ve been wondering where all the time is going too! I hope time goes slower for both of us. Maybe then we can get more things done.

  9. ugh these temps. But these temps w/o ac? I hope it cools off soon!

  10. Iris says:

    I missed out on BBAW too, but like the bloggers above I’m so grateful to have met you & your blog.

  11. Memory says:

    I’m also ungrateful for the amount I’ve read over the last couple of weeks. I keep picking books up, reading an itty bitty bit, and putting them back down. Argh.

    I’m grateful that I seem to have kicked that now, though! I’m about 200 pages from the end of A STORM OF SWORDS, and it’s finally made me love this series.

  12. Jenny says:

    104! You poor thing! I hope it gets cooler soon! It’s September and you deserve cooler weather.

  13. heidenkind says:

    I wish it was still that hot here! I hate fall. When it gets below 70 I start shivering.

  14. Evelyn N. Alfred says:

    What is your homework for? I mean, what are you studying in school?

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m an anthropology/psychology major but most likely I’ll stick to anthro. I’m also earning my certificate to be a library technician.

  15. I admire you so much for doing school while being a mom – I know it must be frustrating not to have time to read, but hang in there – it will be so worth it!

  16. Yay! I love Grace Potter! You should hear my son sing Apologies. So cute!

    I’m having that Pick One Up, Put One Down-itis too. So far it’s only a week for me; I’m hoping the pattern breaks (for both of us!) soon!

  17. zibilee says:

    I also am having trouble concentrating, and am really in and out of books that I would otherwise enjoy. I don’t understand what the problem is. Usually when this happens, I turn on the audiobooks and let it pass. I hope this week affords you better reading!

    • Vasilly says:

      I hope you’re able to get your mojo back too! I was thinking about taking your advice and just diving into a book. We’ll see how that goes.

  18. Chinoiseries says:

    There’s always next year’s BBAW🙂 Discovering good music always gives me a happy feeling, just like finding a good book does. Only a few more days to go before we officially enter autumn. Hang in there!

  19. bookworm says:

    I hope you get over your reading slump soon. Yes, I wish Fall weather would arrive already. It’s been in the 80’s here. Enjoy your week🙂

  20. I need to do an “I’m grateful for..” post. FOCUS ON THE POSITIVE! *repeating*

  21. harvee says:

    Always nice to hear from you, Vasilly.

  22. UGH THE HEAT. And yet it’s weirdly cold in the (early) mornings now? I can’t wait ’til things even out more.

    Also, ooh! New layout! I like it a lot.😀

  23. Care says:

    Ya know? I think I will just write you a letter.🙂

Comments are closed.