Sunday Salon: Writer’s block

Good morning! It’s funny how it’s only 7 a.m. and I already have every fan in the house on. It’s so hot already. Yesterday was my son Oliver’s ninth birthday. We had a small party with a few friends over. Because of the heat, we didn’t do much just eat, played games, and relaxed. Later, Oliver told me that it was the best birthday ever.  I was so happy to hear that.

You may have noticed that I haven’t been blogging that much in the past few weeks. I think I’m having a severe case of writer’s block. Sometimes I have a topic or book that I want to write about but I hate what I’m writing, while other times, I don’t have anything to say. At all. Having one of those problems is bad enough, but having both has been a nightmare. It doesn’t help that my reading has drastically slowed down and I’m no longer as interested in many of the books in my tbr pile. What a nightmare.

Instead of stressing out, I’m doing non-internet/bookish things like taking the kids to the park, tending my garden, and being with friends. It’s been pretty nice.

Today, I plan on continuing American Grown: The Story of the White House Kitchen Garden and Gardens Across America by First Lady Michelle Obama. I’m finding it to be a really interesting read as it combines the past with the present. Last week, I read Victor LaSalle’s absorbing novella, Lucretia and the Kroons. It’s about a young girl’s visit to a type of purgatory for her best friend. I highly recommend it.

How are you surviving summer? Any tips on getting rid of writer’s block?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sunday Salon: Writer’s block

  1. I’m surviving summer with a good dose of a/c. I am so thankful for a/c at work and at home (even if it’s a small window one in our small house, it’s still something). As for writer’s block, just let it come back when it comes back. It’s summertime. Most bloggers are on hiatus or having the same symptoms. It happens.

    • Vasilly says:

      I wish I had a/c! Life would be much cooler.🙂 I was thinking that it being summer might have something to do with my writer’s block. I think I’ll take your advice and just let my reading and writing mojos come back on their own.

  2. We have been having 110 or so every day. It’s just awful! I also think it affects writing. And even reading! It just sort of makes one not in the mood to do ANYthing!

  3. Teresa says:

    Taking it slow and doing other things seems like the right idea when you’re having writing/reading block. I used to tell myself I had to read at least an hour a day, and I usually do that, but there are days when I need to watch some TV or go for a long walk or work on a project and I don’t read at all. Usually the reading bug comes back in a day or two. Sometimes a trip to the library to freshen up the TBR pile helps.

    And there’s no way I’d survive summer in Virginia without AC. I do not do hot weather.

  4. cbjames says:

    I suggest doing a very short post. Maybe even just a three sentence plot summary and “I liked it.” Or a series of “Notes” instead of a full review/post. Switch things up and post a picture instead. Whatever.

    Recently I was told when we have students with this problem we should say, “Pretend you do have something to say. What would you write if you really did care about the topic and really wanted to say something about it? ”

    I haven’t tried that yet, myself, but who knows.

  5. I think you are wise to do other, non-bookish things. That’s okay. We’ll still be here when you get back! 🙂

  6. BermudaOnion says:

    Happy birthday Oliver! The fact that he loved his party just proves we’re overwhelming kids these days.

  7. Gavin says:

    We’ve been lucky in the Pacific Northwest. Some beautiful days and not too hot. I’ve been going through writer’s block for a while now and have chosen to write very brief posts about some of the books I’ve been reading, much as C.B. James suggests.

    Getting out and away from the internet is a good thing. I’ve been trying to spend more time outside, walking or gardening. Happy Birthday wishes to Oliver, and have a great week.

    • Vasilly says:

      You are so lucky, Gavin! I was just thinking that maybe I should be in Pacific Northwest!🙂 I hope you’re enjoying your time offline. Thanks for the birthday wishes! Have a great week!

  8. Bellezza says:

    I’m not surviving Summer, and for me it’s out of the frying pan and into the fire of an un-air conditioned building. I think you’re suffering the residue of a long, drawn out, hot and humid series of months. Perhaps when it’s crisp again our spirits will pick up, and along with them our ideas and writing ability. I know of what you speak, because I’ve been pretty lethargic over at Chez Bellezza. But, taking the kids tot he park is pretty nice!

  9. jmchshannon says:

    I’ll try to send some of our cooler air for you. We finally broke the 90s on Thursday and have been hovering around highs of the mid-70s since then. It has been glorious, but having experienced way too many 100+ degree days during the months of June and July, I feel your pain. Good luck!

  10. I feel like my summer took off and I’ve just been holding on for dear life, trailing behind! I can’t believe it’s almost over – it flew by and we got through it, that’s about all I can say. Thank God for AC, as we have had so many days in the 90s and hundreds in July and August that I feel like one big ball of sweat. I am very much looking forward to the cooler days of autumn – and a return to a regular schedule.

  11. heidenkind says:

    You named your son Oliver? I LOVE that name. Seriously, that’s one of my favorite boy’s names.

    I think if you’re suffering from writer’s block, that’s just a sign you need to take a break and relax. Which it sounds like you’re doing.🙂

  12. kay says:

    Ha, writer’s block; always annoying! But I think taking a break of things is the best you can do. Pushing it never helps, so unless I can’t avoid it (for university papers, for instance!) I just do some fun things, and chores I have been avoiding. I hope you can get out of it soon enough; meanwhile enjoy the rest of summer🙂

  13. zibilee says:

    I actually suffer from this quite a bit, and the only way through it for me, is to literally push through it. Write, and keep writing, until something you have written makes sense. It’s really hard, and I know just what you are going through, because I have 4 or 5 reviews to write that I just need to sit down and get to, but for some reason, I just can’t. Keep trying, my friend. It will come back. I will be thinking of you!

  14. harvee says:

    Sometimes we do need a break from reading, just to keep a healthy balance. I find I spend too much time online and should really be doing some yoga, gardening, housework, cooking, you name it…

  15. Sounds like you’re doing all the right things to stave off the writer’s block. Doing other, non-bookish and non-writing things usually helps me out. American Grown sounds GREAT! Let us know how you like it.🙂

  16. Care says:

    Happy Birthday to Oliver AND YOU! Enjoy the summer anyway you can, is what I say. I have been having a pretty good summer. From a reading perspective, June was amazing and July was dull. But this month is looking pretty good so far.

  17. bookworm says:

    Happy birthday to your son🙂
    American Grown sounds like a nice read. I know what you mean, sometimes I just have nothing to blog about really. When that happens, I tend to post a quote or a poem.

  18. stacybuckeye says:

    It’s niceto hear that Oliver liked his low-key birthday party. I’m trying to decide what to do with Gage’s 2nd bd party in a few months. Seems silly to do anything over the top.
    The heat finally broke here a few weeks ago and it’s been really nice. Hope it heads your way soon.

  19. Belle Wong says:

    I’ve just been through a patch of blog writer’s blog, too. Things picked up once I got my reading mojo back, but even then, it took two weeks of solid reading and then I found myself with a pile of books that I really really wanted to talk about. That seems to have done the trick.

  20. Its better that you are enjoying the summer and time with your kids and family. Those are moments you can’t replace or get back if you let them pass by.

Comments are closed.