Sunday Salon

I had a pretty good week reading-wise. For the Orange Prize, I read The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard and Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles. Both were excellent reads especially The Song of Achilles which gave me a reading hangover. I finished it in one day and couldn’t read anything else after that; I was so stunned by it. I’m almost completely recovered so now I’m looking for a new book to read. I also read:

  • Her Mother’s Face by Roddy Doyle (reviewed)
  • Bad Island by Doug TenNapel (a great graphic novel)
  • No Bears by Meg McKinlay
  • At Night by Jonathon Bean
  • The Chicken-Chasing Queen of Lamar County by Janice N. Harrington
  • Bink and Gollie, Two for One by Kate DiCamillo
  • The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce
  • Mr. Gumpys’s Outing by John Burnington
  • A Family of Readers: The Book Lover’s Guide to Children’s and Young Adult Literature by Roger Sutton (non-fiction)

I recommend every book that I read this week. The children’s books are great bedtime reading material.

After reading The Song of Achilles, I want to read more books set in Ancient Greece and/or those inspired by that period, so I’ve decided to add The Iliad and Anne Carson’s Nox to this week’s reading list. Nox is an elegy that Carson wrote to her brother. It’s an accordion book that comes in a box. I also plan on reading:

  • Arcadia by Lauren Groff
  • Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall
  • A Mercy by Toni Morrison (for Orange July)
  • Girls in the Grass by Melanie Rae Thon (re-read, plus I’ve decided to re-read all of Thon’s books this year)
  • Love Medicine by Louise Erdrich

I know what you’re thinking, Vasilly, that’s a lot of books. True, but since I’ve dropped my math class (yes!), I can read as much (or as little) as I want. Plus, I’ve signed up for Michelle’s (True Book Addict) High Summer Read-a-thon which starts tomorrow. Since I’m starting today, consider this my sign-up post.

I’m off to curl up with The Iliad. What are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, summer reading, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. harvee says:

    You have confirmed it – the Song of Achilles should be on my reading list!

  2. I kind of love reading hangovers – surely the sign of a great book! I’ve heard all sorts of great things about The Song of Achilles and really want to get my hands on it sometime. The same goes for Nox – enjoy!

  3. I love that dropping your math class means more reading! And I haven’t heard the term book hangover before, but I totally get it.

  4. Well, never quite heard anyone talk about “curling up” with the Iliad! LOL

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    You’ve made The Song of Achilles sound like a must read. I’m adding it to my wish list.

  6. Alex in Leeds says:

    Ooh, interested to see what you make of the Fagles translation of The Iliad. I’ve never read that version and am curious to see how it compares to the older versions.🙂

  7. I was going to read No Dominion by Charlie Huston, but got trapped in a couple of naps, thanks to my wife who was on third shift last night. I usually take a nap on Sunday, but nothing like this…oh, well, back to reading now.

  8. That’s a great lineup. Nox is just gorgeous. I’ve read another of her books, but the packaging was ordinary, even if her word-work is anything but. Enjoy your RAT plans! (And I’m glad you have more reading time than usual now!)

  9. heidenkind says:

    Good luck with Iliad! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  10. softdrink says:

    I loved Song of Achilles! I thought it was beautifully written.

  11. Lots of exciting reading!

    I love the way dropping something like a math class liberates me. It’s never obvious to me before I do it, but sometimes quitting is the only way to move forward.

    http://www.joyweesemoll.com/

  12. Gavin says:

    I have The Song of Achilles on my TBR list, but have been thinking about reading The Iliad first (maybe the Odyssey as well). Can’t wait to read what you think of Nox! Have a great week.

  13. nomadreader says:

    What wonderful books! I adored Arcadia! After loving Home, I’m hoping to read A Mercy later this year too. Happy reading!

  14. zibilee says:

    I bought The Song of Achilles for my son for Easter, and I really, really want to read it now! It sounds excellent! I also want to read Arcadia at some point as well, and have that one here. Great list here today! I hope that you get a chance to read them all!

  15. So many great books! I really want to read Arcadia and Love Medicine.

  16. The kids at my school love Bink and Gollie. I’m happy to see there is a new one!

    I haven’t shared the Flying Books story yet. I read it as an app. I suppose it is now available in other formats?

  17. Holly says:

    I liked A Mercy and am really looking forward to Toni Morrison’s new one that came out recently. Good luck with the read-a-thon!

  18. Lu says:

    I really want to read Nox. I can’t wait to hear what you think! I agree with Kathy – you’ve really made The Song of Achilles sound like a must-read. It’s not one I was particularly excited about reading. I even checked it out from the library and returned it untouched. Now I’m wondering if I should check it out again…

  19. Welcome to the read-a-thon! Hope you get in some good reading this week. 🙂

    The Giveaway/prize page is posted over at the blog, if you’d like to check it out.

  20. Reading hangover Vasilly, totally love that. Hears to a few more of those😉

  21. kay says:

    The Illiad? Pfff, I read that in a day!😛
    (that’s totally a lie; my bookmark is still sitting somewhere in the middle, as it has been for the last, oh, four years? Yeeesh!)

    Good luck on the read-a-thon! I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on Arcadia once you have read it!

  22. Melissa says:

    I picked up Nox from the library a while back and ended up returning it unread (I was too busy). I *loved* what I did get to look at, though. It’s a cool format.

  23. Care says:

    no math class!! huh
    Happy Reading.

  24. boardinginmyforties says:

    Wow, that is a lot of books! It’s wonderful that you are finding so much time to read and enjoying your books!

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Kathleen! Unfortunately my reading mojo has dried up. Maybe it’ll come back soon. I hope your week is off to a great start.😀

      ________________________________

Comments are closed.