Sunday Salon: Being Grateful

Good morning! It’s chilly yet sunny on this SoCal morning. Instead of being surrounded by good reading material, I’m surrounded by my math book and the piles of notes I’ve taken over the past week. The summer semester started last Monday and I’m facing my first test tomorrow morning. I’m already in a reading rut but now my reading is becoming pretty nonexistent which is awful since I have so many great-looking books checked out from the library. I can’t share with you what I’m reading but I can share what I’m grateful (and not grateful) for.

What I’m not grateful for (as once suggested by Bryan):

  • I haven’t read much with the kids this week. With everyone in some activity during the day and exhausted at night, our reading has dwindled. Hopefully we’ll adjust soon to our new schedule and start back reading again today.
  • Reading rut. Ugh! It’s summer, the time of chunksters and classics. I should be surrounded by great books and not textbooks.
  • My dwindling bank account. Enough said.
  • My lack of blogging. When you’re a book blogger, reading and blogging ruts go hand-in-hand.
  • My grandmother passing. My grandmother was 97 years old and had a long good life. Though I hate that she’s gone, I’m grateful that she wasn’t in pain and died in her sleep.

What I’m grateful for:

  • Slowly but surely getting through my math. I’m not one of those people who hate math but I do prefer to go at my own pace to get it. That’s not really something you can do with a summer math class. The class is taking me out of my comfort zone, which I do really mind.
  • My ability to ignore a mirror. That might sound a little strange but I’m growing my hair out. It’s thick and curly and in that dreadful in-between stage.
  • My old friend coming over with her kids yesterday. We had a great time and the kids made new friends.

It’s a small list but those are the things I’ve been thinking about. What are you grateful for?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday Salon: Being Grateful

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    It doesn’t sound like you’re going to have a laid back summer at all! Today I’m grateful for air conditioning!

  2. softdrink says:

    I’m grateful to be done with math classes.😀

  3. One, I’m grateful that you’ve continued on this tradition, even though I haven’t.

    Two, I’m grateful that, and this is going to sound wrong but it’s true so I can catch up on reading, that my wife is away this week.

    Three, I’m grateful that I don’t have to take math classes.🙂

  4. I’m grateful that you’ve reminded me to start again recording at http://www.graceinsmallthings.com/

  5. Kailana says:

    I don’t miss math at all! Good luck!

  6. Grateful to have a little time to read and blog in July and August. And looking forward to shifting my priorities a little to take better care of myself. As I hope you are doing as well! Take care during the busy time. Happy reading!

  7. Heather says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother, Vasilly. *hugs*

  8. Helen says:

    I am so sorry about your grandmother, may we all go in our sleep! I like the idea of going a what we’re grateful for post to remind us of all the good stuff. I hope you don’t mind if I copy (I’ll give you credit)

  9. harvee says:

    Sorry to hear about your Grandmother. Hope the summer classes go well and that you enjoy yourself in between. I’m grateful for time to read and blog!

  10. Akilah says:

    Very sorry to hear about your grandmother. My 97-year-old grandmother passed earlier this year, so my heart definitely goes out to you and your family. I had a long time with her which makes it harder in some ways that she’s gone.

  11. Megan says:

    Math, yuck! I know what you mean about that awkward hair stage between short and long(er). I kept mine short until college and then let it grow it…those were hard hair times. 😉

    As for me, I’m grateful that I got to see a bunch of old friends last weekend, and as a result was relaxed and refreshed for this week. I feel like I was in a little life funk and it got me out of it. I’ll be even more grateful if it lasts!😀

    Hope you have a great week – good luck with that math!

  12. Samantha says:

    My lack of blogging has been on my ungrateful list as well! And it isn’t like I don’t have the time lately…I’ve just been “off” when it comes to everything blog related. Math…yikes! Probably my least favorite subject so good luck🙂 I think that it is important to remember the things that we are grateful for especially when it has been a rough week or two🙂 Hope your week goes great!

  13. heidenkind says:

    I’m sorry about your grandma. (((hugs)))

  14. I’m sorry you lost your grandmother, but glad she went the way she did after a long life. And I’ve been in a bit of a reading rut, too – I am reading, but not nearly as much as I should be at this time of year.

  15. Kristen M. says:

    I’m sorry that you lost your grandmother. My grandparents are 85 and I would love to have 12 more years with them though that seems unlikely. I’m glad that her passing was peaceful.

    I am actually getting through some chunksters this summer which is making me very happy. I’m also grateful that I took a chance today and made jam for the first time. I think it’s going to be really tasty! And I’m grateful most of all that I finally got to turn off the 7am alarm for the summer. The first thing I have to do tomorrow is at 11:30am!

  16. I’m sorry for your loss. I hope everything smooths out for you soon! hugs.

  17. Memory says:

    I’m so sorry about your grandmother. *hugs*

  18. Sorry for the loss of your grandmother — such a difficult time. Good luck with your math class. I’m so glad the visit with your friend went well, even for the kids.
    Joy’s Book Blog

  19. Care says:

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother. {{hugs}}

    and best to you for math class.

    and thank you for the reminder to be grateful.

  20. stacybuckeye says:

    Chilly sounds good today🙂 It’s beeen over 90 and humid for a week here! I’m sorry about your grandmother. Mine turns 90 this month and is in poor health, unable to get out of bed or feed hereself. When the time comes passing away during sleep is what I wish for her.

Comments are closed.