Armchair BEA – Introductions

Today is Day 1 of Armchair BEA, a week-long event for book bloggers who aren’t attending BEA in New York. The organizers asked everyone to answer a few questions about themselves.

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?  My name is Vasilly. I’m a mother of three and a college student who’s majoring in anthropology. I’m also a Southern California native. I’ve been blogging for the past five years since April 2007, after looking online for others who read as much as I do. I ended up finding a whole community.

2. What are you currently reading? I have a huge stack of books on my nightstand. I’m currently reading Home Cooking: A Writer in the Kitchen by the late Laurie Colwin; An Altar in the World: A Geography of Faith by Barbara Brown Taylor; The World’s Religions by Huston Smith, and A Clash of Swords by George R.R. Martin. I feel like I don’t have enough books going right now, so I’ll probably start two more.

6. Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read? I can’t just give you one post; I need to give you two. I really enjoyed reviewing The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. It was a co-review with Aarti (Booklust). I also love my review of Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin.  It was a book that I loved so hard. I wanted to buy a copy and put it in the hands of every reader I knew.

7. If I could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why? This question is so easy. I would eat dinner with author Michael Lee West. I read her book, Consuming Passions last year and enjoyed it so much. West is someone who can tell you the best stories and many of them includes food. If not West, I would love to have dinner with Dorothy Allison and Melanie Rae Thon. Both are two of my favorite authors.

9. What is your favorite part about the book blogging community? The community itself! I love making new blogging friends and finding new blogs to follow.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Armchair BEA – Introductions

  1. Laura says:

    You are a real book polygamist Vasilly. I can do a couple at a time, but they have to be different genres, or different formats. I can read an e-book separate from the paper books I’m reading.

  2. bookworm says:

    Wow you are an amazing book-juggler! I very rarely read more than a book at a time. Hope you enjoy the Armchair BEA!

  3. nomadreader says:

    Cheers to the book blogging community! I’ve been noticing just how many of us are celebrating five years of blogging this spring and summer! Happy continued reading and blogging!

  4. Community, community, community! Yay! I *heart* you, Vasilly. Keep it up!

  5. Trish says:

    It’s hard to beat this community, huh? Without it there’s no way I would have continued to blog so long. I’m forever grateful for the wonderful people like you natasha!

    And I didn’t realize you were studying anthropology! I think I had just assumed you were studying literature.

  6. Vikki says:

    Goodness that’s a lot of books on the go, I admire you! As a brand new blogger, I admire someone who’s been blogging for five years. Stopping by from Armchair BEA.

  7. Bellezza says:

    Vasilly, so glad you’ve been my friend since 2007. I think that’s when we ‘met’, when we were Secret Santa buddies? Anyway, you greatly enrich my life with your thoughts and your sweet comments. xo

  8. Heather says:

    I don’t think I knew that you’re an anthropology major. That’s awesome!

  9. aartichapati says:

    I loved Part-Time Indian, too! I think we both felt that book really served as a catalyst in our reading and our perception of America, which is awesome. I’m so glad I had someone to share that with.

    And I didn’t know you were studying anthropology! I always thought that would be SO AWESOME to study.

  10. And I thought you were in library school! Or are you just taking serial majors?

    • Vasilly says:

      I’ve been taking classes for my library technician certificate too. It requires me to take a lot of classes like cataloging and acquisitions.🙂

      ________________________________

  11. We always learn something new, my huge ’embarrassment’, I thought you was a male blogger, lol.

    And you think you don’t have enough books going on, omg, hahahha

    Enjoy BEA Week

    • Vasilly says:

      Ha ha ha! Don’t be embarrassed: with a boy name like “Vasilly” that’s understandable!

      I think my problem is with my current stack of reads is that I have so many books checked out from the library, and so many due back on the same day, that I’m feeling the pressure.🙂

      ________________________________

  12. StuckInBooks says:

    It’s nice that we can find that reading community online. Seems like my the friends I have never seem to share that interest but the community online is huge. Glad you are a part of it.

    Thanks for participating!

    Here’s my intro

    Valerie
    StuckInBooks

  13. Hi Vasilly! Thanks for visiting me today.

  14. Sara says:

    Dorothy Allison is hilarious. Woman can tell stories like nobody’s business. She would make a great dinner date!

  15. I love that you’re reading four books and don’t have enough going – I’m the same way!🙂

  16. We’ve been blogging for about the same amount of time and yet we still have new things to learn about each other.🙂

  17. jmchshannon says:

    How did I miss that you were an anthro major? Gah! I feel like a bad follower now.

  18. Debz says:

    I love your blog and your answers! Hope you have fun during Armchair BEA!

    Debz @ Debz Bookshelf

  19. great post🙂 I’m loving the George RR Martin books. Happy Reding

  20. I’ve been thinking about pursuing a library technician certificate too. I’ve always thought I would love being a librarian.

  21. I love that you are reading four books, but need to add two more to make it feel like you have enough to read🙂 I usually have about three going on at once, but definitely not six!

  22. stacybuckeye says:

    Hi Vasilly! I love Diary of a Part Time Indian and loved your joint review!

  23. I love when a book can make you feel like sharing with every person you come across.🙂

  24. heidenkind says:

    Anthropology? What happened to psychology?😉 I thought about being an anthro major once…

Comments are closed.