NPM: Poem in Your Pocket Day

Here’s the poem I’m carrying in my pocket today:

 

[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]

by e.e. cummings

 

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it (anywhere

i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done

by only me is your doing,my darling)

 

i fear

no fate (for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

 

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

 

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

 

from Complete Poems: 1904-1962 by E.E. Cummings

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in National Poetry Month. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NPM: Poem in Your Pocket Day

  1. zibilee says:

    I love this poem, as its structure is unusual, and really love that you are carrying this one around in your pocket today. Very cool idea. If I had a pocket for today’s outfit, I might be carrying one too!

  2. Oh, it’s been so long since I’ve taken a moment for e. e. cummings. I love this one….so sweet. Also! Poem in your Pocket Day is SUCH a throw back for me! I LOVE it!

  3. e.e. cummings is totally one of my favorites! In my mind, I always put him and bell hooks together because of the punctuation! LOL – I wonder if either one of them would be pleased? LOL

  4. boardinginmyforties says:

    I LOVE this poem so much. Thanks for sharing this with all of us. I haven’t read this one in years and it was nice to read it today.

  5. Edi says:

    That is definitely a poem that belongs in a pocket (or a heart!) !!

Comments are closed.