Sunday Salon

Good morning! It’s very early here in Southern California. With everyone still asleep, I couldn’t help but get up. I love having the early hours of morning to myself.

I can’t believe that today is the last day of spring break. I started break three days early and time still feels like it flew by. I’m okay with that since I’m well-rested. I’ve spent the past week and a half reading my butt off. I read:

  • Haiku: This Other World by Richard Wright
  • The Humming Room by Ellen Potter
  • Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
  • Alcestis by Katharine Beutner
  • The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey
  • The Behavior Gap by Carl Richards
  • Small Space Decorating – Better Homes and Gardens

Now that I’m looking at my list, I don’t feel like I read enough. There was so much that I wanted to get to like Caitlin Flanagan’s Girl Land and Holy Ghost Girl by Donna M. Johnson. But I accomplished a lot.

Being on spring break put me in the mood for spring cleaning, so I bagged up more than 30 books that I knew I wouldn’t read anytime soon and gave them to my library. I felt so light doing it. After that, I bought a Billy bookcase from Ikea and put it together. It took two tries but I got it done.

Sorry for the blurry pictures.

Now the bookcase in the corner of my living room along with my mother’s my chair. This was supposed to be my reading corner but the kids have claimed it as theirs. The only thing the corner needs now is some decent artwork. I’m thinking about one of these two photos:

This is from Little Red Riding Hood by Trina Schart Hyman. Hyman is one of my favorite illustrators and I’ve wanted this picture on my walls for many years.

I recently bought this after reading a Book Riot article that featured artwork from Trafalgar’s Square.

So that’s it. I’m about to curl in my reading chair with Terry Pratchett’s The Wyrd Sisters before anyone gets up. What are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I love those pictures! Very cute. And your bookshelf area looks so nice and tidy! I get to start a new book today, yay. Think I’ll do something different – a ya dystopia – ha ha

  2. MoniqueReads says:

    You got a lot done during spring break.

    Both of those pictures are cute. I like the one with the bear the best.

  3. I love your new bookshelf! I need another bookshelf desperately! Good for you for donating all those books!

  4. I was going to put up a picture later of my bookshelf, but now I don’t know. Yours puts mine to shame. No fair.🙂

    Glad you were able to get so much reading done over your spring break.

  5. harvee says:

    I m interested in the Haiku book!
    I like your organized book space.

  6. softdrink says:

    Hooray for new bookshelves! And for putting them together yourself.

  7. Loooove those Billy bookcases. Sorry that spring break is ending, but I’m glad you’re feeling rested. Enjoy your day!

  8. Amy @ My Friend Amy says:

    it looks to me like you got a lot of reading done! I”m jealous. Plus lovely new bookcase and pictures!🙂

  9. BermudaOnion says:

    Isn’t it amazing how quickly we fill up new bookcases? It sounds like you had a productive week.

  10. I love your reading corner! I need one of those.🙂 Hope you get to spend lots of time in your reading chair this week.

  11. readerbuzz says:

    I love the Little Red Riding Hood artwork. And, of course, the book. Beautiful illustrations and beautiful text.

  12. stacybuckeye says:

    Every time I buy a new bookcase more books find their way into the house so it defeats the purpose! I love that second print.

  13. heidenkind says:

    I put bookshelves together last year and felt all proud of myself when I finished.🙂 It’s not THAT hard, but my carpentry skills are pretty dismal.

    I managed to read 1/4th of Great Expectations on Spring Break. That’s all.😛

  14. Helen says:

    Definitely love a new bookcase! We did some book rearranging in our house this weekend, which entailed lots of dust!

  15. It’s so funny how hard we are on ourselves about how much we read! You did great! I’ve been easing into my spring cleaning, I did so much in november and december I let myself slack.:)

  16. ashbruxvoort says:

    I have two or three boxes of books I rounded up after doing a little cleaning. I keep meaning to try and sell some, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  17. Sounds like a very productive week to me! Your bookcase looks so nice, but it as amazing how quickly they fill up. I just filled two big bags to donate to the library book sale.

  18. Jenny says:

    The bookshelf looks wonderful! Oh what I wouldn’t give for (the space in my apartment for) a brand-new bookshelf. I could fill it up straight away with books that stayed in Louisiana when I moved to New York, and then I’d have allllll those books with me again instead of far away.

    I know you didn’t ask us to vote but if you had asked us to vote, I’d have voted for the bear.

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m not surprised. Everyone loves the bear.

      I don’t think I could bear moving away from my books. Did you bring your favorite ones with you to NY?

  19. kay says:

    Your pictures for your new reading corner are both very cute! Can’t you put both some place? I wouldn’t be able to choose.
    I’m reading a few books at a time but right now, I am slowly making my way through Physics of the Future. Interesting stuff!

Comments are closed.