Sunday Salon: It’s spring break!

Good morning! The sun is barely out and already the family is up. Easter is more of a literary than religious holiday in my home so all the kids woke up to tons of books in their baskets. Cookbooks, graphic novels, and plenty of fiction were handed out. The kids are curled up with their reads so maybe I can go back to bed later.

Instead of waiting for spring break to start Thursday afternoon, I started it on Wednesday. During the semester, I’m always counting down until break comes and this year was no exception. I had my pile of books ready for the past week or two and I couldn’t wait to get to it.

Last week, I read B by Sarah Kay, Alcestis by Katharine Beutner, and Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks. All three were fantastic reads. Right now I’m reading The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey, recommended by Chris from Stuff as Dreams are Made On. It’s due back at the library tomorrow so I’m hoping to finish it up today. I’m also trying to finish The Behavior Gap: Simple Ways to Stop Doing Things with Money by Carl Richards.

With spring break finally here, I feel like there’s so much that I can accomplish. I still have to work on my research projects but it feels like a burden has been lifted. So I’m off to read and relax.

How’s your weekend going? What are you currently reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday Salon: It’s spring break!

  1. I’m reading collections of Unshelved, a collection of comics about a library, today. Beyond that, we’ll see…

  2. softdrink says:

    Happy Spring Break! Enjoy your week off!

  3. harvee says:

    Enjoy spring break! nd poetry month!

  4. Happy Spring Break! We’re just ending ours, here. Phew! I think I need a vacation from my vacation!

  5. thebrainlair says:

    Requested Friends with Boys from the library – had forgotten about it! The Behavior Gap sounds interesting. As a single mom and coming from a family that never had any, money is a problem for me! Hope you have time to write about it!

    Happy Easter and enjoy the rest of your spring break!

  6. Happy spring break! I love the idea of Easter being another excuse to give books to all your loved ones.

    I’m currently reading Lawrence Durrell’s Alexandria Quartet, with the odd bit of poetry in-between each of the four parts.

  7. I think that’s so great to load baskets up with books instead of candy! (of course, personally I would like BOTH- LOL) Happy Easter to you and your family!!!

  8. cbjamess says:

    It would be great if I could stop doing so many things with money. Now is this a book I should buy….. 😉

  9. I love that your kids get a bunch of books in their Easter baskets. What a great idea!

  10. My kids got books in their baskets too. We’re also planning to go on a hike later today, but honestly I’d rather nap. We’ll see. Happy Easter!

  11. Enjoy your break – I hope your Easter’s been grand!

  12. The only time when I really miss being in grad school is during spring and winter breaks. It’s always such a relief to have an approved vacation like that. Enjoy!

  13. Megan says:

    Happy spring break! I miss having one of those.

    Sounds like Easter is great at your house. Wish I’d gotten a basket of books today!

  14. heidenkind says:

    I have spring break, too, yay! I’m actually not reading that much because I’ve been focused on writing for the past few days. I’m barely edging into Scandal of the Year by Laura Lee Guhrke.

  15. Kristen M. says:

    We do Easter books too — I got three, the kid got two and the husband got two. I usually do one book per basket but I couldn’t help myself this year! Not that I’m going to get to read any of mine soon. Instead, I’ll keep working through Mistborn for Carl’s read-along and starting Tam Lin and Fire and Hemlock for my group read. Luckily these are fun obligation reads. Have a great spring break! Ours doesn’t start until Thursday night.🙂

  16. Hope you had a peaceful Easter – enjoy spring break!

  17. Gavin says:

    Enjoy your Spring break! Sounds like the family gets wonderful Easter gifts they canm enjoy throughout the year. I am immersed in books for Once Upon A Time, reading a book on tricksters and Ragnarok by A.S. Byatt. Have a lovely week.

  18. I thought Friends with Boys was pretty cute. I’m jealous of your spring break! I miss those days😦

  19. Chris says:

    I LOVE that your family does books instead of candy in the easter baskets😀 That is just fantastic!!! Hope you had a great Easter!!

  20. Jenny says:

    Hahahah, I spent all day Saturday frantically trying to finish reading the library books that were going to be due back on Sunday. My perennial Saturday scramble! I hope y’all had a marvelous Easter day!

  21. What a great idea!! Books in baskets. I love it. Saturday was book club meeting and Sunday was church and family. I need a day off from the day off! LOL! 🙂

  22. I hope you’ve had a wooooonderful spring break so far! Spring Break is one of the times off I missed working at a career college, and now that I’m all corporate and stuff, I still miss it!!!

  23. Athira says:

    Glad that you’re getting a lot of reading done! I hope you have a fab spring break! I also start stacking my books before the break officially starts.🙂

  24. Lu says:

    Happy spring break! I love that cover for Friends With Boys! I hadn’t heard of it before today, so thank you for sharing!

Comments are closed.