NPM: Hummingbird by Raymond Carver

Hummingbird

For Tess

 

Suppose I say summer,

write the word “hummingbird,”

put it in an envelope,

take it down the hill

to the box. When you open

my letter you will recall

those days and how much,

just how much I love you.

 

Raymond Carver

From All of Us: The Collected Poems

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in National Poetry Month, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NPM: Hummingbird by Raymond Carver

  1. boardinginmyforties says:

    Beautiful!

  2. zibilee says:

    Oh, I love this, so evocative and wonderful. I need to be reading more poems like this. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Jenny says:

    What an odd, lovely little poem!

  4. I used to love to write poetry when I was in school but have never really looked into reading it.

  5. buriedinprint says:

    I wish poems with dedications came with little pics of the recipient. * grin *

Comments are closed.