Sunday Salon

Good morning! It’s dark and rainy in Southern California. It’s been this way since yesterday and I won’t complain. I love wet winter days.  Our winter has looked more like summer but with the first day of spring around the corner, hopefully spring will be our winter instead. I shouldn’t see butterflies and junebugs in March. It’s just not right.

With it being so early in the day, the possibilities feel endless though I know that’s not true. Today, I’m hoping to finish up 11/22/63, a book that has creep me out so much that I can never could go straight to bed after reading parts of it. I also have some major studying to do since I have two psychology tests this week.

This week I’m least grateful for:

  • Not writing enough blog posts. Every week I make plans to write several blog posts and no matter what, time slips away from me. This week I’m going to try harder.
  • Not finding a new place yet. I’ve been looking but I haven’t seen much. It doesn’t help that my mom certain family members are very picky.
  • That I didn’t read much last week.

This week I’m most grateful for:

  • The fact that I don’t have many things not to be grateful for.
  • That I have a plan b. (Not the birth control.) I’m a huge believer in always having a second plan to fall back on just in case my first plan fails. Sometimes I’ve even had a plan c and d. So if I can’t find a decent place soon, I’ve already started making plans on how to fix my apartment more to my liking. I’m pretty excited.
  • The photos that my aunt and grandmother sent for my daughter’s family tree project. It was the first time I’ve ever seen a picture of my late grandfather who passed more than a decade before I was born. They also sent me a picture of my great-grandmother who died around the same time. My paternal family and I aren’t close so I’m grateful that they sent me these photos that I can share with my kids and they can share with theirs when the time comes.

So that’s what I’m thankful for. What are you thankful for? What are you reading this weekend? 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. We’ve got your rain too! Usually we get it the day after you all, so I guess that’s true now too because ours just started this morning. The plants are very happy!

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of the end of 11/22/63!

  2. I’m thankful that this week at work won’t be as busy as last week and that I’ll have some breathing room, to read and listen to an audiobook.

    Plan Bs are always good to have, and I don’t mean birth control either.😉

    We don’t have your rain. Ha ha. We have sunshine.🙂

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    It’s like summer here and I’m hoping that doesn’t mean our summer is off the charts hot. I hope you have a wonderful week.

  4. samantha1020 says:

    I love rainy days too! My kids are loving the beautiful weather though and have spent hours outdoors playing. So I can’t complain too much about the lack of winter🙂 I need to work on developing more plan B’s and C’s and D’s. I think that I would be more organized if I did. Hope you have a great week Vasilly!

  5. Kailana says:

    That’s great about the pictures! Have a great week!

  6. myfriendamy says:

    I’ve been enjoying the rain as well. Hope you have a wonderful week!

  7. Anastasia says:

    I went outside yesterday when it was raining and I was SO SURPRISED. It was nice rain! It didn’t want to kill me or even really get my shoes wet. I don’t know if it’s like that all the time here, but I’m liking it much more than NM’s wtf-rain (which ruined two pairs of my shoes and four umbrellas, btw).

  8. cbjamess says:

    I got a flat tire on the way to my book club meeting this morning so I spent much of the day so far at Pep Boys getting new tires which I needed anyway. I’ve a stack of work that I need to get to before the day is out. I’m not really feeling all that thankful at the moment, but I’m thankful that I’m still here in a comfortable home and doing well enough to have time to spend on-line reading blogs I enjoy.

    Not all that bad all things considered.

  9. Kristen M. says:

    I’m thankful to be taking my son to his first ballet today with tickets that we won. Nothing like a free outing that you couldn’t have really afforded otherwise! And I’m thankful that the pacific northwest is slowly warming up and that the snow that’s still coming down seems to be veering right around my town each day. I’m so ready for spring! Even my mini daffodils have bloomed already.

    Have a great day and good luck with the ongoing house hunt!

  10. I’m thankful to have a little more time to read lately than I have had in recent months. And thankful to read smart people like you who can extract a positive angle from most any situation.

  11. Megan says:

    I hear you about not writing enough blog posts. Every weekend I swear I’m going to write at least a couple for the week, but the planets have to align just right for me to get it done, and my planets are just not aligning despite my good intentions. =/ Hope you make out better with them this week!

  12. heidenkind says:

    I’m thankful I have a pet-sitting job this week so I can make some extra money. Yay!

  13. Alex in Leeds says:

    Oh, how wonderful to have the photos to pass on. It always delights me when I work on a family tree and the family have images to include.🙂

  14. I keep thinking I want to read 11/22/63, but then I read comments like yours about how creepy it is and I wonder if I’m too much of a scaredy-cat!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the rain, but I hope for Natalie’s sake that it clears up by this weekend – she’s heading to California for two weeks with her best friend’s family for an extended Spring Break vacation. She’s never been to California, so she’s quite excited – they’re staying at a beach house in Cayucas for a while and also doing a few days at Disney – among other things. I’m excited for her – and hoping the trip goes quickly for me, because she’s never been gone from home longer than 5 days before – and that about killed me!

  15. Dark and rainy weekend days are my favorite reading days. Enjoy!

  16. softdrink says:

    I’m thankful that we got a weekend of rain! And I’m hoping it comes back next weekend.

  17. kay says:

    Heh! I can completely relate to you “write more blog posts this week” resolution. Especially with reviews!
    But, I have to say I love the second part of your list. Those are excellent reasons to be grateful! This week, I am very thankful for the great weather we had this weekend, and for a financial situation that finally resolved itself and took a big weight off my shoulders!

  18. stacybuckeye says:

    I love old family photos! It gives you a real sense of belonging. So glad that you got the pics.

Comments are closed.