TSS: Paris, My Sweet by Amy Thomas

Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (And Dark Chocolate)

Amy Thomas

304 pages

Published in 2012 by Sourcebooks

Source: Publisher

Can one question change your life? I’m willing to bet a twenty-five-piece box of Jean-Paul Hevin bonbons on it.

I don’t read foodie memoirs often but there was something about Paris, My Sweet that I couldn’t pass up when the publisher offered it. The book chronicles a year in the author’s life as she makes the big decision to move from New York to Paris to work for a designer label. Before the move, Thomas worked for a newspaper and ran a blog called Sweet Freak. She spent nights club hopping with friends and her days working and visiting bakeries all over New York City. She was young, single, and had an obsession for Paris so taking the opportunity to move there was a no-brainer, right?

Well, not exactly. The problem with Paris though is that Thomas moves there knowing almost no one. She spends much of her free time alone, visiting various bakeries. Her French is pretty much at a third-grade level and it’s hard to find a decent single man or a friend. I found the parts about the author’s struggle honest and refreshing. Who hasn’t wished that they could live in a new city for a short amount of time? I know I have but I only lasted a month before returning home.

Even with the problems, Thomas realizes that there’s almost nowhere else she would rather be. Life is so different in Paris than in New York. There’s the fashion, the people, and also the culture which all comes across so realistic for readers. I realized that when Thomas tells readers how eating at your work desk is a no-no. You’re expected to leave your desk and go out to eat for the two lunch hours you get daily.

This is a foodie memoir so I should at least mention the food. Thomas has a major sweet tooth, so visiting various bakeries daily throughout her year in Paris is a must. She writes about these places and let readers in on the lives of these bakers and their shops. I enjoyed knowing about these strangers and why they make their signature dishes. I could practically imagine the atmosphere, the spring days, and the food. Whether Thomas is writing about macaroons, the cupcake craze in Paris, what makes French toast so delicious, or the power of chocolate chip cookies, you’ll be willing to follow the writer any place she goes. It doesn’t hurt that in the back of the book, Thomas gives the address to every place she visits in Paris and New York.

I do have to admit that after awhile, I did get tired of the book. I think maybe the last 10-20 pages could have been taken out or shortened.

With that said, if you’re ever going to visit either Paris or New York, you need to bring Paris, My Sweet along. You won’t regret it. My rating: 3 out of 5 stars.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Cooking, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to TSS: Paris, My Sweet by Amy Thomas

  1. harvee says:

    A book I’d love to read. I find a lot of books could cut a few pages from the last half. As if writers don’t want to let go of their books!

    • Cathy says:

      A freind gave me this book ro read during my trip to Paris during the past 2 weeks. I loved it. It had fun info about places in Paris and lots of yummy food info. I am diabetic but I did walk around so much in Paris that I could eat several of the treats. We even had a “taste off” between the macarons from Pierre Hermes and Laduree. Hermes were better in our opinion. There wasa little neighborhood market in St. Quetin where a young chef amde some awesome macorons that I thought were better than Laduree. We took a macaro\on cooking class at a kitchen where Amy, the author,, had aslo taken a class just months ago. We also tried the chocolate at Angelinas’. I wish we had had time to visit more o the author’s sites in Paris.

      The book was a fun read. A friend traveling with us read it one day when she stayed at the hotel to rest up. We both wished for a happy ending tied up in a ble garter belt but you can find out about that when you read the book..

  2. Samantha says:

    I’ve read lots of positive reviews for this book and must admit that my interest has been piqued. It sounds good (and everyone seems to enjoy it for the most part) so I’ll have to see if my library has a copy. Thanks for sharing your honest thoughts. Have a great week Vasilly!

  3. JoAnn says:

    This sounds like it might be a fun read for Paris in July this year. Hope you have a great week!

  4. Kailana says:

    I have this. I haven’t got around to it yet, though.

  5. heidenkind says:

    I heard about the author making some political comments in the book that really bothered me. Not sure I’ll read this, even though i do really love Paris.🙂

  6. nomadreader says:

    Sounds cute, but I think it’s one I’d rather read an excerpt or essay about rather than a full memoir. I do love Paris…

  7. This is certainly not the best book ever, but I actually enjoyed it, and her views on French society sound very accurate to me (French blogger). see my review: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/02/01/i-love-france-14-review-6-2012-paris-my-sweet/
    also, feel free to link your post to my French meme. here is the latest post to do so: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/03/09/i-love-france-15-2012-15-review-le-dieu-du-carnage/

  8. Jenny says:

    I might just see the addresses of all the places she goes in New York! That would be useful information to me, especially if they are dessert places or comfort food places ever. There are not enough elegant desserts in my life.

  9. Bookworm says:

    I do love anything Paris and this one does sound good. It’s funny how I do often find books that can be cut down a good twenty pages or even more.

  10. Marg says:

    I am planning to read this one soon. Food and Paris sounds fabulous!

  11. Christy says:

    This book interests me especially because she has some challenges while living there. Hopefully, she doesn’t wrap it up all too neatly at the end, which I find weird for memoirs written by young people.

  12. stacybuckeye says:

    Looks fun. I’ve picked up and moved to a new city but I knew a few people so that helped. CAn’t really contemplate such a thing now so I could live vicariously through her.

  13. buriedinprint says:

    Baked goods are my weakness as well. I’m not sure there’s a match to be made between me and this memoir, but I enjoyed reading your response to it, and I have a friend for whom this would make a perfect gift!

  14. Pretty sure I’m gonna start reading this one today. I’m excited about it because my sweet tooth is crankin’!

  15. kay says:

    I hadn’t heard about this one but this sounds exactly like something I would enjoy – and exactly like the type of recommendations I need right now.

Comments are closed.