Freedom Friday

Good morning! It’s a cold windy day here in Southern California. The sun is out, the birds are chirping and my mood couldn’t get any better unless I won the lottery! After struggling for weeks with my math class, I found out that I can drop it! Thank God. I plan on learning the material on my own, at a much slower pace. I feel so much lighter. Now I can find the time to review books.

Last week I started reading Catherine Chung’s Forgotten Country. It’s the story of two sisters who couldn’t more different from each other. As I was telling Candace this morning, it’s a quiet book. I love the language of it. After Forgotten Country, I plan on reading Paris, My Sweet by Amy Thomas, a non-fictional tale about the author’s love of Paris.  It seems like a perfect time to read it after posting about my word of the year, wanderlust.

With February and my math class behind me, I’m trying to figure out my goals for March. Here’s what I know so far:

Yes, it’s a lot of goals but I feel like I’m Wonder Woman and I can do anything right about now. So what are you reading this weekend? Do you have any goals for March?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Freedom Friday

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling so much better without all those figures dragging you down: better page counts than equations, hmm? No wonder you feel like you can do anything now!

    I want to take part in the TM project too, as I’ve only read her first two novels and recently listened to an amazing interview with her (by Eleanor Wachtel for Writers & Company) which reignited my interest! I didn’t know about DWJ Month…I’m off to check it out now: thanks!

    Weekend reading? Sinking into Ian Hamilton’s mystery series, starring Ava Lee, starting with The Water Rat of Wanchai….

  2. I really need to read The Forgotten Country! It seems a lot of people have really been enjoying it.

  3. Megan says:

    That’s great news that you can scrap the math class and have some breathing room to learn it at your own pace. I wasn’t exactly *bad* at math when I had to take it, but it definitely took me a lot longer to catch on to it than most other things, and I don’t miss it one bit. Yuck!

    Hope you have a great math-free weekend full of excellent reading! =D

  4. J.C. says:

    Thanks for the reminder about the Chunky book for March. I finally got my hands on a copy and oh man, it’s HUGE. hehe

    I’ve been hearing great things about The Forgotten Country, but your post seals it. Definitely going on the wish list.

    Have a great weekend reading!

  5. Heather says:

    FORGOTTEN COUNTRY is a good book–I’m glad you’re enjoying it. You’re reading a lot of good books this month, and if I hadn’t already overcommitted myself, I’d join you for CLOUD ATLAS. That’s a book I really want to read.

    Let’s see, as you know, I’m re-reading all of Toni Morrison’s fiction–I’m on TAR BABY now, and I’m reading THE CAMBRIDGE COMPANION TO TONI MORRISON as I go along. I’m doing the 11/22/63 read-along for the Chunky Book Club. I’m reading HOUSE OF LEAVES by Mark Danielewski for the #TuesBookTalk group I’m involved in (great book so far). I’m reading DAVID COPPERFIELD (a re-read actually) for #1book140 on Twitter. March is the month of chunksters for me.

  6. Care says:

    Wow – that’s a lot of reading. wow. 🙂

  7. Doret says:

    I am looking forward to reading Forgotten Country. This month I want to get out of the blogging weeds. I have a lot of novels to review.

  8. Lu says:

    Don’t you love that feeling? Anything is possible right now. Hold on to it as long as you can, wonder woman!

  9. heidenkind says:

    w00t! That math class sounded terrible. I feel relieved for you.🙂 I was looking into getting (yet another) degree in CIS, but then I saw how many math credits were required and I was like, “Mehhhhh.”

  10. zibilee says:

    I am so bad at math, so I can imagine your relief at being able to drop the math class. It’s very cool that you will have more time for books now, and some of the things you are planning sound wonderful! Good luck with all of your goal, and have a wonderful Saturday. You deserve it!

  11. That is such an ambitious list! I want to read some Toni Morrison with Rebecca too. I’m thinking The Bluest Eye, but I haven’t decided yet.

  12. softdrink says:

    Hooray for no math! Besides, who needs math when you have a calculator, right?😉

  13. Wonder Woman feelings are EXCELLENT! So glad things are going well, you can get that nasty math class out of the way, and that you’re feeling energized. Looking forward to reading your upcoming reviews! I really need to get Paris, My Sweet read soon.

  14. Kristen M. says:

    I’m so glad that you’ve joined DWJ month! I think it’s perfect timing for a lot of people who need a fun, comforting read. I’ve already gotten through two books and am sure I will at least pick up two or three more!

Comments are closed.