Sunday Salon

Good morning! For the past few Sundays, I’ve been sharing with you all the things I’m grateful for and least grateful for from the previous week. Today is no different.

Most Grateful for:

  • I’m less overwhelmed by my school work. It’s been pretty hard being a mom and taking almost the maximum amount of units this semester. I think what’s saving me from insanity is the fact that I’m enjoying most of the subjects except math.
  • Family! My mom is so supportive of me. Yesterday she bought me a new printer since the two that I already owned were breaking down. Plus, she watches my kids so I can go to my evening psychology class. I don’t know where I would be without her.
  • Jill Scott’s music. If you don’t listen to her, you should change that.
  • LetterMo! Yes, I’m always adding it to my list on Sundays but it’s such a great feeling to receive snail mail. This is the last week of LetterMo but I’m still going to keep it up. I have about ten letters to mail off this week.
  • The fact that I finished two books last week: Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral along with How to Be Black by Baratunde Thurston, which was a hilarious read. 
  • Poetry! I’m dipping in and out of a ton of haiku collections right now including Basho: The Complete Haiku by Matsuo Basho and translated by Jane Reichhold.

Least Grateful for:

 

  • The feeling that I’m in an Adele song. There’s a guy I’ve been crushing on (not-so-secretly either) for the past few years. Yesterday, I found out that he’s dating my neighbor. It’s really time to move. Did I mention he looks like Orlando Bloom?
  • The lack of blog writing, reading, and commenting. This week I want to do much better.

With poetry, my mom, and LetterMo, there’s so much to be grateful for. What are you grateful for this weekend? 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. It sounds like you have a lot to be thankful for. I’m grateful for my family, especially my sweet husband.

  2. Kai says:

    Great post, it’s wonderful that you are taking the time to acknowledge your blessings🙂

  3. aw, so sorry to hear about the crush dating your neighbor. That is always so hard.

    I found out about LetterMo much too late, but maybe I’ll try it on my own for March anyway, it’s such a great idea.

  4. Just a thought: I start with the least grateful and then go to the most grateful. That way you don’t dwell last on those least grateful things🙂. However, I hear you on the lack of blog reading and commenting. My wife loves Jill Scott, especially this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qw3Z8Oa7E3Y

    • Vasilly says:

      I love “Hate on Me”! I used to put that song on repeat for ages. Now it’s Scott’s latest “Blessed” that’s on repeat.

      I think you’re right. I should write out what I’m least grateful for. That’s always easiest to come up with.🙂

  5. Gerry says:

    Basho is one of my favorite poets. Am so glad I discovered him. Chopsticks sounds like an interesting book.

  6. Kailana says:

    It sounds like you have a lot to be grateful about! That is too bad about the guy… Take care!

  7. Memory says:

    I’m glad to hear your academic life has become a bit less overwhelming. It sounds so hectic!

    I’m also still grateful for LetterMo; and, as a matter of fact, I wrote you a letter this morning.🙂

  8. bookworm says:

    Good for you on going to school, that’s great that your mom helps you out.
    awwww->’The feeling that I’m in an Adele song’
    Enjoy your Sunday.

  9. Gavin says:

    I’m glad school is feeling less overwhelming and that you’ve discover Basho!. That guy doesn’t know what he’s missing…

  10. Same thing Gavin said about the guy – his loss! And your mom sounds so amazing.

  11. Heather says:

    Where to start?

    I love Jill Scott’s music–something else we have in common!

    I can’t wait to read Baratunde’s book–I’ve put it off for too long. Was it wonderful? He’s so funny (and smart). I love that guy.

    I’m sorry to hear about the Orlando Bloom look-alike. He sucks for dating your neighbor. As some people in my family would say… Fuggetabotim! (That doesn’t spell out well. Hahaha!)

  12. heidenkind says:

    Aw, you should ask your cute neighbor out! He’s dating your neighbor, not marrying her.😉

  13. Carrie K. says:

    I’m glad the schoolwork is going better! And that sucks about the guy…. That would be hard. I hope you have a good week, in spite of it!

  14. JoAnn says:

    You’re lucky to have your mom nearby! I couldn’t have done it when my kids were young without my mother’s help.

  15. zibilee says:

    Your mom does sound like a godsend, and I am so glad that she is there to help you out when you are so swamped with school and other things. That is a great thing to be thankful for!

  16. Carl V. says:

    Sorry about the Adele song moment! I hope you recover from that soon and that someone worthy of you comes along.

    Congrats on your classes. Juggling all that has to be very hard but I’m proud of you for doing so. So many people I run into seem unwilling to work hard and make the sacrifices necessary to follow their dreams and it is always encouraging to me to see people like you going for it.

    I’ll check into Jill Scott’s music. Always happy to discover new music.

    I am really sorry I didn’t have the time/take the time to participate in the letter writing this month, but I have still been inspired to make time this spring to write some letters and get back into the habit of doing that.

    Hope this is and will continue to be a good week!

  17. Samantha says:

    I’m grateful for my children and my supportive family as well! Where would I be without them?? Even at our craziest moments I can’t help but smile because they are the best! Hope you are having a great week Vasilly!

  18. Haiku seems like the perfect “solution” to your reading “problem”. Heheh. You can do it, you can do it!

  19. Yay for moms. Seriously, without mine, I’d be in trouble!!! She does so so so much for me, I have no idea how I’d function otherwise.

    Sorry to hear your crush is dating your neighbor. Orlando Bloom look alikes are hard to come by!

  20. stacybuckeye says:

    I’ve enjoyed writing letters this past month and am hoping to make it a weekly goal from now on🙂

Comments are closed.