Sunday Salon

Good morning! Right now the house is pretty quiet since most of my family is still asleep. I’m sitting at my desk with a hot cup of coffee, hoping that it will soothe my throat. My family and I have the flu, so much of this week was spent buying massive amounts of Kleenex, lemons, and honey. Unfortunately, it hasn’t worked yet.

I really enjoyed taking the time last week to share the things I’m grateful for so it may become a regular feature on this blog.

This week I’m grateful for:

  • The fact that I was able to read two books! Can you believe it? Two books after not being able to finish an adult book since December! The really sweet part about it, is that I finished them both this weekend. The books: How Georgia Became O’Keefe by Karen Karbo and The Thorn and the Blossom by Theodora Goss. There’s something about not being able to read that takes an emotional toll. Now I feel like I have my reading mojo back.
  • Libraries and librarians. If you’re a librarian or work at a library, you rock! I have three research projects to do and I’ve already needed massive amounts of psychology articles. If it weren’t for the university and college librarians, I wouldn’t have the reading material that I needed.
  • Once again I’m grateful for LetterMo. I’m finding it really therapeutic to write letters to people. I don’t talk about myself in the letters but just writing people and wishing them a good day makes my day better. I’ll probably keep writing letters after this month is over.

What I’m least grateful for:

  • Bombing my math test. It’s funny that it’s not bothering me that much. I plan on doing a much better job on my next test. I also think math was the reason why I couldn’t read either. I put too much pressure on myself to do math instead of taking pockets of time to read.
  • Having the flu.

So that’s it. What are you grateful for this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. It’s so great how you take the time and effort to look for the things for which you have been grateful in the previous week. I really need to do that myself! Glad to hear you have your reading mojo back!

  2. Laura says:

    I sorry you haven’t been feeling well. LetterMo looks like a great challenge. I used to love writing letters when I was a kid. I always wanted pen pals. Maybe I should get back into it.

  3. I’m grateful for an influx of online classes (and as hectic as that was), I’m now thankful for time to chill and recharge for the week ahead.

    Loved this post! I hope your family is feeling much better in the coming week. And congrats on getting your mojo back! I hope to read The Thorn and the Blossom soon. I think when I finish Swamplandia (my current read), I’m going to dive back into some “for me” reading with Cinder!!! I can’t wait!

  4. I’m grateful to be able to read this among my other Sunday Salon posts.🙂 I’m not a librarian, but I’m at a librarian assistant who works at a library, so I guess I rock one and half. Math? Ugh. I still remember my grades in calculus in one semester in high school from a C to a D to an F. Yeah, math and I don’t get along. I did all right in algebra, but beyond that: geometry, trigonometry and calculus were my arch nemesises (nemesi?).

  5. harvee says:

    Hope you feel better soon for both reading and school! By the way, the honey and lemon will work better if you add a little brand, whisky, or rum! A good British remedy!

  6. Samantha says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading both of your posts on what you are currently grateful for. It is such a great idea!!! I’m glad to hear that you are over your reading slump…I hate when I am going through one myself. I hope that you have a great week (and that you find a little time to read while doing your school work)🙂

  7. BermudaOnion says:

    I hope you’re all feeling better soon.

  8. Carrie K. says:

    I’m grateful that no one but Kevin has caught the flu so far – knock on wood! I think you definitely need to carve out that time to read – even in the midst of busy-ness and stress. I hope your math class gets easier!

  9. Amy says:

    Oh no! I hope you and your family feel better son. It’s probably good that you are all getting over the flu at the same time, although it means there’s nobody to take care of you when you are sick. Unless you’re like me and prefer to be left alone!

    – I’m so happy for you that you got your reading mojo back! Not being able to read is stressful. The books you finished this weekend sound interesting esp. The one about Georgia O’Keefe.
    – I love writing letters and think it’s a lost art.
    – You cannot ace all your tests esp. when you have the flu.

    It’s a great idea to write down what you are grateful for a few times a week. I’m grateful we got very little snow yesterday. I’m also grateful I’m going to get some help getting my new cats neutered and spayed. Finally I’m grateful I’m really enjoying the books I’m reading now.

    I hope you feel better fast!

  10. Kailana says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

    I hate math…

  11. Aths says:

    I’m so sorry that you’re down with the flu! I hope you all will start feeling better soon!

  12. Megan says:

    I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling under the weather, that’s always a drag. 😦

    At least you got your reading groove back, though. I can definitely relate to losing it. Mine’s kind of been MIA for the past couple weeks because of a certain book and probably because I’ve had next to no time for reading (or blogging for that matter!).

    As for things I’m grateful for? I’m very grateful for great friends and having good times with them these past two weeks. Not grateful? That spending all my time working and out with friends leaves me too little time for my other more introverty loves like reading and blogging. I start to get a little shifty when I’ve been away from my computer and my books for too long even if it’s for all good reasons! LOL

  13. Silsbee says:

    It’s so nice to hear someone appreciating libraries and librarians. You can feel so beaten down as a librarian sometimes.

    Feel better soon, friend. xx

  14. Heather says:

    I’m sorry you and your family aren’t feeling well. That stinks. On a better note, I loved NINTH WARD and I can’t wait to talk about it on the 22nd. What a wonderful story!

  15. softdrink says:

    I’m grateful I DON’T have the flu. Hope everyone is feeling better soon!

  16. heidenkind says:

    Uhg math. I’m sure you’ll do better on your next test, though.🙂

  17. Care says:

    You are so cool. Get to feeling better! And I so agree about letter-writing. Nothing fancy, simple is good, but just thinking about the other person I am writing to instead of myself puts me in a better mood.

  18. Reading really is a sanity-saver, isn’t it?! Is it too soon to think about end-of-semester reading plans?😉

  19. That’s great about getting your reading mojo back! I was in the same boat, my reading slowed to a crawl for a while but now, so far this month, I’ve read twelve books.

  20. I’m grateful for libraries too. I’ve been a hardcore library fiend since I moved, I think because my new town doesn’t have a bookstore. But the library has a great selection, so I haven’t felt too deprived yet🙂

  21. nomadreader says:

    You know I love to see a shout-out to librarians! I’m so glad you have good ones to help you with your projects! I’m also glad you got your reading mojo back. I hope it stays around and you have more fabulous times with books!

  22. Memory says:

    Flus are terrible.😦 I have a respiratory thing right now, so I can relate. I sure hope your lemons and honey yield results soon.

    I’m also still grateful for LetterMo, and for short fiction. I’ve been reading the new collection from Sarah Monette, my favourite author, and it’s made me feel awfully cushy about the form. Not that I didn’t love short fiction already–oh hell, did I ever–but it’s been such a treat to read so many wonderful stories from an author whose work consistently engages me.

  23. Marie says:

    I hope you’re feeling better- or will do soon. What a drag. I started a gratitude journal on Sunday to coincide with my birthday and it really does help keep the focus on the positive!

  24. stacybuckeye says:

    A house full of sickies is tough. I always tell my husband that only one of us can be really sick at a time, LOL. So far it’s worked. Hope everyone is one the mend.

  25. Lu says:

    I really like that you are talking about the things you are grateful for. I’m glad you got your reading mojo back. I know exactly what you meant! I’m sad I didn’t really get to participate in LetterMo, but I’d really like to do my own version sometime in the future.

    Feel better!

  26. I hope everyone is feeling better now, having the flu totally sucks. I think rubbing yourself, chest, back, behind ears and most important feet at night is a HUGE help.

Comments are closed.