Otherwise

Photo courtesy of Paul (Dex)

Otherwise

 

I got out of bed

on two strong legs.

It might have been

otherwise. I ate

cereal, sweet

milk, ripe, flawless

peach. It might

have been otherwise.

I took the dog uphill

to the birch wood.

All morning I did

the work I love.

 

At noon I lay down

with my mate. It might

have been otherwise.

We ate dinner together

at a table with silver

candlesticks. It might

have been otherwise.

I slept in a bed

in a room with paintings

on the walls, and

planned another day

just like this day.

But one day, I know,

it will be otherwise.

 

Jane Kenyon

 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Otherwise

  1. Carrie K. says:

    This is one of my favorite Kenyon poems – it is especially poetic knowing how young she died.

  2. zibilee says:

    So evocative and touching, and something I think we all need to remember. Thanks for posting this.

  3. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this.

  4. Kathleen says:

    Really beautiful…

  5. winstonsdad says:

    lovely poem ,thank you for sharing it ,all the best stu

  6. Megan says:

    Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Phaedosia says:

    Thanks for posting–that made my day.

  8. I have a book of her essays that I keep starting and leaving unfinished; one day I hope it will be otherwise. (Thanks for posting this!)

Comments are closed.