Sunday Salon: Happy New Year!

Was it just me or did it take forever for 2012 to come this week? 2011 went by in a rush, but getting to today? Every hour went by so slowly. I don’t really mind since I went to sleep around 8:30 and woke up at midnight to hear my neighbors screaming like banshees and popping firecrackers. Oh well. Happy New Year!

For the past two years, I’ve made literary resolutions. I’ve done pretty well with them so I’m going to keep it up. Here are my literary resolutions for 2012:

  • Give away 120 books from my shelves. Last year I gave away more than 100 books and I want to keep that up. It feels good to free up space on my shelves for books I love instead of ones I haven’t read.
  • Read at least 60 books from my shelves. I don’t think I read even 30 books from my shelves in 2011.
  • Keep a paper list of the books I read this year. I’m trying to limit my time online so keeping a paper list will help.
  • Check out no more than 30 books from the library this year. I love checking out books from the library so I’m probably setting myself up for failure.
  • Read out of my comfort zone.  This includes aiming for 50% of my reads to be by people of color, more science fiction, books in translations, and definitely more fantasy.

So now I’m off to finish reading my first book of the year: Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff. It’s a middle grade book that I’ve own for a year now. So far it’s a touching story about a kid who’s been in the foster care system all her life. She runs away from every home that she’s been in. Now she’s found a home that she enjoys but may not be able to stay much longer. I started it this morning around midnight. After Pictures of Hollis Woods, I plan on continuing What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? by Peter Hedges. It’s one of my favorite books of all-time. I used to re-read it every year.

What are you reading on New Year’s Day? Any literary and bloggish resolutions?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Sunday Salon: Happy New Year!

  1. MJ says:

    Last year I started with a paper list, but gave it up when I started my blog. I really liked it, though. Maybe I’ll do a paper list in addition to a digital one this year.

    And I’m with you on the library – there’s no way I could limit myself to 30 books a year! Fortunately, there’s no reason for me to do so. The vast majority of my belongings (including most of my books) are in storage, so the library is my go-to book supplier.

  2. I have plans of what books I’m going to read for the new year, but no resolutions per se like you and other book bloggers, I’m seeing. Now I feel like I’m slacking😦. Thanks, lady😉. I like the idea of giving away books. That’s definitely something I need to do too…so many books I’m not getting to and that I’ll probably never get to — again😦.

  3. Kailana says:

    Good luck with your resolutions! Happy New Year!

  4. Belle Wong says:

    I love the idea of bookish resolutions! I guess mine is to read every day, even if it’s only for five or ten minutes – I was so busy in 2011, I had too-long periods of time during which I read nothing at all. In early December, I somehow managed to grab time to read three books from my TBR pile (and I’m proud to say, I promptly gave all but one away after I finished reading them), and I realized, yes, even when I’m in the midst of deadlines and the chaos of unpacking, I can still make time to read. And then two weeks later, after going back to not reading much of anything, I realized I have to make reading a priority or I won’t do it!🙂

    Happy new year, Vasilly!

    • Vasilly says:

      Belle, that’s a great resolution! School is going to leave my life very hectic and I think making reading a priority is the only way I’ll be able to get things done. I’m glad you mentioned that.🙂

      ________________________________

  5. Trisha says:

    I think it’s a great idea to set a goal for how many books from your shelves to read. I did something similar, but I probably could have set a more specific goal for that since I have so very very many.

  6. BermudaOnion says:

    Your goals are fabulous. Good luck in meeting them. Happy New Year!

  7. Excellent goals, and I envy you for being able to stick to reading-related goals MUCH better than I do!

  8. Samantha says:

    I’m hoping to spend less time online as well this year. There are plenty of other ways that I could spend my time so it is one of my main goals. I hope that you have a wonderful 2012!

  9. Heather says:

    Happy New Year, Vasilly! I hope you had a nice holiday season.

    I don’t usually make any resolutions, so I’m just sticking with the challenges I joined and taking things as they come. I did make a resolution (kind of) for my non-book blog because I didn’t really post much there last year.

  10. Carl V. says:

    Happy New Years, Vasilly! I think your resolutions sound great. I couldn’t agree more that shelves should be for books we love. I won’t give up being a collector of books, but I want the books on my shelves to mostly be books I’ve read and enjoyed so that when I see them there I have fond memories rather than the slight feelings of guilt over things acquired but not read.

    I’m starting 2012 by read a very short collection of essays by Wil Wheaton called Dancing Barefoot.

  11. Alyce says:

    Good luck with your book goals in 2012!

  12. heidenkind says:

    Happy New Year! I’m not sure how many books I donated to the library last year, but it was a car load. Literally, I had to ask people to help me take them to the library.😛

  13. JoAnn says:

    Happy New Year and good luck with your resolutions. I’ll be reading Arthur & George by Julian Barnes today.

  14. Alex in Leeds says:

    Love your book related goals. Hurrah for keeping the shelves regularly read and restocked.🙂

  15. Memory says:

    Happy New Year, and good luck with all your resolutions! I’ve kept a paper reading list since 2001, and I love it. I wish you as much satisfaction with yours as I’ve had with mine.

    I also want to curb my library borrows, at least for the first few months of the year. I’ve built up a fairly stout TBR list since Book Expo America, and I’d like to make those books a priority. Ditto the many rereads I want to get through. I imagine I’ll still borrow audiobooks, any requests that come in, and perhaps a few ebooks that fit into areas I want to explore, but no others. (Or so I tell myself…)

  16. Deb Marshall says:

    Would you believe I am going to make a resolution to make a resolution? And that’s oddly true, lol.
    I am going to add Pictures of Hollis Woods to my list of to reads, thanks!

    Happy Reading this week to you too…and Happy Reading the whole year through!

  17. Helen says:

    I read Pictures of Hollis Woods last year (meaning 2011) and really enjoyed it, which I hadn’t expected. Happy New Year!

  18. Silsbee says:

    Happy New Year, Vasilly!

    I’m parked in my cozy bed today, starting 2012 off with the quirky mystery, “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie”. (Why can’t every day be a lounge-y reading day?)

    That ‘only 30 library books’ resolution… I wouldn’t last a month!😀
    At any rate, I wish you all the luck and good things this year. See you around!

  19. softdrink says:

    Good luck with your goals and happy New Year!!

  20. Shonda says:

    Happy New Year! I know what you mean about library books! I love going to the library and most of my books from 2011 were library books. This year I really want to read from my shelves too. Limiting the number of library books I check out scares me LOL! I should though because it really conflicts with reading from my shelves! Best wishes for a great reading year in 2012!🙂

  21. Admirable goals, especially the giving away part! But gaaah! I have to re-buy a couple of books from giving them away last year! I need to be more sure of what I want before I do a goal like that! :–)

  22. I love the idea of giving away so many books from your shelves. I hope to give away quite a few from my shelves as well to my library or a charity or something.

    I’m glad Pictures Of Hollis Woods is good, I have that on my shelf.

  23. Megan says:

    I’d love to match your first resolution. I cleared a bunch of books off my shelves this year, but it hardly made a dent, so another 120 off my shelves this year would be great. With the help of the handy 50 page rule, I’ve already got 2 for the year ready to move onto greener pastures. Hopefully that will help set the pace and help me read more books from my shelves, too!

    Good luck with your resolutions!🙂

  24. I’m reading Matterhorn, by Karl Marlantes. It’s pretty darn good.

  25. I am not sure I could ever stop visiting the library! That would be very difficult!

  26. Carrie K. says:

    My only bookish resolutions are to do the TBR Double Dare and then limit myself to requesting/accepting only one review copy per month. Hopefully, I’ll be able to stick to it! Happy New Year, V.🙂

  27. Kathleen says:

    Sounds like you have made some great reading and bookish resolutions for 2012! Wishing you all the best in 2012!

  28. Kristen M. says:

    I was shocked to find I had only read seven books from the library last year. I still went and picked up books for my son but somehow controlled myself when it came to books for myself. I’m hoping to do that again this year and get through more of the unread books on my own shelves! Good luck with all of your resolutions. A paper list sounds comforting for some reason.🙂

  29. Trish says:

    Happy new year Natasha! Hope that the new year treats you well. I’m trying to stay off of my internet on my phone this year so I’ve deleted my twitter app. Miss it and will miss the connection, but too much time wasted. (and it really irritates my husband!).

    Best wishes.🙂

  30. Redhead says:

    those are some wonderful resolutions! You are brave to attempt to limit your library books. . . I library as much as I can, because I can’t afford to buy everything I want to read. Last year I nearly broke the bank buying stuff, so this year I should really try and actually read all thsoe books I bought! thank goodness for used bookstores, is all I gotta say.

  31. I love the idea to give more books away, never even thought of it like that! I’ll need to incorporate that into my process, I have too many on my shelves…! Happy New Year to you!

  32. nomadreader says:

    I think your resolutions are incredibly ambitious! I think ‘read from my shelves’ is one popular with many bloggers. My shelves are mostly virtual, as I’m predominantly an e-reader, but I’m hoping to read more of the books I want rather than getting saddled with obligations. Good luck!

  33. Care says:

    I wish for you a peaceful, love-filled, soul-fulfilling, life-enriching year.

  34. winstonsdad says:

    some great plans I ve not done any challenges but am, looking forward to a full year reading wise ,all the best stu

  35. Michelle says:

    Good luck with your book goals this year!! And more importantly, Happy New Year!

  36. Alex says:

    That is one very ambitious list! I wish you all the luck. From the perspective of a reader of your blog, I’m especially looking forward to seeing you step outside your reading comfort zone🙂

  37. That all sounds terrific; sounds like we’re motivated in similar ways but mine are more vague in some ways, so, for instance, I want to rely “less” on the library. I know that 30 books wouldn’t get me to the end of January, but I do want to work out a ratio of sorts, so that I can still track down copies of things that I don’t own, for particular themes and discussions, and not entirely overlook my own shelves either. If most of my reading this month and next is rooted in the library, I’m hoping that most of the next two months is pulled from my own shelves. Wishful reading? Maybe! I really hope you can find a way that isn’t too stressful to keep your own reading alongside your schoolwork; I’m sure that formulating your resolutions will help!

  38. stacybuckeye says:

    Great goals! 50% otside your comfort zone is a lot. I’ve decided to go back to my comfort zone this year!🙂

Comments are closed.