Sunday Salon: Getting Ready for the New Year

Good morning! As usual for a Sunday morning, I’m sitting in front of my computer with a cup of coffee. The heater is on and I’m waiting for the room to heat up as I type.

This week has gone by in a blur. I had a huge to-do list for the week but as I look back, I didn’t get much done! I did organize my bookshelves in preparation of next year’s reading challenges. (Who does that?) It surprised me to see that I own such a huge unread stack which I usually ignore to read books from the library.  My unread tbr stack is one of the reasons why I signed up for The TBR Double Dare. This year I participated and failed miserably, but next year I’m hoping to read at least 50 books from my shelves. I want my home library to consist mostly of books that I’ve read and love instead of books that are unread.

My fiction bookcase. It’s double stacked with books.

The books at the top are library books. Click to enlarge.

Another 2012 reading challenge that I’m pretty excited about is the Chunskter Reading Challenge. I’m co-hosting it with Wendy and so far I’m having so much fun brainstorming ideas with her. The challenge starts in January this time around. The rules are mostly the same though there is a book club we’re starting for those who want to join a book club without leaving home and only want to read one or two really thick books next year.

Another thing that I worked on this week is my “favorites of 2011” list. I won’t call it “the best” because I often read books that were published years ago along with new reads. So far I’ve found at least 30 books to add to my list. I don’t know if I’m going to narrow that list down or just include everything. I do know that for the rest of the year, I’m only featuring books that I really love since I’m behind in reviews.

Last but not least, I’ve been thinking about what book I want to start 2012 off with. Sheila over at Book Journey wrote a post about her first book of 2012. I’ve been going through my stacks to see which book I want to curl up with at January 1st, one minute after midnight. Maybe my first book of the year will be a re-read like Toni Morrison’s Beloved or maybe something new like Among Others by Jo Walton or Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff. Kelly Link’s short story collection, Magic for Beginners and the chunkster The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson makes me want to ignore my towering library stack to read both now. I have no idea what to start my new year off with but I’m glad that I have some amazing choices waiting for me.

So that’s it. I’m off to start another pot of coffee and continue reading Joshua Foer’s Moonwalking with Einstein. What are you reading? Have you figured out what reading challenges you’re participating in next year? What book are you going to start the new year off with?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday Salon: Getting Ready for the New Year

  1. I’ve signed up for a few challenges so far and spent this morning looking at more and getting into trouble by wanting to sign up for even more! I’m eyeing the chunkster challenge too since there are a few BIG books I want to read this year. And I think I’m starting the New Year off with Scorpio Races – it looks pretty interesting – like a book I can curl up all day with.

  2. Iris says:

    I still have no clue about reading challenges, hopefully I’ll figure it out before the first of January.

    I recently reorganised my bookshelves, I now have favourite and beautiful books separate from others. The general fiction though now gets double stacked with unread books in the front row. It is sad to lose a view of books you enjoyed a lot and have already read, but it does make it easier to go through unread books & decide what to read next.

  3. Wendy says:

    I like the idea of starting off the year with a special book – I’ll have to think about what that might be!!! Have a great week, Vasilly!

  4. BermudaOnion says:

    I need to rearrange and cull my bookshelves but I just don’t have the energy right now. I’m not sure what I’ll start out 2012 with.

  5. Christina says:

    I like the idea of starting off the new year with a good book but I imagine the only way I could assure myself of that would be to reread a book.

    I usually forsake my shelves for library books as well. I haven’t decided on which challenges I will be joining for next year yet.

  6. zibilee says:

    I still haven’t committed to any challenges, though some sound so good, and like things I would be able to complete with no problem. I think I am a commitmentphobe! I also like the idea of starting off the year with a great read, and am going to have to consider what I want to begin with. This year I truly hope to read more classics, but aside from that, I am open!

  7. So far, I’ve joined four reading challenges. I’m trying to keep the list small this year! lol

    Each year (in the past two), one of my challenges has been about my TBR books. I’m gradually whittling them down.

    I have my favorites list ready (except for December). Every month, I’ve chosen a favorite, so all I have to do is add my December favorite.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. JoAnn says:

    Not sure what my first book of the new year will be, but I’m reading Howards End is on the Landing by Susan Hill now. It’s getting me in the mood for the TBR Double Dare!

  9. heidenkind says:

    I haven’t signed up for any challenges, either. For some reason it feels like 2012 is too far away for me to plan that much (?). I’m in denial, clearly.

    I’ve never organized my shelves by reading challenge! Usually they’re organized by “will this fit?”

  10. No reading challenges yet, but there are a couple I’ll probably rejoin…or have a do-over on.

    As for the first book of the year, I don’t know yet. I haven’t even decided on the last book of the year, although for all I know I might be reading that one right now.🙂

  11. softdrink says:

    I haven’t thought about my first book of 2012 yet. There’s so many possibilities staring at me from the shelves!

  12. bookmagic says:

    I didn’t want to click to enlarge photo because I was afraid some books might topple over🙂
    I need to organize my shelves a little bit. I always swear I’m going to read more from my own shelf but it never works out that way. But I love even my unread books

  13. Care says:

    I did pull books that would fit for the What’s in a Name Challenge and put them all together, and all my Jon Cusack books have their own space aa do my collection of Tracy Kidders. So, I ‘sort of’ sort my shelves by challenge,🙂
    I want to start 2012 with Mrs.PettigrewLivesForADay and then dive head first into 1Q84.

  14. Jeremy says:

    I haven’t signed up for any challenges for 2012. I haven’t ever participated in one, and next year, I’m not sure if I’ll have time to participate in any.

    Right now I’m reading Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged. I’m hoping to complete it by the end of the month. My first book of 2012 very well may be Patrick O’Brian’s HMS Surprise, but I’m not 100% decided upon that yet. Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier today!

  15. Gavin says:

    I’m making a list of the books in my TBR stack for the Double Dare. I think I have to start with The Night Watch for Orange January followed closely by The Savage Detectives for a read-along I’ve decided to join. Among Others and Pictures of Hollis Woods are both fantastic. Have a great week and a wonderful holiday!

  16. I am just starting Catherine the Great so I HOPE to have it done by the end of the year so I can start another, and I suspect after the heaviness of Catherine I’ll want a nice quick YA book! :–)

  17. Megan says:

    If I knew what was good for me, I’d tackle the TBR Dare, too. Alas, I don’t really. LOL! I’m hoping to at least be more balanced in my reading this year between the books that have been languishing on my TBR pile and the new, shiny things. 😉

  18. Trisha says:

    I haven’t read it, but I hear Among Others is absolutely fabulous!

  19. Carrie K. says:

    I haven’t given any thought to my first book of 2012 yet. Hmmm…….

  20. Marg says:

    I have no idea what my first read of 2012 will be! Still have to get through the last books of 2011 yet.

    I am not signing up for the Chunkster Challenge, but I might well participate in the book club!

  21. J.C. says:

    I tried not to do too many challenges myself, but when I saw you were helping out with the Chunksters, I just had to join. I have such good intentions, I hope I do well. And I hope you accomplish all your goals too. Here’s to a great year of reading in 2012!

  22. Bree says:

    You can definitely do 50 books from your bookshelves! Keep away from the library. Keep away from the library. Chant it like a cult. I stayed away from the library almost the entire year and was able to read/weed out all but a handful of my previous years worth of TBRs. Now I have only books from this year for next year. Now my goal for next year is to only acquire review books.
    Because like you, I also want my library to consist of books I’ve read and loved. I feel like when I had a small TBR pile I read more. Maybe not. Maybe it’s just my mind playing tricks.

    Good luck with your chunkster book club! I love the thought of a special book for the first read of 2012. Hmmm…must go look at the shelves.

  23. stacybuckeye says:

    I’m going to try and read from my shelves in 2012 too. I just started thinking about what to start with. I’m guessing it will be a book from one of the series that I read and love and can never seem to keep up with!

Comments are closed.