Tuesday Morning Book News

  • J.C. from BiblioBrat wrote a great review about Colson Whitehead’s Zone One. The book wasn’t on my tbr list at first but after reading J.C.’s review, I had to add it.
  • Yesterday MJ from Wandering in the Stacks wrote a post about Books Through Bars, a New York-based organization that’s dedicated to putting more books in the hands of prison inmates.
  • Ana from Things Mean a Lot is someone who’s added tons of books to my tbr list and shelves over the years. She recently wrote a guest post over at Book Smugglers about the things she’s looking forward to next year. If you haven’t already read the post, I should warn you to have a pen and paper ready. There’s a ton of things you’re going to want after reading Ana’s wish list. The Thorn and the Blossom by Theodora Goss looks amazing.
  • Judith at Lesswammes is hosting a Wishlist Challenge next year. This challenge may get me to read more books from my virtual tbr pile and wish list.
  • Another new challenge is the Tea and Books Reading Challenge hosted by Birgit at The Book Garden. The challenge: read bricks (books that are at least 700+ pages long). I own a few books that fit that description plus I plan on reading 1Q84 soon, so I think I’m joining. [Edit: Thanks to Fiona for the info!]

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Tuesday Morning Book News. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tuesday Morning Book News

  1. Fiona says:

    Nooooooooooo I’m not hosting the Tea & Books Challenge! Birgit from The Book Garden is, it is her wonderful idea.

    http://the-book-garden.blogspot.com/p/tea-books-reading-challenge.html?showComment=1322073380448

    But good luck with the challenge it’s a really good one.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks for letting me know, Fiona! I just changed the information. Good luck to you too with the challenge.

      • Fiona says:

        Phew, I hope I didn’t give the wrong impression on my blog I better go and check. Sometimes I do forget to mention important pieces of information.

  2. I read Zone One. Bleak, bleak, bleak! But definitely an interesting take on the whole zombie thing. I agree that The Thorn and the Blossom looks very intriguing. Apparently it will have an innovative format, but I don’t know what. That Nymeth is always causing TBR problems! :–)

    • Vasilly says:

      Jill, the interesting thing about The Thorn and the Blossom is that readers will be able to read the front to back or back to front, depending on which perspective chosen.

  3. Gavin says:

    Thanks for the links. Now I will add more books to my already massive TBR list. I read Zone One but it didn’t really grab me. Maybe the timing was wrong. I am about to start 1Q84.

  4. zibilee says:

    What an interesting list of stuff you’ve compiled here today! These are all links that I need to check out and explore. It’s such a great resource to have them all here together, in one place. Thanks!

  5. Ooo, Brain Pickings is a cool blog. I love the post you linked too. I really want to read Radioactive Marie and the missed connections book.

    I agree with you about the Kirkus list — I recognized very few books on the list. That seems so strange to me!

  6. Great links. I’m looking forward to reading the Zone One review as well as well as Ana’s anticipation for 2012.

  7. Kailana says:

    Lots of good stuff to check out there!

  8. Trisha says:

    I’ve been thinking of having an entire list of Ana-recommended books!🙂

  9. I love Brain Pickings! Their list of 2011 best illustrated books – drool worthy! I’m reading Zone One now – about 3/4 through. Writing – excellent; plot, not sure I’m getting it yet.

  10. Nymeth says:

    Thanks for the mention! And thank you also for pointing me towards the Kirkus non-fiction list. Lots of tempting stuff in there!

  11. Marg says:

    I always feel inadequate when I start reading all these best of lists and realise that despite the fact that I have read quite a lot of books during the year, I apparently managed to miss all the really good ones!

  12. Care says:

    Lists and Challenges! I wonder what time of year it is in book-blogging-land…

  13. Ooh I am off to read more posts!

  14. Pingback: Bookish links for Saturday, December 17, 2011 | BOOKS AND MOVIES

Comments are closed.