Thankfully Reading Weekend Update

Can you believe that I haven’t finished a book yet this weekend?  I started reading John Conolly’s The Book of Lost Things. I’m halfway through it but ended up listening to Every Day is a Friday by Joel Osteen. It immediately started lifting my mood and now I’m about halfway through that too. I also peeked into When the Emperor was Divine by Julie Otsuka. I read one paragraph and now I really want to read it especially since it’s due back today at the library.

Jenn asked what book are participants most thankful for this weekend. Hands down it’s Every Day is a Friday for me. I checked it out after hearing the author speak on the radio a few weeks ago. It was taking forever to get a print copy from the library so I decided to check it out on audio. I love the author’s southern accent and sense of humor.

Fingers crossed that I’ll be able to finish at least one book today before company arrives this afternoon.

How are you doing with Thankfully Reading? If you’re not participating in the event, what have you been up this weekend?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thankfully Reading Weekend Update

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Good luck with the read-a-thon. Will you be able to finish the book if it’s due back today? I hope so!

  2. I’ve actually finished one book. Yay, me! And now I’m on to the second and third ones….even with a cold.😦 The things we do for books *rolling eyes*😉.

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    As long as you’re having fun, the numbers don’t matter.

  4. Funny how the rhythm of reading is so unpredictable. When my TBR stack is truly out of control, with so many underway, still starting new reads and seemingly never finishing one, it’s overwhelming, but when I am in the mood to finish them all, I feel tremendously productive all at once! Have a great weekend and read-a-thon!

  5. bookmagic says:

    I haven’t finished one either. I’m easily distracted, especially by the internets🙂

  6. Silsbee says:

    Audiobooks can be so great, especially when you get a good reader.

    I had to work today (no fun, but I did check out three more books, heh). I managed to finish two more books yesterday. This has been a really productive and relaxing weekend. More read-a-longs, I say!😉

  7. neer says:

    I haven’t heard of these books but am intrigued by the title of The Book of Lost Things. Hope you are able to read them all.

  8. zibilee says:

    It sounds like there is just too much great stuff out there to tempt you! I am not participating in the reading event this weekend, but I wish I was! I have been busy shopping and cooking for friends. Maybe I will make today a reading day. Good luck!

  9. Kailana says:

    Good luck with your reading!

  10. Frances says:

    And I bet that you have finished at least one by now! Hope that The Book of Lost things paid off for you. Have been interested in that one but not interested enough to take the leap without a push from another trusted reader. And that would be you.🙂 Hope your holiday was a very happy one!

  11. Chris says:

    Have fun with your company! I was wondering if you’re still running the Graphic Novel Challenge next year? I haven’t found any other challenges relating to graphic novels and want to promote that type of book. I’d be happy to help keep the challenge going.

    Enjoy! Chris

  12. Kathleen says:

    I have the Connelly book on my shelf at home and still haven’t read it. My sister listens to Joel Osteen “religiously” (bad pun, I know) and I’ve been meaning to read one of his books. Who can’t use a little inspiration this time of year?

Comments are closed.