Tuesday Morning Book News

A few weeks ago I shared two best of 2011 lists. This week I have one more list to share along with a few great events and posts from around the web.

  • The New York Times released their list of Notable Books of 2011. The funny thing about this list is that I haven’t heard of many of the books on it! I did see about four books that I’ve already read or plan to read some day: The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka, 11/22/63 by Stephen King, Say Her Name by Francisco Goldman, and Harlem is Nowhere by Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts, and Life on Mars by Tracy K. Smith.
  • If you’re like me and not planning to go shopping this Thanksgiving weekend, why not sign up for the Thankfully Reading Weekend?
  • MotherReader released her annual Ways to Give a Book post. I love reading the things she comes up with for this gift-giving season.
  • Kristi over at The Plugged-In Librarian has written a great post about Penguin USA’s decision to pull all their e-books from OverDrive. The good thing about this is that it’s only the Kindle versions. What kills me though is that libraries that paid a license for these books didn’t have proper warning. It’s a reminder that once you buy a book in print, it’s yours.
  • Last but not least, Marce from Tea with Marce is hosting a read-along on December 9th of Lionel Shriver’s We Need To Talk about Kevin. I’ve read nothing but great things about this book, so I think I’m going to join.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Tuesday Morning Book News. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tuesday Morning Book News

  1. Kai says:

    Glad your doing the Thankfully reading challenge🙂

  2. Nymeth says:

    Thanks for the mention, Vasilly!

  3. I will be doing the Thankfully Reading Weekend. I will try to drop by!

  4. softdrink says:

    I was coveting that teapot and those mugs myself!

  5. Trisha says:

    Great collection of links!

  6. Leeswammes says:

    I’m already making plans for the Thankfully Reading Weekend. Will it be these books, or those? I’m still thinking…🙂

  7. zibilee says:

    Oh, I do hope that you join along for the Kevin readalong! It’s such a great book, but be warned, it will really disturb you! Thanks for sharing all these bookish things with us today!

  8. Count me among the bunch NOT planning to be out doing the crazy Black Friday thing. I might take advantage of some deals online, but that will be the extent of it.

    Enjoy your holiday and weekend!

  9. Edi says:

    I read Buddha in the Attic on the train to Chicago and truly enjoyed it. It’s one that lingers with you especially as a teacher because there’s so much you can do with it.

  10. stacybuckeye says:

    Great links! Love the gift ideas for every age.

  11. Kathleen says:

    I can’t wait to get my hands on that NY Times list. I’m afraid my wish list is going to burst at the seams after I read through the list!

Comments are closed.