Sunday Salon

Good morning! I’ve been up for hours since the kids still haven’t adjusted to Daylight Savings Time. Hopefully they’ll adjust soon.  While I wait for that to happen, I’m making sure that I have enough coffee to help me get through this rough time!

This week I read three really good books: Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick, The Influencing Machine by Brooke Gladstone, and Push Has Come to Shove: Getting Our Kids the Education They Deserve by Dr. Steve Perry. I’m re-reading the first two this weekend before I write a review on them. The last two are definitely on my best of 2011 lists.

Nominations are still being accepted for the Indie Lit Awards. If you haven’t already nominated your favorite reads that were published this year, please do so.  There’s a variety of genres that you can nominate books for. Unlike last year when you could only nominate one book per genre, this year you can nominate up to five books per genre.

I’m off to read and make another pot of coffee.  What are your plans for today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Glad you found three good books last week. I haven’t heard of them but I’ll look out for them. Will have to think about the books I’d nominate for the award. Happy reading!

  2. zibilee says:

    For some reason, I have been getting up earlier and earlier, even on weekends, when I could sleep in! I am not sure I like this! I have just gotten home from church and had lunch, and I am about to sit down to write a few posts. I am hoping to read a little today too! I hope you have a great Sunday!

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    We’re working on getting our dog adjusted to DST, so I feel your pain.

  4. I really want to read WONDERSTRUCK! Have a great Sunday.

  5. I want to read Wonderstruck too. I loved The Invention of Hugo Cabret and am looking forward to the movie.

    As for what I’m doing today, I’m keeping up with my fantasy football teams, probably no reading except maybe later today in between the late afternoon games and the night game. We’ll see…

  6. Frances says:

    I am really interested in the Perry book, and will look for your thoughts. Parents as strong advocates for their children a big rock for me. Hope the caffeine level was high enough today and that the early rising also yields an early bedtime.

  7. softdrink says:

    But weekends are the time to sleep in!!!! I know, adults aren’t supposed to be the ones who whine, but if I had kids waking up before me, that’s what they’d be hearing.

  8. Athira says:

    I like the Fall Back period, because I’m up earlier than usual. I struggle with the Spring Forward – why do they eat up that one hour mid-sleep? They should instead schedule the Spring Forward during work hours, lol! Hope you have a good week of reading!

  9. Gavin says:

    I’m waiting to get Wonderstruck from the library. There are many, many people with holds before me. Have a great week and a lovely Thanksgiving.

  10. Alyce says:

    I loved Wonderstruck! My kids are much better at adjusting to the time change now that they’re older. When they were babies/toddlers I used to start adjusting their sleep times and meal times a few weeks before the time change so that we could ease into it. They’re pretty awesome now about letting me sleep in on the weekends.🙂

  11. Kailana says:

    I really want to read Wonderstruck. I might buy it in the New Year.

  12. Samantha says:

    Push Has Come to Shove sounds like it must have been an interesting read…I’ll be watching for your review of that one🙂 My kids slept in for the 1st time today in months and I’ll admit to being a bit confused by it when I woke up this morning. Ha! Hope you have a great week!

  13. Kathleen says:

    Hope you enjoyed your day. I am back from my business trip. And enjoying a lazy Sunday with some laundry thrown in!

  14. Hope you managed to get some rest today!

  15. Carrie K. says:

    The time adjustments get easier as they get older, I promise.🙂 I’m on the waiting list at the library for Wonderstruck – was it as good as Hugo Cabret?

  16. Care says:

    I eagerly await your thoughts on the Push Shove Education book. and I do think November darkness is the worst of the year. I do look forward to the holiday lights on houses…

Comments are closed.