Review: The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt

The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt: A Novel in Pictures

Caroline Preston

240 pages

Publication Date: October 25, 2011

Publisher: Ecco

Source: Publisher

 

When Candace over at Beth Fish Reads featured Caroline Preston’s The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt, I knew this was a book for me. I love journaling and art so reading a book that’s told in pictures though in a new format, sounded too good to pass up.

It’s 1920 and Frankie Pratt is an eighteen-year old girl who dreams of being a writer. After her high school graduation, she’s given her father’s typewriter and a scrapbook as a way to realize her dream. Frankie would love to attend Vassar but on her widowed mother’s salary as a home nurse, there’s just no way that will happen. Fortunately for Frankie, her situation changes and her new life begin.

The subtitle, A Novel in Pictures, is a perfect fit. Frankie’s story is told with ephemera from the 1920s. Though it fits my definition of a graphic novel (pictures + words), I wouldn’t describe the book in that manner. The author coined Frankie Pratt, a “scrapbook novel” and I think that’s the perfect term for this new format. Preston does such a fantastic job at matching pictures with Frankie’s life that I wondered what came first, Frankie’s story or the pictures. Not only that but while reading this, I didn’t feel like there was pieces missing to the story or that I had to fill in the blank spaces. Readers get enough of everything for this book to be a satisfying read.

Being that this is the 1920s, there’s mention of famous people and places of that time like Ernest Hemingway, Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, and the bookstore Shakespeare & Co. I thought it was all interesting and the story kept me rooting for Frankie all the way until the end.

After reading The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt, I was happy to find out that Preston is currently working on her next scrapbook novel.

Here’s an excerpt that I found on NPR about poet Edna St. Vincent Millay’s visit to Vassar while Frankie was a student there. Click on the pictures to enlarge.

  

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in fiction, reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Review: The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    Wasn’t this book wonderful? I just loved it!

  2. I love this kind of imagistic storytelling too: this must have been great fun!

  3. This looks so fun. I think if I read it I would probably feel inspired to start scrapbooking! :–)

  4. This one looks just so great. I love the idea of a story told in new ways. I can’t wait to read it.

  5. Kailana says:

    I really want to read this at some point. It looks really good!

  6. zibilee says:

    Sandy and Kathy just loved this book, and now I want to get the chance to read it as well. It sounds like such a unique premise, and one that is really well executed. I must check this one out soon! Fantastic review!

  7. I have many books on my wish list, but this one is definitely on the very tip top of the list. I want to read it badly!!

  8. Heather says:

    That does it. I have to get my hands on this book. It just sounds wonderful and my goodness, I love that cover.

  9. softdrink says:

    I want to read this! Or just wallow in the pictures.

  10. Pingback: Stuff I Love Saturday (6) | Capricious Reader

  11. Edi says:

    The more I see of this book, the better it looks. And, it definitely looks like a book read, not an ebook read!

    • Vasilly says:

      Edi, I can’t imagine someone trying to read this book on their e-reader! It’s really not that kind of book. The book I think about e-readers, the more I realize some books aren’t meant to be read in that format.

  12. I loved this book too! I liked your review. If anyone else is looking for extra impetus to check the book out, you can see what I thought on my page http://proseandconsbookclub.wordpress.com. Thanks!

  13. stacybuckeye says:

    I am so looking forward to getting my hands on this one.

  14. Amy says:

    I won this book recently and just received it in the mail. I am really looking forward to reading it since there’s a lot about it that interests me…the time period, Frankie making NYC her home, her wish to write. and the format is new and different for me. I haven’t read many graphic novels either, so the scrap-booking idea is fun.
    Reading your review got me even more excited. I might have to sit down with this book tonight or tomorrow and start reading!

  15. This looks so good. I love when stories are told in alternative formats!

  16. Pingback: Stuff I Love Saturday (8) | Capricious Reader

  17. Pingback: Review: Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral « 1330v

  18. Pingback: Review: Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral « 1330v

Comments are closed.