Sunday Salon: A month of NaNos and picture books

To me, November looks a lot like January. All over the web, people are gearing up to accomplish some big goals. Interested in writing a novel? There’s NaNoWriMo. Maybe you don’t want to write a novel but want to post more often on your blog. There’s National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo). There’s even PiBoldMo for those who wants to work on picture books.

This year I decided to join NaBloPoMo and write a blog post everyday. I might have mistakenly thought that writing a daily post was easier than trying to write a novel. After four years of blogging, I can’t believe I was so wrong. Blogging has always been an easy thing for me since I’ve never really worried about stats or how many advanced reading copies I receive from publishers. That attitude has helped me to keep pressure off of myself and enjoy blogging.

Now by pledging to post every day, I’ve added pressure to myself but in a good way. Instead of posting whenever, I have to come up with things beforehand. I’m less than a week in and I’m finding this pretty hard because it sometimes take me days just to write a review. Now I just put my kitchen timer on and write my initial thoughts, editing only after the timer goes off. This is becoming one more lesson on focus.

It’s raining in Southern California so I plan on snuggling up with a few good non-fiction reads like Margaret Atwood’s In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination, Steve Perry’s Push Has Come, and Martha Beck’s upcoming Finding Your Way in a Wild New World.

Are there any events that you’re participating in this month? What are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Salon: A month of NaNos and picture books

  1. Is that the Steve Perry of Journey fame?😉 No?

  2. Samantha says:

    I wish I could find the time to post more often. I don’t think that I could manage to post every day but just to find the time to consistently blog and comment would be a good thing. I like the idea of a timer and just getting your thoughts down. I may have to give that one a try🙂 Have a great week!!

  3. Trisha says:

    I just bought In Other Worlds and can’t wait to dig in once I get through some of my required reading!

  4. I’ve been experimenting with a timer this past week as well. (Here, if you’re curious. It’s very simple). Not so much when writing posts, but trying to keep things in something like a balance, and to see if how long I think I spend on things is actually how long I’m spending on them. Heh. (Not usually.) I hope your exercise in Focus is useful, and that your non-fiction reading pushes back the rainy doldrums. It’s sunny here in Toronto, and I am spending the day with Michael Ondaatje’s The Cat’s Table.

  5. zibilee says:

    All of these challenges sound so wonderful, and if I had more time, I would surely devote myself to one of them! I am just having a hard enough time with keeping up with the regular stuff though, and so I can’t do any of them right now😦 I wish you luck with yours though! I am reading Motor City Shakedown this afternoon, and planning my posting schedule for this week. I hope you have a lovely Sunday!

  6. Oh neat! I have a lot of friends who do Nano but I never have the guts to do it. Good luck with your goals!

  7. Michelle says:

    I will be curious to see what you think of blogging after writing posts every day for a month. Having posts written and scheduled in advance does remove some of the pressure of posting every day. Good luck completing this goal!

  8. Carrie K. says:

    Ooo – I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Atwood!

  9. Aths says:

    NaBloPoMo is a great idea! I used to blog every day at one point, but don’t do that anymore. I would love to try it at some point, maybe do my own unofficial NaBloPoMo. Good luck to you!

Comments are closed.