The line of dialogue belongs to the character; the verb is the writing sticking his nose in. But “said” is far less intrusive than “grumbled,” “gasped,” “cautioned,” “lied.” I once noticed Mary McCarthy ending a line of dialogue with “she asseverated,” and had to stop reading and go to the dictionary.

From Elmore Leonard’s 10 Rules of Writing.



About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in quote. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dialogue

  1. zibilee says:

    I sometimes like it when words other than “said” are used, but I may be in the minority here! Thanks for sharing this with us!

    • Vasilly says:

      H, when I first read this passage, I had to laugh! Leonard is so cocky. I hate it when said is used over and over again. It’s so annoying.

  2. I love the idea that the verb is the writer sticking his (or her) nose in! I also like words other than said, although I think I’d draw the line at asseverated.

Comments are closed.