Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon and what’s ahead

Good morning! It is early here and already the kids are up and on their third bag of popcorn. It’s a good thing that I didn’t last long during yesterday’s read-a-thon because I would be really grouchy right now about all of this noise.

I don’t know about everyone else but the read-a-thon was a hit for me. I finished three books: Craig Thompson’s Habibi, Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, and Love as Strong as Ginger by Lenore Look.  All three were really lovely reads. I also started two books yesterday: Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice and The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan. I’m pretty sure that I’m going to finish one of them today.

Looking ahead

Yesterday while I was on Goodreads, I realized that I’m 64 books away from hitting my goal of reading 312 books this year. I picked the number 312 because I’ve already surpassed my initial goal of reading 240 books this year. Luckily for me, there’s still a week left in October. I don’t want to give up my goal just yet. I know many bloggers understand the need to have a number goal for yearly reading, but I know there are others who don’t.

Last year I read less than 200 books, which is an all-time low, because I was too busy doing other things like being on Facebook or Twitter. I spent so much time online that I ignored my passion: reading.  Having a set number of books that I want to read tells me over and over again to turn off my computer and get to reading. This year I’ve sacrificed watching TV. I still watch movies every now and then but I probably watch no more than an hour a week. I’ve even sacrificed blogging by being absent most of this past summer to read instead.

It’s not an issue of quantity versus quality but an issue of focus. There’s only so many hours in a day and I need to focus on what’s most important to me. As I get older, I’m finding myself reading more for enrichment and competition than for pleasure or entertainment. I have this feeling that I’m behind and the only way for me to catch up is to read more and more widely in various genres. It’s probably because the goals I set when I was younger are still goals that I have yet to accomplish but I want to. I’m finding that feeling to be a great companion because it pushes me to do more.

Have you set any reading goals for this year? Why do you read? Is it for competition, entertainment, pleasure?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon and what’s ahead

  1. Louise says:

    Oh I wish I could find the time to read and blog some more. I actually do not watch that much TV (never did), and I should have plenty of time. But for more than a year I haven’t been able to get into the swing of neither reading nor blogging. A shame because I miss it much. Would have loved to participate in the readathon, but had too many things on my plate yesterday and today, but it would have been a good way to get into it all again, I think.

    Great post and a wonderful Sunday to you.

  2. Heather says:

    I set a goal of 52 books this year. Last year I read about 90 books, but then realized that I hadn’t really taken any time to reflect on what I’d read. That’s when I started my book blog and decided to slow down a bit. I am going to surpass my goal this year, though. At this point in my life, I am reading in order to learn, but also for pleasure. I have been reading much more nonfiction than I have in prior years.

    Thank you for all of the comments and support during the readathon!

  3. Aarti says:

    I set a goal of 60 books for this year, and I think I should be on track for that or maybe 65. 312 is really impressive! Last year for the first time I read more than 100 books, and I think much of that was because I did a good amount of graphic novels and shorter novella type reads. I am still doing some of those this year and trying to switch up a bit, which has been nice. There just isn’t enough time! I feel pretty much on the outskirts of the blogging community because of the slower pace, though, which is kind of upsetting, but I am like you- I prefer the reading to the Tweeting🙂

  4. Wow, 312. How funny when you said less than 200 meant you weren’t giving enough time to reading! I’m lucky to reach 100! I get distracted too easily!

  5. Athira says:

    I’m behind too on my reading. I don’t know where all the reading hours go. Good luck on your goal.

  6. Christina says:

    312 is a quite a big goal! I’m sure you can do it, Vasilly, especially since you’ve given up television. That’s my biggest weakness. I set a goal of 150 books, which is slightly lower than last year. I went with a smaller number just because I knew this semester would be harder than in the past. I’m reading much slower than I did in the past. I’m at 134 (plus 6 books that I abandoned) so I’m pretty sure I’ll meet my goal. Provided that television doesn’t continue to distract me.

  7. Trisha says:

    I always laugh that every now and then I’m online blogging and visiting and facebooking and tweeting and so on when I should be reading. I love the social aspect but sometimes it does cut into the time I should be grabbing a book.

  8. Kailana says:

    I didn’t set any goals this year. I wish I had read more, but oh, well!

  9. zibilee says:

    I did pretty well with the Readathon as well, getting one novel, one graphic novel, and one audiobook finished. I am so glad to hear it was a success for you too! I haven’t really formailzed any plans for reading this year, only that I have wanted to read more classics, a project that has sadly fallen by the wayside😦 I am tremendously impressed with your goals though, and your progress as well. I hope that you do make it to where you want to be!

  10. I thought the readathon was a hit too🙂 I didn’t really set many reading goals this year, other than to try to balance review/personal/library books… I haven’t been very successful at that, I don’t think. I am hoping to hit 100 books for the year, which I think I should be able to accomplish.

  11. Teresa says:

    I’ve read just over 100 books this year so far, and I’m pretty content with the amount that I’ve read. I wouldn’t particularly want to spend much more time reading than I have, and I can’t imagine reading fewer books unless I happen to have a year reading lots of longer books.

    I know what you mean about balance and focus though. I think about that a lot in terms of what books I choose to read. The balance of old and new, light and dense. What do I want to expend my mental energy on?

  12. Susan says:

    Thanks for visiting! Sounds like you got a lot of reading in. Seems like every year I read less books, although I don’t count the magazines or manuscripts. I think that is part of the reason I like readathons…I could try less tv:)

  13. heidenkind says:

    Whoa, that’s a lot of books! I set a goal of 100 books but I passed it in August, so I made it 150. Honestly I’ve never kept track of how many books I read, so I didn’t know where to start, but I’m feeling quite proud of myself for making it that far.

    You are definitely right that there are only so many hours in a day. I like to space it out by spending more time one day reading, more time writing the next day, etc. Right now I think my major problem is reading with too many distractions around me.

  14. BermudaOnion says:

    Wow, you’ve had a great year of reading so far! Good luck in meeting your goal.

  15. I read three books too! I always have a reading goal and it is usually 100 books per yer. I missed it by two books last year and I have 20 books to go this year to make it, so it probably won’t happen!

  16. Over 300 books? I’d like to make it over 200 someday….

  17. Kathleen says:

    Wow, that is a lot of book! I’ve been bad about setting goals when it comes to my reading. I should probably set some goals one of these days…

  18. I applaud you on giving up TV to read. I wish I could do that, but alas, I’m caught in the middle of too many series on Netflix…I don’t have a goal for this year. I’m just reading what I’m reading, plugging away at it little by little🙂.

    “I have this feeling that I’m behind and the only way for me to catch up is to read more and more widely in various genres.”

    I know I’m behind, but I’ve learned while not so much not to care, not to worry about it. With millions of books in the world, we’re never going to get to all of the books we want to get. Ever. As for competition, I’m not competing anyone…not even myself from previous years.

  19. olduvai says:

    64 away from 312! Woah!
    I made it to 203 last year but will be glad to do anything over 150 this year.
    Good luck!

  20. Memory says:

    I always try to read more than I read the year before, in terms of both total books read and the number of pages I get through. I’m almost there this year; only eight more books and 10,000 more pages before I surpass both last year’s totals!

    I’ve also tried to read fewer American books this year. That’s gone well so far. As of last month, I’d read 66% non-American titles in 2011.

  21. Anastasia says:

    I have a reading goal of 238 books (as that’s what I read last year) but I have no idea if I’ll actually make it or not. Right now I’m at 129 books read, and to make my goal I think I’d have to read about two books a day. I could do it if I read more graphic novels, I think, and if I make sure to spend at least a few hours reading each day.

    I’d like to get back to reading 250 books a year (like I did in 2009), but I do get distracted by the internet a lot. I need to focus more, like you!

  22. stacybuckeye says:

    I am obssessed with finishing a challenge once I make the committment. It’s been hard to reconcile that with having a 1 year old!

  23. I had set my goal lower as well — and increased it in September — because I had thought the shape of my days was going to be different this autumn/winter. If I’m not paying attention, I feel as though I waste huge chunks of time (and I don’t mean ‘waste’ in terms of what exactly I’m doing…it can be any number of things…and it varies, depending on my current obsession), and, like you, this kind of thing helps me keep a focus, keep books — in one way or another — near the top of the list of things in which I invest time.

  24. Pingback: Sunday Salon: A month of NaNos and picture books « 1330v

  25. Bree says:

    I’m finally getting around to commenting.🙂 My question to you: given our email exchange, are you posting ahead or pirating internet? hehe You are doing so well on posting every day! Anyways, back to this post. I feel the same way about getting away from my true passion which is reading. Surfing, blogging, tv, life get in the way of accomplishing the pleasure of reading. I’m glad you are focusing on your passion and I hope you make your goal. There is no way I’m going to reach my 100 goal this year. This past month I have not felt like reading. I’m hopeful that I will at least accomplish my first and foremost goal of getting through my previous years TBR stack. Fingers crossed.

Comments are closed.