Sunday Salon: October Reading

Thanks for all the well-wishes yesterday! I really appreciated it. The bug that I had went away as fast as it came so now I’m back to normal.

I don’t know what happened but September was a horrible month for reading! I looked at my Goodreads account last night and saw that while I read 30 books last month, the majority of them were children’s books. I’m trying to make a sizable dent in my tbr pile so reading children’s books from the library isn’t helping.

My favorite books from September are:

  • Holes by Louis Sachar
  • Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • What the World Eats by Peter Menzel and Faith D’Aluisio
  • Max’s Words by Kate Banks
  • The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan
  • Looking for Alaska by John Green
  • A People’s History of an American Empire by Howard Zinn
  • The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
  • Satchel: The Life and Times of an American Legend by Larry Tye

Earlier this year after looking at my sagging over-stocked shelves filled with unread books, I decided to do two things: give away more than 100 books and read 312 books by December 31st.  . So far I’m doing pretty well. I’ve given away eighty books to my local thrift store and public library and read 235 books.

I’m determined to make October the month to kick my reading in gear and finish giving away the last twenty books. I started on The Night Circus last week, read a page, and haven’t picked it up since. It expires in a few days so it’s one of the many books that I’m looking forward to reading this week.

What about you? What are your plans for October? Are there any books you’re looking forward to reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Salon: October Reading

  1. I had a pretty horrible reading month in September slow. I just couldn’t get into anything and then read really slowly. I’m hoping October is better!

  2. zibilee says:

    I had an average reading month, but read quite a few long books, so it felt as if I got less accomplished. I did really enjoy The Night Circus, and hope that you do too! And I admire your plans for reading this year. You are a lot more ambitious than I am!

  3. Trisha says:

    I really enjoyed Holes – both the book and the movie! I’ve been having crappy reading months for awhile now, so I’m almost getting used to them.🙂

  4. vivienne says:

    I think I am about to hit a reading slump. I am struggling to get through a book. I am impressed by the amount you have read. I love the new look too.

  5. Christina says:

    September was bad for me too. Good for you for giving away so many books!

  6. Frances says:

    September is always a slow reading month for me with the start of a new school year, but I always emerge anew in October so I have high hopes right now. Those are some very big goals you have set for yourself, but of course, it looks like they are easily within your reach. Good luck!

  7. Carrie K. says:

    Wasn’t Looking for Alaska fantastic! I love John Green.🙂 And I read Holes to my kids last year – it’s a favorite for all of us. Have a great Sunday – glad you’re feeling better!

  8. Michelle says:

    I’ve only seen the movie, HOLES, but I’ve always wanted to read the book. LOOKING FOR ALASKA is an amazing book though, as was THE LAST WEREWOLF. I’ll be curious to see what you think about both of them.

  9. Gavin says:

    September was okay but I gave up on two books I just couldn’t get into. I am hoping to finish War and Peace in October. I picked up The Buddha in the Attic from the library and will read that plus two or three more books for R.I.P. Have a great week, Vasilly.

  10. Erin says:

    Ooh! Holes is fun. I read that with a group of students a few jobs back when I worked in a school. The kids loved it, too. And Looking for Alaska is on my list! Good for you for letting so many books go. I really need to focus on my own shelves, because I hate getting rid of books I haven’t at least tried to read.

    In October, I’m looking forward to Goliath, A Monster Calls, and River of Smoke all coming in for me at the library. If they do, it’ll be a great month! I’m also hoping to wrap up some review commitments and get that pile back to a manageable size.

  11. I read Holes for a children’s lit class a few years ago and thought it was great! Have a great October!

  12. Care says:

    I kickd butt in September, reading 8 books!!! So happy with myself. I just started An abundance of Katherines by John Green. Not sure if Oct will be as productive – I will have non-reader family visiting and that will be a challenge. I won’t be able to read much or I will be criticizwd for being rude.

  13. wow, looks like you did a lot though. Here is my September wrap up: http://wordsandpeace.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/september-2011-wrap-up/
    Emma @ Words And Peace

  14. I loved Buddha in the Attic as well. Wonderful book!!!

  15. kay says:

    I can’t believe I still haven’t read Holes, but I really need to.
    I hope your October will be more to your liking and that you’ll get all these books read! Are you planning on participating to the Readothon?

Comments are closed.