Sunday Salon: It’s been so long. . .

Good morning! It’s been so long since I’ve last wrote a Sunday Salon post that it was pretty hard to figure out what to write about. I thought about writing about all the things I’ve done since I’ve been away from the blogisphere or talk about all the books I’ve read. I’ll probably save it for a future post.  I’ve been writing reviews while away but I’m  still a little out of shape.  There’s also so much to catch up on including signing up for Carl’s R.I.P. challenge, seeing if Frances completed her novella reading challenge, and finding out what everyone has been up to.

Have you started nominating books for the Indie Lit Awards yet? I recently read Julie Otsuka’s beautiful second novel TheBuddha in the Attic and I’m definitely nominating it. It’s easily one of the best books that I’ve read this year. It’s the story of “picture brides” from Japan coming to America and making a life in the early 1900s.  It’s less than 150 pages but packs so much information. I’m hoping to have my review of it up this week.

I’ve been back online for about 24 hours now and I’ve noticed a certain book that’s receiving a lot of love from bloggers: Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus. After seeing so many posts about it, I checked out the e-book from my library and started it last night.  I love the first few paragraphs. We’ll see how it goes.

I would love to know what are some of the best books that you’ve read in the past month or so that I’ve been away. What book(s) do you think I should run out and get now?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Salon: It’s been so long. . .

  1. JoAnn says:

    Welcome back!! Glad to hear you liked The Buddha in the Attic – I enjoyed When the Emperor Was Divine, but haven’t heard much about Otsuka’s new book. The Night Circus does seem to be everywhere at the moment…

  2. Eva says:

    Welcome back: I missed you!🙂 Have you read Otsuka’s first book, and if so did you like it? I wasn’t a big fan, so I’m curious to know if I’d get along better w her new book, esp since you have such high praise for it!

    I’ve been on a reading roll, and I’ve read a ton of great books this month. One that made me think of you was Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon: it’s a YA fantasy novel set in a China-like world. I didn’t *love* it (it had some plot pacing issues & I prefer ‘fancier’ language, LOL), but I definitely enjoyed it, esp the world building. Have you read it? There’s a sequel that I’ll probably pick up one of these days.

  3. zibilee says:

    So glad to see you back! I loved The Night Circus and think that you will really end up enjoying it a lot. I also really liked Q: A Novel by Evan Mandery. I am not sure what other books I would recommend to you, as I haven’t read a lot that has blown my socks off, but if I can remember anything else, I will hop back over and leave another comment!

  4. Welcome back!! I just downloaded Nit Circus and its very good so far!

  5. Athira says:

    Welcome back, girl! I’m so glad to see you here. The Night Circus is receiving a lot of buzz, though my copy is still languishing on the shelf. (blame it on the hype!) Take your own time settling in!

  6. Gavin says:

    Glad top see you back, Vassily. I love the new look. I think The Buddha in the Attic is a great choice for the Indie Awards, based on the selection I read in Granta. I have it waiting for me at the library! Have a wonderful week.

  7. Gavin says:

    Glad to see you back, Vassily. I love the new look. I think The Buddha in the Attic is a great choice for the Indie Awards, based on the selection I read in Granta. I have it waiting for me at the library! Have a wonderful week.

  8. BermudaOnion says:

    Welcome back! I think you need to get Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman – it was great and lived up to its hype for me.

  9. Michelle says:

    Welcome back!!! My choices? THE LANTERN by Deborah Lawrenson and DOMESTIC VIOLETS by Matthew Norman. Two very different books but amazing in their own right.

  10. bookmagic says:

    Welcome back though honestly I didn’t know you were gone🙂 I’ve been on a blogging and reading drought and i don’t read blogs when this happens. I think you will love The Night Circus, it was so awesome and original. Another great book I recently finished was A Good Hard Look by Ann Napolitano but I’m not sure if you’ve read that one already. I concur with the recs for Domestic Violets, enjoyable also

  11. Anastasia says:

    Yay, hello again!😀 I love your new layout, btw.

  12. Kailana says:

    Glad to see you back and blogging!

  13. The Buddha in The Attic looks and sounds really good!

  14. I hope you enjoy The Night Circus as much as I did! The Buddha in the Attic sounds amazing. I’m particularly interested in the topic, so I’ll have to give it a go.

  15. Everything Beautiful Began After, by Simon Van Booy ir any other book by him. Here is my review: http://wordsandpeace.wordpress.com/2011/08/12/review-62-everything-beautiful-began-after/
    Emma @ Words And Peace

  16. Nymeth says:

    Oooh – I loved Otsuka’s first novel and didn’t know she had a new one! Thanks so much for bringing it to my attention. Also, it’s so good to see you posting, Vasilly.

  17. Care says:

    LOVE that you instantly can see a book – get a book – and start reading. GOOD for you. These seem so rare anymore but I love it when it happens to me and now I can be happy for you.

  18. Samantha says:

    You’ve just come back and you’re already adding to my TBR list. The Buddha in the Attic sounds really interesting and I can’t resist checking it out. Thanks for sharing about it and I’m happy to see that you are back!

Comments are closed.