Banned Books Week: September 24-October 1, 2011

Today is the start of Banned Books Week here in the United States. All across the country libraries, booksellers, and readers will celebrate intellectual freedom in various ways from virtual read-outs to blog posts that bring awareness to the problem of censorship. I plan on celebrating by reading a banned book such as The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck or maybe Alice Walker’s The Color Purple.

Over the years I’ve reviewed a few banned books:

Other banned books that I’ve enjoyed include:

  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Beloved by Toni Morrison

The American Library Association has a great list of classics that have been banned or challenged and also frequently challenged books by the decade.

How will you celebrate Banned Books Week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Banned Books, Banned Books Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Banned Books Week: September 24-October 1, 2011

  1. I haven’t decided what I’ll read yet. I’ve read so many of these and they are definitely many of my favorites. Slaughterhouse Five is one of my all time best best then again so is For Whom tHe Bell Tolls. I’ll have to see what I feel like!

  2. Belle Wong says:

    It sounds like a great time for me to do a reread of the Harry Potter series! Or maybe, Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret. And I just got the first of Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy in audio. Great time for some really good rereads!

  3. zibilee says:

    I am a big believer that books should not be banned, no matter what, and am going to try to kick this week off by reading my own banned book. Glad to see you here today! I have been wondering how you have been doing!

  4. Erin says:

    I LOVE Banned Books Week but it always sneaks up on me so that I don’t have time to work in a banned book. When I realized I’d forgotten again this year, I put it on my calendar for next fall! I’m always surprised when I look at the list how many familiar and even beloved books are on there. I’m glad there’s so much going on — I love seeing what everyone is planning/doing/reading for BBW.

  5. Jill says:

    This week kind of popped up on me, not that I didn’t know it was coming, but I think I will enjoy reading other bloggers posts for the week and reflect on the books I’ve already read from the list.

  6. celawerd says:

    The Library at my University has a display out with a lot of banned books. I need to go check it out.

Comments are closed.