Sunday Salon:

Good morning! This past week has been full of frustrations. I had migraines almost every day that left me exhausted and nauseous. They were so bad that I couldn’t go to school at all. In a normal semester, I wouldn’t worry so much but it’s a summer session and every day counts. On top of that my 6-year old woke up screaming with a migraine on Friday and I had to rush him to the doctor. I was about that age when I started getting headaches and migraines so I hope it’s not the start for him. Usually when life is hectic, I’m able to curl up with a book but my migraines refused to let me do so.

Even though migraines drastically changed my week, I’m thankful for most of the unexpected changes like using my art journal. I’ve been writing in a journal since I was about eleven years old. My journal started out as a diary that evolved into an art journal/commonplace book.  I used my journal to store  favorite quotes and recipes, to dream, to write my goals, to vent, draw, paint, think over my day and every thing else I can think to use it for. I know a few book bloggers who use have art journals too. Being unable to read for most of the week, I was forced to think of other ways to use my time so I started drawing and looking through a few of my favorite books about journaling for inspiration.

100 Artist Journal Pages by Dawn DeVries Sokol is a collection of journal pages from artists all over the world. No matter what your style is, whether or not you can draw, anyone who who goes through the pages of this book can find something to be inspired by.

Artist’s Journal Workshop: Creating your Life in Words and Pictures by Cathy Johnson is a great book for beginners. It’s full of prompts, journal exercises and examples to get artists going.

For those who think they can’t draw but would like to keep some kind of journal, Alexandra Johnson’s Leaving a Trace is the perfect book. It includes quotes from Audre Lorde, Virginia Woolf, May Sarton, Katherine Mansfield, and others who kept journals. The book talks about the different types of journals: diaries, commonplace books, travel, art, and gratitude journals and finding one to work for you.

My migraine is gone for now, so I’m hoping to spend the rest of the day catching up on blog commenting, homework, reading, and a little painting.

What are you thankful for this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday Salon:

  1. zibilee says:

    I always think that I would love to have a diary or journal, but I am so lackadaisical about actually writing in it, that it never works out for me. I have so many beautiful bound books that I could journal in, I just never seem to get off my butt and do it. Kudos to you for sticking to it!

  2. winstonsdad says:

    great selection of books I m not a journal person but have tried and failed maybe a book about it would inspire me ,all the best stu

  3. Anastasia says:

    Oh no, I’m so sorry about your migraines.😦 I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    I actually just recently started a more-focused-on-writing journal that I’ve been trying to write in every day or so. I HAVE been trying to pretty up the pages with a bit of art, though, so I guess it’s sort of a hybrid? I don’t know.

  4. Lu says:

    Oh, no! I hope you feel better soon… and I hope your six year old doesn’t get the same kind of migraines😦 Migraines are so hard, I know. Your art journal sounds lovely.

  5. Kathleen says:

    I’m so sorry to hear how you have been suffering from migraines. They are the worst and the last thing you want to do when you have one is read! I’m glad you are feeling better and hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend and that this week at school will be much better for you.

  6. BermudaOnion says:

    I’m so sorry you and your son suffered with migraines. That had to be painful and frustrating. I hope next week is much better.

  7. Oh, man, migraines are the worst; I’m so sorry! I ADORE the art journal book. Fantastic!

  8. Kailana says:

    Glad to hear you are feeling better! Hope it continues!!

  9. Jenny says:

    You poor thing! Migraines are miserable. I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  10. Michelle says:

    I hope your migraines are gone for a long time! How scary that your son woke up with one. Poor kid.

    I love to journal. I always think that life is too busy for it but when I get back to doing it again, I feel so much better about life. There is something cathartic about taking that time for yourself, even if it is to just write your favorite quotes or doodle a picture.

    I hope you have a much better week this week!

  11. Aths says:

    I hope your migraine goes away soon. I know what you mean by migraines in summer. I can take one during a regular work-day, but I wouldn’t want one during vacation. Hope you have a good week!

  12. iliana says:

    Sorry to hear about your migraines! I hope you and your little one feel better soon. I think it’s so great that at least you were able to find some comfort in your art journaling. Have you checked out the latest Art Journaling magazine by Somerset Studio? Just came out this month. Lots of great eye candy🙂

  13. Valerie says:

    Aww, I hope migraines don’t visit your home again anytime soon! I love the idea of art journaling, but have not been able to stick to any journaling projects that I start. Perhaps if I was continually encouraged to do so, I would. The three books you mention here are actually ones I haven’t read yet, so I’m jotting down the titles to see if our library has them. The first one seems especially interesting because I don’t especially like books that feature just one style of art.

  14. Ash says:

    Your journal sounds great. I kept a journal until I got to college and spent an hour every day journaling. Since I blog now it’s harder to find the motivation to keep up with it. I’m getting better about it though.

  15. Care says:

    I love keeping a journal but admit it is mostly a to-do list anymore. Per your comment prompt, I am most thankful for the friendships I have made book blogging! And as to what I am reading? I’m a few stories into a short story collection by Flannery O’Connor and finished The Days of Abandonment (NOT recommended for anyone who might be on the verge of a bad/sad mood!) and think I will begin Broken Colors next – which might be fitting with your art theme here. Not sure what exactly it is about, tho…
    Have a calm productive creative week!

  16. Christina says:

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re experiencing such terrible migraines, and that your son suffers from them too. I don’t have an art journal; my composition notebook is mostly filled with quotes, to-do lists, and random thoughts about my day.

  17. Marie says:

    I’m sorry about the migraines- how awful. I hope things settle down and you can recover and get things done. Maybe even relax!🙂 Hugs.

  18. love looking at artists’ journals; there’s something about seeing an artist’s work so naked as if you’re looking at the essence of their work. As someone who dabbles in art, sketching in journals can be both exhilarating and terrifying.

  19. Bree says:

    I am thankful every time I hear about someone having migraines because I’m not cursed with them. So sorry you have to deal with this type of illness. Your poor baby now too.😦 I hope I can find the journaling books at the library. They seem very interesting. Have you heard of or tried The Sketchbook Project? If not, google it. It seems like a project right up your alley.

  20. Pingback: lifeisapatchworkquilt.com » Where Have I Been?!

  21. I suffer from migraines too, so I’ve always envied those people who stay home sick (from whatever else) and can read in bed while they recuperate. My recuperation is usually spent in the fetal position in the dark, eyes closed, trying not to move when I breathe: no books required. You too? Glad you’re feeling better now!

Comments are closed.