Sunday Salon

 Good morning! Right now it’s nice and chilly here in Southern California. In a few hours it’s going to be hot and miserable so I’m enjoying the chill while it lasts. Last night I finished my first book of the month:

 Radioactive: Marie and Pierre Curie, a Tale of Love and Fallout by Lauren Redniss. I don’t know what to call this dazzling biography of Marie and Pierre Curie. It’s a graphic novel/art book/biography/history book. It’s  great and left me pretty inspired.

When I saw this xkcd cartoon more than a month ago, I printed it out and place a copy of it on the refrigerator for my family and another copy in my journal.

My favorite part: “You don’t become great trying to be great. You become great by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.” 

Now I’m off to pick my next read. What are you reading this weekend? If you’re in the U.S., any holiday plans?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Marie says:

    Great post.🙂 And very true words!

  2. zibilee says:

    I have been fascinated by Maire Curie since reading The Emperor of all Maladies, A Biography of Cancer. I read a lot about her scientific discoveries, and also what happened when she discovered radium. He death from cancer was terrible to read about as well. I loved this cartoon, and need to read this book as well.

    Right now I am reading Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver after just having finished Lost and Found by Shaun Tan, and The Storm at the Door by Stephen Merrill. All very different books!

  3. Carl V. says:

    Yep, that is a great (pardon the pun) and very true quotation. It points to what has become an all too frequently used word by me–“passion”. But I cannot stop using it because I truly believe we should pursue our passions with reckless abandon and couple that with developing our interpersonal relationships with passion so that we’ll not only be doing what we love but we’ll be genuinely loving those around us and will become better at being ourselves in the process.

  4. Frances says:

    Greatness is never so self-conscious, right? I think that my favorite (greatest) bloggers are never self-conscious about what they do either. Nice post.

  5. readerbuzz says:

    In second grade I did a lengthy report on Marie Curie. I’ve always been fascinated by her ever since. No luck thus far finding this book at libraries. I will continue to search.

  6. Carrie K. says:

    We’ve got BBQ/potlucks planned for the next two evenings, complete with fireworks, water gun fights, and scavenger hunts. The kids are excited. I’m sure I’ll be exhausted come Wednesday morning!

    I’m reading Next to Love by Ellen Feldman – very good so far. And Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly is AMAZING on audio.

    Have a wonderful Independence Day, V!

  7. Beth F says:

    I love the comic. Wow! Very inspiring.

    Have a great holiday! We’re going pretty low-key: BBQ here with one other couple. We can see fireworks from our own yard.

  8. Christina says:

    I have a copy of a biography about Marie Curie written by her sister that I received from my grandmother a couple of years ago. Unfortunately, it’s not a graphic novel or I think I would have gotten to it a long time ago.

    We’re not doing anything major this year. My family and I went on a hike this morning and grilled hot dogs for lunch. We’re going to watch fireworks from our backyard tonight.

  9. bookgazing says:

    I love that comic and I want this book now. Graphic novels are so cool, why don’t I read more of them?

  10. Kathleen says:

    What a great quote and SO TRUE!

  11. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? « 1330v

Comments are closed.