Diversify Your Reading Challenge

Authors Malinda Lo and Cindy Pon have started a new reading challenge on their blog, Diversity in YA Fiction.  It’s called the Diversify Your Reading Challenge. The goal of the challenge is to get participants reading MG and YA books by and/or about  people of color or LGBT and write an essay – 500 words or more –  about their diverse reading experience. There’s also prizes.

For more information, visit the Diversity in YA Fiction blog or click the link above.

 I’m taking the challenge. What about you? Can you add a few diverse books into your summer reading pile? 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading challenges, summer reading. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Diversify Your Reading Challenge

  1. celawerd says:

    I think it is a great Idea. As a gay man, even I am ignorant of the LGBT litereature out there.

  2. Edi says:

    I think I’ll support them by promoting the challenge. The only way I can think to diversify my reading would be to read picture books, poetry and foreign language!

  3. amymckie says:

    Excited to see this challenge, though I do wish we had the same for more than just ya! Great to see more efforts at getting people reading diversely!

  4. zibilee says:

    I know that I probably could! Thanks for letting me know about this!

  5. I may end up participating in this. I try to make my reading diverse, but this sounds awesome.

  6. I think of you as my Reading Twin, so perhaps I should diversify my YA reading, too. Although, honestly, if you read anything but Vampire YA, you are reading more diversely than the Average YA Joe/Jo….

  7. Doret says:

    Like Edi I’ll just be promoting the challenge. I hope a lot of people participate, there are a lot of get book prizes

  8. Kathleen says:

    I look forward to hearing what reads you discover through this challenge. I know I need more diversity in my reading at times!

Comments are closed.