Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year

I started listening to audio books a little bit over a year ago and I haven’t regretted it. I’m not listening to them as often as I would like, but I have found a lot of amazing narrators and books that I probably wouldn’t have read otherwise. I’ve also learned that just like the covers of books change with each country, the narrators of audio books often change by country too.

A few of my favorite audio books from the past year:

  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. (The UK version.) The amazing Lin-Manuel Miranda narrates this story in such a way that I felt like I was having a conversation with him.
  • Red and Me: My Coach, My Lifelong Friend by Bill Russell. I’m listening to this right now and I’m enjoying it so much. Russell narrates the prologue while the rest of the book is read by Peter Jay Fernandez. I love Fernandez’s voice. Bill Russell is in his 70’s and Fernandez’s voice go perfectly with this story of an older gentleman looking back on his life from his childhood in Jim Crow Louisiana to becoming a professional basketball player.
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman. Narrated by George Guidall. I don’t know who told me about the audio version of this book, but I’m glad they did.
  • When You Reach Me by Rebecca Steid. Narrated by Cynthia Holloway. This is a fantasy MG book that’s great for all ages. Winner of the Newbery award.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. Narrated by Nick Podehl. Podehl does such a great job narrating, that I rushed out and bought an ebook version to read along with Podehl.

That’s a few of my favorite audio books. What’s yours?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Audio books, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year

  1. You know I just haven’t gotten in to audio books, yet. I don’t have much of a commute and I tend to read while at the gym so I don’t have a lot of time to really listen to much. I’m impressed with people who are able to use it as a form of literature, though!

  2. Melissa says:

    I love audiobooks. I started listening to them more often this year when my commute got longer. Now that the semester’s over, I intend to listen to them all summer long while I take on some sewing projects!

  3. Alpa says:

    I have to start listening to audio books.. But I am looking for something which would make me like the idea of audio book .. Would try something from your list to start with

  4. Ooh, I haven’t listened to any of these, I’ll have to try some!

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    I’ve really enjoyed reading everyone’s recommendations today.

  6. I haven’t thought about audiobooks recorded in other countries before. Very interesting. I’m so glad you loved AMERICAN GODS. I have that one on my phone. It’s my only Neil Gaiman read left.

  7. JoAnn says:

    I’ve been an audiobook fan for quite a few years, but haven’t listened to any of these. Am very interested in Oscar Wao and will look into the others. Thanks!

  8. I love Nick Poedhl’s narration! He is excellent. I listened to his narration of The Name Of The Wind earlier this year, totally worth it.

    I will have to check out a few of the other audios you mentioned!

  9. Carrie K. says:

    I wish my library had American Gods in audio – I love George Guidall’s reading style!

  10. Isn’t that the beauty of audiobooks, that you listen to so many different books that perhaps you would not normally read.

  11. I actually did a DNF to an audiobook today: The Great Influenza by John Barry. I had just had it with all the repetition and over-dramatization. It felt like I had already heard what was on every disk at least four times, and I was only halfway through! Yuck. Tomorrow I’m breaking out a new audio cd for the car!

  12. kay says:

    I have tried many audiobooks but either they’re really not working for me, or I just haven’t found the right kind of book/the right narrator to listen too. I’m not done trying though!

  13. OOH – American Gods sounds like one I would like to try!

  14. Cassandra says:

    I have to listen to Oscar Wao! I love Lin-Manuel Miranda! There’s also a lot of Gaiman that’s making its way on to my must-listen list. Thanks!

  15. Heather says:

    I’ve been itching to reread American Gods. I know they are rerecording it and I was going to try to wait for that, but I’m glad to know this version is good. I just love that book!

    And I love Nick Podehl’s reading of the Chaos Walking books. He does such a great job!

  16. zibilee says:

    I still haven’t listened to all that many audiobooks, but I am getting better at choosing good ones for me and my husband to listen to together. It sounds like you have listened to some great ones!

  17. Andi says:

    All-time fave audiobook here is On Chesil Beach. A-maz-in! Listening to the Patrick Ness series might be the surest way to get me to start and finish those! Not sure — I think the hype is hurting me.

  18. Pingback: Audiobook Week Mid-Week Meme « 1330v

Comments are closed.