Sunday Salon: A Little Bit of This and That

 Even though I’m supposed to be participating in the 48-hour Book Challenge this week, I’m doing everything but read.  So I’m calling it quits. There’s always next year.

Instead of reading, I’m going to focus on the books I need to review and there’s something in it for you too! First, here’s the five books that I need to review:

  • The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
  • Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones
  • Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading by Nina Sankovitch
  • Sugar in My Bowl by Erica Jong
  • Vaclav & Lena by Haley Tanner

Since I have such a huge backlog of ARCs that I need to read, I’m giving myself until Friday to review the five books mentione d. To add a little pressure to my task, I’m giving away the last four ARCs. They’re all in good condition though I’ve dog-eared Tolstoy.  I’m also giving away a limited edition poster of Patrick DeWitt’s The Sisters Brothers along with my ARC of the book. All you have to do is leave me a comment, letting me know which package you prefer: the four ARCs or the The Sisters Brothers poster and ARC. I’ll pick a winner on Wednesday morning.

So what are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in book giveaway, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunday Salon: A Little Bit of This and That

  1. Allie says:

    I have Tolstoy sitting on my nightstand to start tonight. I’m looking forward to seeing your thoughts on it as well!

  2. amymckie says:

    Ooohhh can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Silver Sparrow. I haven’t read it yet but am really looking forward to it.

  3. Anastasia says:

    Oooo, definitely read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making first! Because I’ve heard it’s amazing!

    (Also, could I be entered in the Sisters Brothers giveaway?😀 Yay contests!)

  4. Laura says:

    I would love to receive the package of ARCs. Thanks for giving them away. I really want to read Vaclav and Lena. I have a backlog of ARCs as well and I’m trying to get to at least two reviews this week.

  5. Alpa says:

    Not sure if your give away is international … If so, can u enter me for 4 arcs … Tolstoy looks interesting

  6. Beth F says:

    I’m finishing up a great audiobook and reading a fun cozy mystery. No need to enter me in any of the drawings, but good luck to others. I can’t wait to get to THe Sisters Brothers

  7. Bree says:

    Definitely in for the 4 ARCs. I want the purple chair!🙂

  8. Eva says:

    Ohhh: Tayari Jones has a new book coming out? Awesome! And you know that Tolstoy book sounds fascinating to me.😉 So I’d love to win the ARC package.

    I’m reading: The Small House at Allington, The Summer of the Big Bachi, Across Boundaries, and More Than Good Intentions. I need to start a new audiobook!🙂

  9. Andi says:

    Cool! I’m going in for the 4 ARCS. I have been dying to read Tolstoy and the Purple Chair. Hope your week is off to a good start!

  10. zibilee says:

    I’m sorry to hear that the reading didn’t go well this time around. I would love to be entered in your giveaway for the set of 4 ARCS.

    zibilee(at)figearo(dot)net

  11. Aths says:

    I can’t wait to read Silver Sparrow and Vaclav and Lena! Both are high up in my TBR! I know what you mean about review backlog. I have managed to have a good number of them pending now. I really need to get writing!

  12. I hate when I get backlogged. I tried to get a little bit unstuck, this weekend. Good luck in all of your goals!

  13. Doret says:

    I finished Mat Johnson’s Drop the other day. It was very good. Reading My Life, The Theater and Other Tragedies by Allen Zadoff. Only a few chapters in but so far so good.

  14. Ash says:

    I have Silver Sparrow and Sugar in My Bowl from BEA–hopefully I’ll get to those soon!

Comments are closed.