The Women Who Stood Before Us

This morning I started reading Her Stories: African American Folktales, Fairy Tales, and True Tales by Virginia Hamilton. I usually don’t read the dedications but Hamilton’s caught my eye.

To our mothers and grandmothers, aunts and great-aunts.

To all the women who stood before us,

telling us about where they came from,

what they saw, did, and imagined.

They let us know they stood for us.

Talking, they combed our hair, rocked us to sleep,

sang to us, told us tales of them and now—

and tomorrow. They worried about us.

They hoped for us and showed us the way.

They cared.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Women Who Stood Before Us

  1. readerbuzz says:

    Poignant. Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Trisha says:

    Sounds like an awesome read!

  3. Gavin says:

    This one sounds wonderful.

  4. Aarti says:

    Oh, I want to read this based on the dedication itself! The collection sounds very promising- I can’t wait to hear what you think.

  5. Oh this is beautiful! I haven’t seen my mom since November and I’m about to see her in just a few weeks so this is incredibly timely. I always tend to miss her the most right before I get to see her. Strange, I know but still true!

  6. zibilee says:

    I love this, thanks for sharing it with us.

  7. I’m the opposite: I love reading dedications…and epigraphs…I feel as though they contain clues of a magical sort.

Comments are closed.