Sunday Salon: Happy Mother’s Day

Now That I Am Forever with Child

How the days went

while you were blooming within me

I remember each upon each-

the swelling changed planes of my body

and how you first fluttered, then jumped

and I thought it was my heart.

How the days wound down

and the turning of winter

I recall, with you growing heavy

against the wind. I thought

now her hands

are formed, and her hair

has started to curl

now he teeth are done

now she sneezes.

Then the seed opened

I bore you one morning just before spring.

My head rang like a fiery piston

my legs were towers between which

A new world was passing.

Since then

I can only distinguish

one thread within running hours

You, flowing through selves

toward You.

Audre Lorde

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in poetry, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Salon: Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Aw, this is great! This is my fourth mother’s day with my son and we’ll be celebrating a second one, in the works, this year! It’s certainly very cool, no matter how old our kids are, to celebrate them as our families celebrate us. Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. Samantha says:

    Thanks for sharing this…I loved it!

  3. Wow. Is that your pen name?šŸ˜‰

    But seriously very nice poem. Hope you’re doing well this fine Mother’s Day.

  4. Frances says:

    Just beautiful. Happy Mother’s Day, lovely lady!

  5. Amy says:

    Oh, I absolutely love this poem. Just beautiful! Thank you!

    Happy Mother’s Day

  6. zibilee says:

    That was just beautiful. Thanks for sharing it with us for Mother’s Day.

  7. Carrie K. says:

    I love that poem, but had forgotten it – thanks for posting it! Happy Mother’s Day, V.šŸ™‚

  8. BermudaOnion says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  9. Gavin says:

    Thank you for sharing this. Happy Mother’s Day and have a great week.

  10. Beth F says:

    Lovely. Hope your Mother’s Day was wonderful.

  11. Bellezza says:

    The title alone is gripping: forever with child. It’s so true! My boy is twenty now, and I still pray over him, worry about him, rejoice in his successes as when he was a baby. We’ll never be separated from our children in spirit, will we? Thanks for posting this poem.

  12. I just saw a reissue of Sister Outsider the other day and was reminded that I should be re-reading. She’s amazing. Thanks for another reminder!

Comments are closed.