Sunday Salon: The Best of April

Today is the start of a new month and sadly the last day of spring break for me. This past week has been so relaxing. I read as much as I wanted without worrying (or even thinking) about homework. It was such a change in my usual schedule that I think I’m going to try my best to keep up the same speed.

In April I read a total of forty-three books, mostly children’s books and graphic novels. Their Eyes were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston stood out among the pile of books that I read. I definitely need to re-read it before I could even think about writing out my thoughts. Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin is a book I raved about over and over again this month. I’m happy to hear that several bloggers have added it to their tbr list or decided to buy it. Stephanie Perkins’s YA hit Anna and the French Kiss about a young teenage girl’s year away from home in French was such a great read. The main character was smart, funny and just a great character.  Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones won’t be in bookstores until the end of this month but it’s a book I’m recommending now after reading it a few weeks ago. It’s the story of John Witherspoon, a man married to two women. The second family is a secret to almost everyone who knows John. Told from the perspective of his “secret” daughter, it’s a wonderful but shocking story about everyday people, family secrets, and the real meaning of love.

For May I would love to read more off of my tbr pile since every book that I loved last month came from there. This is my last month of school until the end of June and I am excited!  I’m trying to do as much of my work as fast as I can to get it all over with. Summer vacation can’t get here soon enough!

Now I’m off to curl up with a cup of coffee and one of the many books on my nightstand. What are you reading today? Was there any books that you read in April that stood out from the rest?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Salon: The Best of April

  1. Samantha says:

    It sounds like April was a great reading month for you! I didn’t get as much accomplished as I would have liked but what can you do?? I’m going to attempt to focus on fitness this month and hopefully fit reading in everywhere else🙂

  2. Carrie K. says:

    What a great reading month! I really want to read Their Eyes Were Watching God, Please Look After My Mom, and Anna and the French Kiss – they all look fantastic.

    If I can stick to my schedule that I’ve been following since January, I will be about 90% done with review commitments by the end of June, which means July and August can be reading-on-a-whim months. I can’t wait!

    I hope the rest of your classes go smoothly and vacation comes quickly for you.🙂

  3. Aths says:

    I can’t wait to read Please Look After Mom! I loved your review and had bumped it up my TBR!

    Hope you have a fabulous May!

  4. Gavin says:

    I am glad you had a relaxing week and enjoyed your break. I’ve added Please Look After Mom to my TBR list. Hurray for Summer Vacation!

  5. zibilee says:

    I will be reading Please Look After Mom very shortly, and wanted to thank you for sharing your great review. It made me really inspired to go out and get the book! The one book I read this month that really stood out was called Arms Wide Open. It was a really great story, and I had a lot of fun with it.

  6. Ash says:

    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian and A Thread of Sky definitely stick out for me this month. Glad you had such a great reading month! I’m off to read Missouri now.

  7. Debnance says:

    If you liked it, then I’m adding it to my wish list! It is so cool how alike we are in our reading!

  8. Andi says:

    SOOOO envious of all your lovely time off. I did a double-take when I saw that you read 43 books in April!!! I’ve only read 6 this year! LOL

  9. Bellezza says:

    April was a terrible month of reading (literature) for me! And now that I’m over my Lenten promise, I still can’t seem to get into any kind of rhythm. Hopefully May will fare much better!

  10. bookmagic says:

    I’m glad you will have the summer for reading, I can’t imagine how many books you will get read just looking at what you read in one month!

  11. Beth F says:

    Awesome reading month! Wow. Aren’t little breaks fantastic? and summer is just around the corner.

Comments are closed.