Review: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

David Levithan

The Lover’s Dictionary

211 pages

Publication Date: January 4, 2011

Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

Source: Library

Exacerbate, v

I believe your exact words were: “You’re getting too emotional.”

The Lover’s Dictionary is a book I’ve wanted to read for months before I was finally able to get my hands on it. I first heard about it last year through a few bloggers. I placed it on my TBR list and waited for what felt like forever to get a copy. Luckily my library came through for me.

The book is the story of two unnamed lovers, how they met, and their relationship through the years. Told through dictionary-like entries, The Lover’s Dictionary is really a breath of fresh air from what readers are used to when it comes to novels and  their structures.

There’s so much to enjoy about this book. First there are the little entries that make up this couple’s relationship. At just 211 pages long, the author is able to tell us just enough about this couple to keep us satisfied.  I love how readers don’t get to know their names, ages, or even what they look like. That’s up to our imaginations. In one of the reviews I read about this book, the blogger loved how even the gender of this couple could be questioned. We don’t know really know if this couple is a same-sex or not. I imagined them as a being a guy and a girl because of a fight that’s mentioned in the book.

One of my favorite entries in the book:

Qualm, n

There is no reason to make fun of me for flossing twice a day.

I highly recommend this book. If you haven’t read Nick and Norah’s Playlist which is also another great book written by  Leviathan which he co-authored with Rachel Coh, I suggest you add that to your tbr list too.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in fiction, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

  1. This one has caught my eye several times, but I was unsure about it. Will definitelt pick it up now.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Oh, this sounds like the perfect book for me!

  3. This sound so lovely — thanks for the review and the reminder about it!

  4. Niranjana says:

    I’m always afraid that quirky novels will have a lot of quirk and little else, but this sounds very good!

  5. Jenny says:

    Oh, this sounds fun! I just got through reading an epistolary love story, and even though I love nontraditional narratives, it was sort of depressing rather than nice. But I am still in the mood for nontraditionally-narrated love stories, so this might hit the spot!

  6. Oh, what a neat book! The format and delivery seem really unique and cool.

  7. zibilee says:

    I have heard a little about this book, but after reading your review, I want to add this to my wish list right away. I loved the quotes you highlighted and think this book sounds not only tender, but really funny too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it with us!

  8. kay says:

    It sounds amazing! David Levithan was one of my favorites 2010 discoveries and this one is on my wishlist too. I’m so glad you enjoyed it – and love the quote you chose.

  9. Trish says:

    Saw this at the used bookstore not too long ago and I’m kicking myself that I didn’t pick it up! Just recently read Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List and really enjoyed it.

  10. Pingback: Bookish links for Saturday, May 7, 2011 | BOOKS AND MOVIES

  11. toothy says:

    oh man! i wished i saw this post earlier. i saw this book at the bookstore this past week, but i didn’t get it because i couldn’t remember if it received good reviews or not. i’ll have to add it to my wishlist now.

Comments are closed.