Just announced

Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad won the Pulitzer Prize today in fiction. Siddhartha Mukherjee’s The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer won for general non-fiction.  I haven’t read either book but I did just placed them on hold at my local library. Have you read either book yet? Now that they’ve won the Pulitzer are you adding them to your tbr list?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in literary awards. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Just announced

  1. Carrie K. says:

    I haven’t read either. I tried to listen to Visit from the Goon Squad on audio, but it flips back and forth in time and was disorienting in that format. I may try it in print sometime, though.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Of course I want to read them now!

  3. I did read Jennifer Egan’s book, and I really liked it a lot. I thought the narrative was clever and interesting. I haven’t read the nonfiction book yet, but it’s been on my TBR since last year. I think I’m on the library hold list, but it’s moving awfully slowly🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m on two different holds list for the Egan book. Hopefully I’ll get my hands on it soon. Wow! I hope you’re able to get a copy of the non-fiction soon.

  4. zibilee says:

    I am listening to The Emperor of All Maladies on audio right now, and I bought A Visit from The Goon Squad a couple of weeks ago. I have heard good things about it, and I can’t wait to read it!

  5. I read Cancer early this year. The book was more technical than I am accustomed to reading when I read nonfiction. This book felt like it was written more for a fellow-doctor audience rather than the general public. I liked it, yes, but, honestly, it was a lot of pages and a lot of big words. (I really hope that doesn’t sound as juvenile to you as it seems to me.)

  6. Doret says:

    I’ve heard good things about Egan’s novel, I may read it one day but no time soon.

    I have no plans to read The Emperor of All Maladies.

    The bookstore I am working at is closing and a few people will get a very good price on Mukherjee’s book. It’s 40% though I was off today so they could’ve all sold out already

    And you know I was hoping Wilkerson would win for The Warmth of Other Suns.

    • Vasilly says:

      Doret, me too! Do you think it had to do with the publication date? Maybe it missed a deadline or something? I just KNEW it was going to win. Fingers crossed that the book will get the Pulitzer next year. I know Wilkerson just won a literary award and 10k.

      • Doret says:

        I don’t what happen but I know it wasn’t the publication date. The Warmth of Other Suns was released at least a month before The Emperor of All Maladies.

        I am hoping a few more people will stop by who’ve read The Emperor of All Maladies. Better yet (fingers crossed) someone who has that and The Warmth of Other Suns.

  7. Vasilly says:

    Maybe we should host a Warmth of Other Suns read-along this summer? That way we can bring more attention to this excellent book.

  8. Traditionally, I do go out to read the Pulitzer winners, each year. Same with Orange and Booker. This year’s looks really good!

  9. Trish says:

    Huh. I saw Jennifer Egan at the Texas Book Fest last fall–she was on a panel…not talking about her books. Didn’t realize she was all that big. Definitely curious about The Emperor of All Maladies.

  10. Jenners says:

    Imread goon Squad (and recently did my review). It was a very unique book…and one I think I will need to reread to fully appreciate. I want to read the other one as well…I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

  11. Michelle says:

    I’ve read both and I am feeling so ahead of the game! They are both fabulous and I hope you read them soon.

Comments are closed.