Sunday Salon: Blogiversaries and Drift

My fourth blogiversary is coming up later on this week and I have to tell you how strange it is that I’m still blogging. When I first started blogging back in April of 2007, I started because I needed a place to talk about books. I didn’t know anyone who read as much as I did. I still don’t know anyone off-line who does. I googled a few search terms about books and all of these blogs popped up. I remember finding Maggie’s Southern Reading challenge and becoming so excited about finding not only other bookworms but reading challenges also!

My first posts weren’t about books but everyday life – getting a bad haircut or some of my favorite words. Slowly I started to write about books (I still cringe at some of my first reviews). I started making blogger friends and the rest is history. Like all hobbies, I’ve had some ups and downs with blogging but it has been so rewarding. I found people I wouldn’t have known otherwise and books that might have taken me years to find if I hadn’t started blogging.

With that said, I think this is probably my last year of blogging. I’ve been thinking about it for the past six months and the idea of not blogging isn’t going away. A few years away writer Gretchen Rubin (The Happiness Project) wrote about drifting– the decisions we make by not deciding – or the absence of feeling as though what we’re doing is “right”.  For awhile now I’ve been feeling like I’m drifting when it comes to almost every aspect of my life – being a college student, blogging, even reading. I don’t know what’s going on but I think this year might be the year to take a break from everything and figure out what I want. I have no idea what’s ahead for me but I’m open to change.

Since this might be my last blogiversary, I’m hoping to host a giveaway. Look out for a post in a few days.

With the read-a-thon behind us, how are you all feeling? Thank you to everyone wishing me well when I had my yearly read-a-thon hangover. My migraine went away a few days later and I was so relieved. With my break away from blogging, I read and re-read several books: Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones, Three Shadows by Cyril Pedrosa, The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan, Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge along with a dozen picture books. I loved them all for different reasons.

Right now I’m reading Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin. It’s translated from the Korean by Chi-Young Kim. I have to say that this translation is so beautiful! I’m only thirty pages in and I’m already recommending it. You need to add it to your Goodreads or LibraryThing profile, place it on hold at your local library, or buy it now.

So that’s what I’m up to, what are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Sunday Salon: Blogiversaries and Drift

  1. Happy Blogiversary! I’ve been feeling that way more and more myself. Will be interested to know how it is if you do end up stepping back.

  2. Trish says:

    I’ve been wondering how your year is going after our conversations at the end of last about your giving up blogging. I think some of this is the natural progression of life. I can’t imagine how anyone could continue to blog about books forever and ever and not tire or eventually drift. Though I guess people do…

    We’ll certainly miss you if you leave–I’m hoping you can find another solution.😉 Maybe write about that haircut instead of always writing about books?? Ha!

  3. Bellezza says:

    I haven’t head the term ‘drifting’ before, but my husband always says that one of the decisions that can be made is the decision to do nothing. It’s interesting when you talk about not having the impetus for blogging, reading, being a student…I understand that lack of energy. It’s been so wonderful to blog with you, I only began mine in 2006 with the same everyday life kind of posts, and the same cringing over my first book reviews. But, you were my first Secret Santa, and I’ve loved blogging with you ever since (09?). Blessings whichever way you choose; we have to do what’s right for us in the end.

  4. Samantha says:

    I must agree with Trish that I enjoy personal posts…I really enjoy when book bloggers do a mixture of both! I’m at the point where I don’t want to just read about books any more. I like getting to know other bloggers through their posts. I love books and always will but maybe their is a different niche for you in the blogging world.

  5. Edi says:

    Today, it’s me, the treadmill and finishing Dragon Chica. Isn’t it interesting to look back over the blog and see how how blogs have changed, how we’ve changed?
    Happy Blogoversary!

  6. BermudaOnion says:

    Happy blogiversary! Maybe “drifting” will help you find a new focus or format. I can see why book bloggers burn out – I think as a whole, we tend to put a lot of pressure on ourselves.

  7. Word Lily says:

    While you’ll certainly be missed if you quit blogging, I can understand the need to step back and contemplate rather than just going with the flow of whatever. Glad you’re recovering from the readathon OK; it always took me forever.

  8. Happy upcoming blogiversary! I often feel in the drifting mode too, which is awful because I tend to have nightmares about being lost all night! It’s so important to get found, and if it takes a break from blogging to do it, it will be worth it!

  9. Frances says:

    Happy blogiversary! Drifting is fine but I think that many bloggers find that once they step back and relieve themselves of the pressure they exert upon themselves to blog, they find more joy in it (if that makes any sense). Seems as if quite a few have thrown in the towel or took time off and then re-discovered what they really loved about their hobby. I think we would all benefit from deleting phrases like “behind on reviews” and “need to catch up” from our thinking. It is not another deadline. Just fun. Make it sporadic or personal or what have you if necessary but just make it yourself. Which you always do so well.🙂

  10. I’ve been blogging on and off, mostly on, sometimes too much on, for going on six years later this year. Soooo…I know what you’re feeling. I’ve felt it and continue to feel it from time to time, even as I started to write my own Sunday Salon post this morning. For me, I’ve mined it for more blogging fodder. For you, it might mean stepping back, but whatever you do, please don’t delete your blog. Your insights should be left for others to see — even after you’ve “quit.”

  11. Happy upcoming blogiversary! Four years is a long time to be blogging, and I think there’s some inevitable change that comes with that. We evolve as people — whether from deliberation or just from the drift — and blogs have to evolve with that. While it’s sad that might mean you won’t be blogging anymore, it’s important to do what works for you. And I agree with unfinishedperson — keep your blog here, even if you’ve stepped away from it🙂

  12. Clare says:

    I’ve been trying to find good Korean Literature recently, so very pleased to hear your recommendation! Happy Bloggiversary. I hope you don’t quit because I’ve just found you. I know what you mean though. It’ll be seven years this summer for me, and sometimes I wonder why I’m doing it – but when I look back I find it is a useful record of my life if nothing else, and I’m pretty glad I’ve done it.

  13. She says:

    Four years is a long time, and I think it takes a lot of courage to realize that it’s the end of something. I do hope that whatever you choose to do makes you happy and alleviates that nagging feeling. We’re behind you!

  14. Aths says:

    It’s amazing that you have been blogging for four years. Happy blogiversary in advance! Are you really thinking of “drifting”? As many have suggested, maybe a change of format or topic would help? I really enjoy reading your posts (for your writing style) – there are a few bloggers I follow just to read what they write and share my thoughts, even if reading-wise, their tastes and mine are diametrically opposite. Of course, in your case, the tastes match too. Maybe taking a few months off would help? Still, I guess someday we’ll all drift off to something else as our tastes and interests evolve. I already have different motivations for blogging from when I started this blog a year and a half ago. Anyways, whatever you decide, we’re with you. (I do hope though that I’ll still see you around in some way).

  15. Kailana says:

    I tend to just have busy blogging years and slow blogging years instead of leaving blogging entirely… This year, I have updated fairly regularly, but last year I was quiet a lot. I am not sure how long I will be blogging for, but I still enjoy having a way to look back at what I read and always regret I do a terrible job reviewing everything!

    I hope whatever decision you make works for you.🙂

  16. Jodie says:

    Oh sad lady, I will miss you (although clearly I’ve been pretty absent comment wise everywhere this year). I totally get the drifting feeling though and when a project goes on for a long time it can be useful to take time out and re-evaluate.

  17. Congratulations on your blogiversary! I really hope that you decide to continue blogging, even if it is less frequently than before, but I can also see that I might not make it to fours years so I wish you well with whatever you decide.

  18. Happy blogiversary!

    I say, if you feel you are drifting from blogging, just give it up. Whatever makes you happy, do it. We’ll still be around for you if you come back, and if you don’t there’s always twitter.

  19. Christina says:

    Vasilly, the selfish part of me wants you to stick around. I’ll miss you! But I also understand that sometimes you need to just changing things so they work for you! Whatever you decide, I wish you well!

  20. Laura says:

    Good luck figuring out what you want to do, with blogging and with your life in general! And congratulations on your upcoming blogiversary.

  21. Memory says:

    I can totally understand the desire to quit blogging; but, like others said, it’d be lovely if you did some personal posts from time to time, instead of quitting completely. Whatever you do, I hope you’ll still be on Twitter?

  22. zibilee says:

    Happy anniversary! I am also going on 4 years this time around. I am saddened to hear to hear that you are thinking of calling it quits, but I can totally understand where you are coming from. I hope that you are still around in some way, because I not only value your reviews, but personally enjoy your presence in the blogosphere.

  23. Gavin says:

    Four years? That’s amazing. I congratulate you. I also completely understand the idea of “drifting” and the need for change. Thank for hanging in there and, if you do stop blogging, you will be missed.

  24. iliana says:

    Happy (Early) Anniversary! I would hate it if you stopped blogging but I totally understand the “drifting” part. For some reason, this year has felt very hard for me to keep up with my blog. I hope you’ll find a solution that works for you. In any case wishing you a wonderful bloggiversary!

  25. Doret says:

    Much congrats on the upcoming blogiversary. Change is good, do what feels right. I’ve just added Please Look after Mom to my library queue. Right now I am Reading If Son Then Heirs. Also must write my review of Silver Sparrow so I can pass the arc on to a co worker.

  26. Jenny says:

    I’m sorry to hear you won’t be sticking around, but I totally understand. I still love the blogging community, and don’t want to leave it; and I’ve been having a harder time recently getting any stuff written for my own blog.:/ I’ll definitely miss you if you go!

  27. Mike Draper says:

    Happy blogbirthday. Hope for many more.
    Best wishes.
    Mike

    PS Please stop over at my blog. I just signed the contract to have my novel published and am having a giveaway of “The Lucky One’ by Nicholas Sparks.

  28. Carrie K. says:

    Okay, my first thought is a completely selfish one: “Nooooooooooooooooooo! Don’t leave me!” LOL I know that our lives have stages, though, and you may be ready to move away from blogging. I hope not, but I’ll understand if you do – and we’ll have to connect more often on Twitter, then!

  29. Andi says:

    I would completely and utterly miss you in the blogosphere, but I can certainly understand your feelings. Your happiness and peace are #1!!!

    As for what I’m reading today: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. So far, so good!

  30. Florinda says:

    Having just marked my fourth blogiversary too, I kind of understand what you’re saying. (“Drifting” is an interesting concept – I really need to read The Happiness Project!) At this point, I still want to blog, but I don’t ever want to feel like I have to keep doing it; and I’ll be dialing it back a bit over the next year anyway, for various reasons.

    If stepping away feels like the right thing for you, then I think you should follow that feeling. But I’ll miss you if you do!🙂

  31. Anastasia says:

    Happy blogoversary! And I’m another person who’ll miss you tons whenever you stop blogging.😦 But you’ll still be on Twitter, right?

  32. Care says:

    Oh dear. {hugs}
    and thank you for being one of my favoritest people on the interwebs. !!!

    and thank you for the reminder to get that Happiness book.

  33. Valerie says:

    Four years of blogging is great; but for those of us who decide to drift, we have to figure out a way to stay in touch. I don’t want to keep wondering “how is Natasha doing?”

    I know for sure I probably won’t be doing the blogging thing when I’m 70 or whatever….nothing lasts forever. there’s an ebb and flow for everything.

Comments are closed.