Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon Hangover

Usually it’s early morning when I write my Sunday Salon post but after being up all night with the event, I’m barely getting the strength now to even blog. I was on the prize committee, so it was my job to contact publishers and bloggers about possible donations, contact winners throughout the event, and keep tabs on who won and who hadn’t yet. Plus I was also cheer-leading and reading. It was pretty challenging especially when I took over the read-a-thon for two hours. That was so scary but so awesome! I don’t know if I would do it all again during the next read-a-thon in October but it was a great experience. The highlight was knowing that so many people had a great time. If you participated in the read-a-thon yesterday and are considering participating in the next one, I hope you sign up to volunteer. The read-a-thon is only fun when enough volunteers are willing to help. Volunteer duties can be as short as 1 hour or as long as 20.

I bet you’re wondering about the title of this post. Well after every read-a-thon, I get a little headache because of the lack of sleep and the ton of books read. I only finished 1 or 2 books this time with everything I was doing, but I still ended up with one. I don’t mind. I just hope my headache goes away soon.

To recover from everything I’ve been up to, I plan on taking this week off from blogging. I want to read a little, catch up on my homework, and just relax. I hope you all have a great week.

Did you participate in this weekend’s read-a-thon?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon Hangover

  1. Hey Vasilly,

    You did a great job with handling the prizes and taking over the Read-a-Thon for two hours. Plus you were reading and cheerleading. Quite an accomplishment.

    As I told you earlier, I have a read-a-thon hangover too. Have a relaxing week!

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    It sounds like you were a vital part of this read-a-thon! Enjoy your week.

  3. J.D.M. says:

    Vasilly,
    You did a fantastic job with the read-a-thon and definitely appreciate your contributions.😀

    I hope your headache goes away soon and that this hangover doesn’t last much longer.

  4. heidenkind says:

    You did an awesome job. I too had a hangover this morning just from lack of sleep. I took a nap in the sun and that seemed to help.🙂

  5. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I want to discuss Dana if you want to! :–) So you could email me if you feel like it (it took me a couple of days to figure out how I felt about her!) nbmars AT yahoo DOT com

  6. Florinda says:

    You handled everything Readathon so well – thank you! I was definitely feeling the effects today myself, but it was worth it🙂.

  7. Carrie K. says:

    It’s late Sunday night when I’m reading this, so I hope your headache is long gone!

  8. zibilee says:

    Sounds lie you were very busy this weekend! It’s so nice that you took the time to volunteer for the readathon, and that you did such a great job with it all. I am hoping that i get the chance to participate the next time around. Now that you duties are over, go get some rest!

  9. Gavin says:

    You did a great job. Let me know about the prize books and enjoy your week away from blogging.

  10. Melissa says:

    You were fantastic this weekend! I can’t believe you got so much reading done in addition to manages prizes and so many other things. Thank you!

  11. Aths says:

    Hope you’re feeling better now! Only once did I last more than 20 hours for a readathon, and it was terrible the next day, so I know how you feel.

  12. Frances says:

    You deserve a break. You did an awesome job!! I saw you everywhere, you super woman you. See you next week.

  13. I had a read-a-thon hangover Sunday and today. I’m exhausted!

  14. Memory says:

    You did a wonderful job this weekend! Congrats, and enjoy your much-deserved time off.

  15. Thanks for stepping up when my wi-fi went down! I really appreciate it and you did an awesome job!

  16. Cass says:

    You were great at the readaton! So on top of things🙂 Hope you had a relaxing Monday!

  17. Belle Wong says:

    You did an AMAZING job! Just incredible. I had a boatload of fun, and I’m hoping that I will be able to participate even more in the October one (that’s the one that is always iffy for me).

  18. kiss a cloud says:

    I totally missed the readathon! We were so busy I hadn’t had time to go online or read, but hopefully the next time I can join in again. Hope your headache leaves you soon..

  19. Samantha says:

    Sounds like you had a really busy weekend! I just took a blogging break myself and have come back feeling much better. Hope you feel the same when you return🙂

  20. Care says:

    Hope you are feeling better! You did a super job.

  21. Allie says:

    You were awesome for the event. You kept people motivated and did all the behind-the-scenes work that goes so under appreciated. THANK YOU.

Comments are closed.