Sunday Salon

Good morning! Right now it’s so early in the morning that the sun isn’t up yet. That hasn’t stopped the birds in my neighborhood though. They’re chirping away, not letting any of the day go to waste. I feel the same way. I’ve been up for hours now reading Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God. It’s my first time reading it and it is such a great read. I’m about 100 page in and I’ve already have many post-its marking some of my favorite passages.

The read-a-thon is less than a week away and I’m so excited! I’ve already started going through my tbr pile looking for books toread. So far my read-a-thon stack contains several graphic novels, a few novellas, and some fantasy. I’m hoping to share my pile with you guys in a few days once I’ve nailed down exactly what I plan on reading.

There’s one book that I’m thinking about adding to my tbr pile for this week: Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin. It’s the story of a mom who goes missing after getting pulled away from her husband in a busy Seoul train station and her family’s search for her. The story is told from the viewpoints of her adult children and herself. I’ve read an excerpt of the first chapter last night and it was amazing! It’s Shin’s first book to be translated into English.  I hope her other books will become available in English soon. Please Look After Mom‘s publication date isn’t until Tuesday so I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of it.  Though my shelves are stack with unread books, I think this is a purchase I need to make!

Speaking of TBR piles and unread books, if you participated in the TBR Dare, how did you do? My goal was to read 25 books off my shelves. If I didn’t make it to 25, I would have to donate the difference. I made it to 19 and I’ve given away more than 20 books so I’m happy.

Now I’m off to continue Their Eyes Were Watching God. What are you reading today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I am reading a book that I don’t know the name of unless I go in the other room and look. And I like it too! Isn’t that pathetic? But it happens all the time! One of the reasons I write reviews is so I can sort of impress the name of the book and author on myself! :–)

  2. Yeah, you already know what I’m reading (or saying I’m reading as I’m really watching Cheers) since you’ve been over to my blog. I’d like to participate in the readathon, but I’ll be working next Saturday at the library…although it is slow there on Saturdays and I’ll probably get some reading done anyway.🙂

  3. Lu says:

    I really want to read Please Look After Mom one as well. I’m on the hold list, but it might be a while before I get my hands on it.

  4. Nicole says:

    I was browsing around on Goodreads last night and saw this book. It looks amazing. I am glad the first chapter is so promising. It definitely made it onto my wishlist.

  5. softdrink says:

    I’m reading Affinity for Andi’s readalong…and hoping to make some serious progress in it today!

  6. Edi says:

    I’ve been in the middle of The Other Wes Moore for ages! I’ve decided to make it my treadmill book so that I will make it to the treadmill this week! I’m about to begin the Social Animal though dozens of books should be ahead of it!

  7. I haven’t gotten to read at all today — boo! — but when I do, I’ll be diving into Pox: An American History by Michael Willrich.

  8. vivienne says:

    I wish my weekends allowed more reading time. It just doesn’t happen! Sigh!

  9. Ash says:

    I’m looking forward to making my readathon stack this afternoon. It had kind of slipped my mind! I’m starting A Thread of Sky later today.

  10. Carrie K. says:

    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Their Eyes Were Watching God! And Please Look After My Mom sounds like an amazing read – definitely worth getting.🙂

  11. I’m not doing much today. Sitting on my front porch, enjoying this glorious day. Watching the red cardinals out my back window (I honestly never remember seeing these birds before this year.) And reading a little Alexander McCall Smith.

    Sounds like you are also enjoying your day. Lovely.

  12. JoAnn says:

    Finishing 19 books for your tbr pile is still pretty impressive! I really enjoyed the dare. Just started a biography of Richard Yates yesterday and love it already.

  13. Gavin says:

    Great job on the TBR dare. I also finished 19 books and am pleased with myself! “Please Look After Mom” looks good, maybe my library has it. I am reading “Fire and Hemlock” for OUAT V and loving it. HAve a great week!

  14. zibilee says:

    I was up before the sun today as well. I finished So Much for That by Lionel Shriver. Very interesting book. I am excited that you will be doing the readathon, and look forward to seeing your choices, and later, seeing what you thought of them all!

  15. I’ve got quite a few books to read on my shelves. I’ve been accepted as member of the Young Hoosier Book Award committee and will be reading those books, I have a couple of review books too but mostly, just books I want to read! So excited for that. Must remember not to over-schedule myself in the future so that I can drop books without worrying!

  16. bookmagic says:

    It has been years sine I read Their Eyes Were Watching God but I remember loving it.
    I am going to try and participate in the readathon because my reading has slowed and I have a lot of books I want to read.
    I also need to do a review catch up!

  17. Michelle says:

    I have never read Their Eyes Were Watching God; thanks for reminding me that I need to remedy this situation soon. I haven’t decided whether I am going to participate in the readathon yet or not. We have so much to do around the house next weekend, that I hate to leave everything to my husband. I guess we’ll let the weather decide!

    Have a great Sunday!

  18. Aths says:

    I have to check that book – Please Look After Mom! It sounds great! Have a good week! It’s nice to wake up early on a Sunday – I never have that luck, and by the time I’m up, I’m already having the Monday Blues (on a Sunday).

  19. Christina says:

    Hmm, that book sounds interesting. Cannot wait to see your review! I still haven’t decided about the read-a-thon but I always like seeing how many and which books they are able to complete.

  20. Frances says:

    Still finishing up Swamplandia! But meaning to ask you about the prize/ contest thing for readathon next weekend? Do I tell you what it will be or do I just post it or what? Novice at this.🙂

  21. Eva says:

    That book sounds so interesting! Can’t wait to see you read and review it.🙂

    (Also, when we were in Paris, we watched a tourist family almost get torn apart by the metro; it was so intense.)

  22. Oh, wow, I haven;’t read Their Eyes Were Watching God in a really long time! Thabnks for the flashback. I should probably read it again, now that I’m older. It might mean more.

  23. Trish says:

    READATHON!! I’m excited and hope that lots of people end up participating. Seems to be so quiet this time? And how could I have forgotten graphic novels? Maybe time to treat myself to Embroideries??

    Hope you’re enjoying Their Eyes Were Watching God–I loved the book and would love to re-read it again someday (or maybe even listen to it!).

  24. Bree says:

    Oh I keep forgetting about Their Eyes. Must mark it down. Glad you are enjoying

Comments are closed.