World Read Aloud Day

Did you know that today is World Read Aloud Day? The day is hosted by literary organization, Litworld. The organization’s goal in organizing this day is to encourage people of all ages to celebrate the power of literacy by reading aloud. Litworld is hoping to reach 774 million minutes read today for the 774 million people worldwide who can’t read or write. If you plan on reading something today, why not read it aloud and celebrate the day too?

I love reading poetry aloud so I plan on re-reading Mary Oliver’s Red Bird, one of my favorite books of poetry. Here’s a few books I plan on re-reading to my kids today that are great for reading aloud:

Bruh Rabbit and the Tar Baby Girl by Virginia Hamilton. The adventure of Bruh Rabbit who steals from Bruh Wolf is a greatfolklore that leave kids wanting more.

 

The Junkyard Wonders by Patricia Polacco. The Junkyard Wonders is about a special fourth-grade class who don’t fit in with the rest of the school and their very special teacher.

 

The Library by Sarah Stewart. The life of librarian Elizabeth Brown who loved books so much, her homebecomes a library.

 

Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to my Daughters by Barack Obama. I read this a few days ago and had to have a copy of it for my family. In his letter to his daughters, President Obama conjure up famous Americans of the past to show how great we all can be.

 

So that’s what we’re reading today. Are you going to participate in World Read Aloud Day? You can follow Litworld on twitter at @litworldsays or on their Facebook page.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Events, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to World Read Aloud Day

  1. zibilee says:

    I need to get over to my friend’s house to read some books to her young sons today. Thanks for reminding me of this!

  2. Marie says:

    those look great. I love Patricia Polacco-she can always be counted on for a great book!

  3. nymeth says:

    I had no idea! I love their logo so much. And the idea is of course lovely.

  4. Pingback: World Read Aloud Day « 1330v | Of Thee I Sing

  5. Bree says:

    I wanna hear The Junkyard Wonders and The Library. Sounds like good books.

  6. Wallace says:

    The Library is one of my all time favorite children’s books. LOVE IT. I haven’t seen the one by Barack Obama… must go look it up and read it.

  7. Ash says:

    That is a beautiful logo! I’ll have to read some poems out loud before I go to bed.

  8. Carrie K. says:

    I didn’t know it was world read-aloud day, but we did start our school today with read-aloud time, like we do most days. Our current read is Sea of Monsters, the second book in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.

Comments are closed.